Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Favorite Cheesy Christmas Music December 5, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 2:00 PM

Everybody has Christmas music that their family grew up listening to that is their favorite simply because it is what they always listened to at their house. I am no exception and mine is Kenny and Dolly, Once Upon a Christmas. I think it may have been the only Christmas tape we had when I was very little. As an adult, I have added many other Christmas CDs to my collection, but this is one of my favorites and most nostalgic. Count on Kenny and Dolly to mix traditional carols with Christmas love songs (a fast talkin’ lover and some sloooooow burnin’ wood, anyone?), and of course the finale, Once Upon a Christmas, that is kind of cheesy with Kenny doing spoken narration, but still brings tears to my eyes as it tells about the birth of Jesus. I would love to know what your family listened to when you were little and if it is still your favorite!

My favorite Christmas CD that I discovered as an adult is Jo Dee Messina, Make a Joyful Noise. Who knew the country artists had such a hold on me?

 

2 Responses to “Favorite Cheesy Christmas Music”

  1. Steve n Coco Says:

    It’s so funny that you posted this because just today, I popped the old Roger Whittaker Christmas album in and let it take me away!! 🙂 I get teary whenever I hear “Mama Mary.” My husband isn’t as into it as I am… as soon as I left and then came back, the music had been changed. So sad!be blessed,Courtney

  2. Joy Says:

    I grew up on Kenny and Dolly, too. There’s no shame in cheese!My other favorites are Amy Grant’s first christmas album (The one with Tennesse Christmas on it.), and The Carpenters Christmas Portrait. I HAVE to listen to them. Often. Sometimes in July.


Leave a Reply

