Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Generosity on Display April 23, 2013

Filed under: and that's how I feel about that,faith,friends — Elizabeth @ 12:17 PM

It’s not something I talk about much online, but for almost 9 months now, I have been doing some specialty baking for friends and family.  Once I started baking grain-free for us, other people got interested, and it kind of snowballed from there.  Until recently, I was using any money I made as profits to buy newer, more efficient kitchen tools.  But once I got my kitchen up to par, I felt a new desire growing in my heart.  The desire to give.  The desire to bless others with my excess.  My initial thought was to use some of the money I was making to buy healthy food to donate to vulnerable families.  This is something that I am very passionate about and it made sense considering that I made the money initially by selling healthy food.

While I did feel a green-light from God about the food donations, I also felt like he was telling me to bless someone else first.  There is a family nearby (The Hammonds) that I have met twice, and I knew that they were working to adopt 2 children from China.  I really felt like God was wanting me to give them the first bit of money I had to give.  So I was obedient to that urging.  And I sent them a check.

The very next week, The Hammonds held an online auction for fundraising.  They listed things that people donated to them, like scarves, jewelry, children’s items.  And I bid on some small things that I didn’t really need.  Then one day, they added a piece of art to their auction.  The art was valued at $175 and right when I saw it, I knew it was mine.  I just knew it.  It was a picture of that ride you see at fairs or carnivals.  The one with swings, and when you ride it, you feel like you are flying.  That was always my all-time favorite ride.  I had a visceral reaction to this art and I wanted it.  The bidding started at $45 and I bid $50.

The next day, someone outbid me and I upped my bid to $65.  Please bear in mind that I wasn’t gushing about this piece of art during the bidding process.  I was just posting my numbers and hoping I would win.

And then the day before the auction was over, someone else bid $175.  Her post talked about how much she loved this and how this was always her favorite ride.

I did not have the money to outbid her, and she seemed to love it so much that I figured even if I did, she would outbid me again.  So I let it go.  I wasn’t devastated, but I was a little sad…..although I was very happy that someone was giving $175 towards the adoptions!!!

Let me stress here that The Hammonds do not live in my town.  We met at an adoption banquet, and we only have one mutual friend (who I also met at the adoption banquet), who lives in a third city.  So I did not know any other people who were participating in this auction.

A few days went by, and Erica Hammond (the adoptive mom who held the auction) sent me a Facebook message.  She said, Guess what?  Wendy, who outbid you on the art, wants to give it to you as a gift.  She has already paid for it.  She just wants to bless you with it.

I do not know who this Wendy is, and she doesn’t know me.  But she felt God telling her to do something, and she obeyed.  And I am humbled.  And now this hangs in my living room……

april 23, 2013 119

a reminder that God really does care about the desires of our heart.  A reminder to listen when God asks us to step out in generosity.  A reminder of the goodness in people when it feels like there is evil all around us.

Thank you, Wendy.

Give, and you will receive. Your gift will return to you in full–pressed down, shaken together to make room for more, running over, and poured into your lap. The amount you give will determine the amount you get back. (Luke 6:38 NLT)

 

8 Responses to “Generosity on Display”

  1. Jerusha Says:

    I read this once, and then read it again aloud to (two of) my kids…while crying. I can’t even tell you how much I love this story.

  2. deb jacobs Says:

    this made me cry x

  3. Beth Says:

    Wow! That is really all I can think to say. GOD IS GOOD!

  4. Yvonne Says:

    God is so good! So glad you have something you love to remind you of this every day!!

  5. Love love love this, on every level.

  6. Sherry Whisenhunt Says:

    So nice:)

  7. Sara Says:

    Needed to readthis at this moment. Thank you.

  8. Kelly Says:

    Wow, now that is an AMAZING story of generosity. Thank you for sharing!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers