Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Frustration Reigns Supreme July 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 1:25 PM

UGH. That’s all I can think of to say. We were told that our homestudy being approved by DHR would take about 2-4 weeks. Today is 4 weeks. Last week our social worker called the person who does this (we’ll call her “the approver”) and the approver told her it had moved to Pile 2 (people who say things like this need to be slapped) and that she would “try to get to it this week”. So I decided to call her and check on things today. Surprise!! She is out of the office all week. Now how in the world did she think she was going to be trying to get to it this week? Seriously, woman!

So here is the frustrating part. Our new agency could care less if the homestudy is DHR approved. Korea does NOT require that DHR approve the homestudy. BUT our social worker at Lifeline cannot sign it (Lifeline policy) until it is DHR approved, and it MUST be signed to go to Korea. So there’s the confusing and frustrating truth.

The approver is making me mad. She does all the homestudies if your name ends in N-Z (us!), and she is at least 2 weeks slower (on average) than the woman who does it if your name ends in A-M. I cry foul on that one! I feel like I am between a rock and a hard place. I want to call and speak to the DHR commissioner who helped finally push our fingerprints through after 9 months, but I feel like the approver will find this antagonistic and drag things out further. Because it is an “identified child” homestudy, she has the power to ask for lots and lots of documentation from Korea which could take months to get thus dragging it out exponentially longer! So do I sit here at home and whimper or get all up in her business and hope that she doesn’t make my life miserable? A quandary for sure.

Today we got our fingerprints done for immigration. So that is something.

In other news, I made some more collages and added them to my Etsy store. Making these collages is very Zen for me….which is good with all the stress of waiting.

 

Leave a Reply

