Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

The Best Book You Have Never Read August 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 3:07 PM

I have just started re-reading this book. The first time I read it was probably in April. Yes, I know that was like, yesterday. It is that good. It is called “The Waiting Child: How the Faith and Love of One Orphan Saved the Life of Another”. This is an extraordinary true story that changed my life. I cannot do justice to describe it so here is a description I stole from BarnesandNoble.com:
The Waiting Child is an extraordinary story of human resilience in the face of tremendous odds. Adopted by an American family at age four, Jaclyn goes to her new home with a great burden. Her new family had to leave behind a little boy who had been under her charge at the Chinese orphanage. Jaclyn inspires two families, several agencies, and two governments to cooperate to reunite her with “her baby.” Everyone who reads this story will believe in the power of love to change the world.
That description really didn’t do it justice either, so all I can tell you is READ IT, READ IT, READ IT. If you are at all curious as to why Jason and I have made the choice to go to China to expand our family, if you are at all curious about how international adoption works, or if you just want to read the most amazing, heartwarming story that you will ever hear, just READ IT. Your heart will ache (in some chapters your head will ache and your whole body will ache), you will cry (unless you are dead inside or a robot). Maybe that doesn’t sound so great, but after all of that, you will be filled with joy, you will believe in miracles and you will know why my heart in particular is so heavy for these children. And why ever since we started this process, the child I see in my head is a precious little boy.
I have a copy that I’ll be glad to lend you after I reread it. But you had better return it quickly. I may be going in for round 3 by October.
 

One Response to “The Best Book You Have Never Read”

  1. Christine Says:

    I would love to read this book the next time I go on vacation (i.e. 5 years from now) –OK, hopefully sooner than that. I love your blog, so fun to see the day-to-day goings on with the family. Keep it up!


Leave a Reply

