Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

21 Days of Prayer and Fasting January 11, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 1:56 PM

Every year in January, our church does 21 Days of Prayer and Fasting. The new year is a great time to get back on track with everything including your spiritual walk with God. Last night at dinner, Jason asked us all if we were going to fast anything, so we had a lot of discussion about what to give up. After the obvious ideas to fast turnips and rutabegas, mopping, and cleaning out the litter box, we got serious. The point is to give up something that is actually a sacrifice and devote that time to prayer, reading your Bible, etc. For me, fasting meals is not a sacrifice. As a matter of fact, if you forced me to eat 3 full meals/day, that would be more of a sacrifice. I drink milk and coffee for breakfast, lunch is optional and very suspect, and then I eat dinner and then I gorge on OREOS. I am giving up Oreos for the fast and I can honestly say on Day 1 that I’m already missing them……just the idea of them. We have also decided to give up “extraneous” TV watching……as in flipping on the TV just to see what’s on. For instance, I used to go to bed and have some quiet time, do some reading, pray……now I stumble in and flip on some old reruns and fall asleep to it. I want to get back in the habit of having that time every day. And 21 days is about how long it takes to form a habit, so I’m hoping it sticks. The Oreos however, are making a comeback at the end of the fast…….after all, you can read your Bible and pray and be covered in Oreo crumbs……..it doesn’t make it any less special!!!

Posted by Picasa
 

Leave a Reply

