Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

I Love Thursdays August 7, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 2:33 PM
Thursday during Isaac’s naptime is one of my favorite times of the week. On Thursday mornings we go to Gymboree class which he loves and tires him out. Then we come home, have lunch, then I put him down. Then it is MY TIME! On Wednesday nights, I tape two shows that my husband doesn’t like to watch–Project Runway and Shear Genius (a hairstyling show). Project Runway is a great, fun show. I love to see how creative everyone is and how hard they work to make their outfits. It has actually been an amazing show in the past, but I do think this season is bogged down with too many annoying contestants….if I have to hear that Stella say how she wants to design something in “leath-uh” one more time, or Swede (get a real name) keep referring to himself in the third person, or how Blayne adds -liscious to the end of every word. But I digress. Normally a show I enjoy this much, I would make it a point to watch it in “real time”, but I cannot watch it with my husband around. First he would spend the whole time making comments about how annoying everyone is, then the questions would start–why is he making a dress out of candy wrappers, who would wear that, why is she crying, do you think his name is really Swede, blah, blah, blah. I love my husband, but I do not love his commentary during “my shows”. During my shows I like silence, or if I must, I like to watch them with someone who enjoys them as much as I do so we can have an informed discussion together.

Shear Genius is a different story. I admit it is pretty much stupid, mindless television. It has no redeeming value (except for Daniel from Dallas who loves hairspray!) and I don’t even want to try to explain why I watch it. My best guess is that it is my guilty pleasure. I don’t have to think about it or get invested in it. I just watch it mindlessly……alone……..and it’s awesome. Soon it will go away and I will turn to Top Design, another Bravo reality competition that probably won’t be great, but it will be good enough to fill my Thursday naptime time-slot.
 

2 Responses to “I Love Thursdays”

  1. Brian Says:

    That’s how Christin and I are with Grey’s Anatomy and The Closer, she watches them when I’m not around b/c it’s hard for me not to make fun of them.But I like Project Runway. Doesn’t it seem like Suede and Blaine are desperately trying to be the next Christian? With the “licious”, the 3rd person, the “holla at ya boy”, it feels so forced and manufactured. I do hope Blaine finds a tanning bed though. He looks weird enough tan, I have no interest in seeing him pasty. He’d look like Gollum.It is pretty amazing what these people can create in a 24 hour period though. It’s hard enough to conceptualize a design in that amount of time, but then to create it too, very impressive. I remember having huge amounts of trouble just sewing together pillows in home ec class, and I had weeks to do that.

  2. The Tates Says:

    I love Project Runway too! Secretly Blaine loves it too. What have I done to him?


Leave a Reply

