Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

The Things He Says September 11, 2013

Filed under: everyday life,Isaac — Elizabeth @ 1:23 PM

Today I was having lunch at school with Isaac (after returning from chaperoning a field trip for Matthew’s class).  As Isaac packed up his lunchbox, he stuck his fork inside and said, “now THAT’S how a mathematician does it”.

Isaac:  Matthew, do you know what sticky notes are for?

Matthew:  no

Isaac:  they are for if someone is sleeping, but you need to go somewhere.  So you write a note that says I’ll be right back and you stick it on their face.

Last night we went to a church near our house for a transracial adoption support group.  Isaac asked if we had ever been to the church.  Jason and I told him that this is where we go to vote.  Oh, did you vote for George Washington?

Matthew (to me):  You the best mommy in the world.

Me (feigning humility):  Oh I doubt I’m the best in the world…..

Isaac:  True.  She is probably the best mommy in {insert our community}.  Or at least the best mommy on {insert our street name}.

He asked me to buy him skinny jeans.  Orange ones.  And a belt.  I obliged, but then when it was time to get dressed for school, he told me that he couldn’t wear his skinny jeans to school, because when he sits criss cross applesauce, it pulls his underwear down.

Isaac:  Mom, I can’t wait until Christmas, so I can kiss you under the rosemary.

 

4 Responses to “The Things He Says”

  1. Sherry Whisenhunt Says:

    Love it! You’ll be glad you kept notes–I am.

  2. mlewis597 Says:

    So, so cute! My kids tell me I’m the best mom in the world usually when I’ve said “yes” to something they really want. I always tell them that I still would have been the best even if I would have said “no.”

  3. kellycole Says:

    Please tell Isaac that that’s why I don’t wear skinny jeans either!!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers