Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Things are Good August 30, 2013

Filed under: Isaac,Matthew — Elizabeth @ 9:43 AM

Sometimes, when you haven’t blogged in a long time, it’s hard to come back.  Because–where, oh where to begin?  And you get overwhelmed because there is just too much to say.

But then you just decide to sit down and write, and act like it hasn’t been months and months.

So how are you doing?

Things are good here at our house.  Really good.

I don’t know if it’s that the boys are back in school and having such a great time and back on a routine, but they are doing so well.  Not that I’m surprised that Isaac is, but Matthew is doing AMAZINGLY well at school.  I’m so glad we decided to have him repeat kindergarten.  He has so much more confidence this year.  His tears have been very, very minimal at school.  His success so far could be attributed to a lot of things:  maybe we finally hit the sweet spot on his seizure meds (which also help stabilize moods).  Maybe it is the deep pressure vest that we have him wear in the morning or afternoon that is keeping him calmer.  Maybe it is that he is no longer the smallest in his class–the kids aren’t babying/mothering him.  Maybe it is because I sent a letter to the school asking that every single person not fawn over him and to please just treat him casually and like everyone else (even though he his clearly the cutest kid at school ;) ).  Maybe it’s because his teacher this year is much more structured, therefore her class runs a lot like our home.  I have no idea, but can we all just say

THANK GOD!!!!!

Isaac is….Isaac.  He is happy and joyful and confident and excited about life.  He is bursting with ideas every day–he want to open a toy store, have a dog show, an airplane contest.  He writes books and designs logos and makes art incessantly.  He draws blueprints and plans and asks if he can build things out of metal and wood.  He makes me so proud and completely exhausts me by 8 AM.  He still carries his Silky everywhere.  He says they are married, and that she is also his granddaughter.  He advanced to the next level of karate and he will be testing for his gold belt next month.  He wants us to open a restaurant together and he wants me to make the meals and he will make the desserts (which all revolve around my waffles and strawberry flavored cod liver oil supplements).  He marches to the beat of his own drum, and it is beautiful music to my soul.

Jason finished his masters degree this past spring.  I am so proud of him and it is so nice to have him home every night….not staying late at work studying.

As for me, things are good. Really good.  Frankly, I am on the verge of bursting with joy.  I have some opportunities on the horizon, it seems, but nothing is in stone yet, so I can’t talk much about it.  But you know when things happen and you’re like:

OH, so that’s why I’ve been going through all this, and that’s why I spent all last year doing that, and OH!!  I was made for this.

That’s pretty much where I’m at right now……and I can’t wait to tell you more.

 

6 Responses to “Things are Good”

  1. Sherry Whisenhunt Says:

    So glad to hear that things are going well, that Isaac is being Isaac, and Matthew is coming into his own. All that hard work is paying off for you and seems to be laying the groundwork for your next adventure. You’re ready!

  2. Jerusha Says:

    This post makes me happy!

  3. Yvonne Says:

    welcome back :) so happy to hear that things are GOOD. And can’t wait to hear about what is on your horizon!!

  4. Jenny Says:

    Love you! Love hearing your voice here again, love the encouragement this brought me. AND. Pls share your source for cod liver oil that is considered dessert, got to get me some!!! :)

  5. mlewis597 Says:

    Sounds like life is, indeed, very good on all fronts!

  6. Christine Says:

    This post just makes me happy! So glad that things are GOOD there! :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers