Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Wrap a Hot Towel Around Your Head September 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 8:01 PM

Please tell me I’m not the only child of the ’80s that remembers that line from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. He’s talking to his dad on the phone while faking sick/cutting school and this conversation occurs:

Ferris: Dad, all this talking has made me kinda light headed. I think I oughta lie down.

Dad: Take a bath. Then wrap a hot towel around your head.

Ferris: Wrap a hot towel around my head?

Dad: And then make yourself some soup, get a nap.


I don’t know why I always thought that was one of the funniest lines in the movie….and there are so very many funny lines in that movie. Well I thought of that line today after a very UN-funny situation.

Isaac has been running a low grade fever the past 2 days and being somewhat puny and pale. Still a voracious appetite and still doing a lot of playing, but I thought I’d better get him checked out today. I was shocked to find out he has bronchitis. I figured they might say croup because he gets croup 2-3 times every year, but no, it was bronchitis. We came home, he ate lunch and went down for his nap. Still acting fine.

Jason was here so I ran out to fill the prescriptions and after I got home I heard some strange noises coming from his room. Kind of like coughing….but not. I went in to find him a little panicked. He was half coughing-half gasping. I carried him in the kitchen thinking I should get him some cough syrup and then he really FREAKED. And as he freaked, he really couldn’t breathe. I called for Jason (initially with the thought that I needed help getting the medicine open), but in the 30 seconds it took Jason to get upstairs, Isaac’s lips were turning blue and he wasn’t making very many sounds at all.

I almost said “call 911”, but then I remembered some sage advice….no, not the line from Ferris Bueller, but a line from our pediatrician. “Stick his head in the freezer.” So I did. Shoved both of our faces right in there with the waffles and the pie crusts…..and it gradually started to help. Granted it took him a LONG time to calm down and sound normal, but we avoided 911. I sat him down with the cool mist humidifier pointing right in his face and he finally agreed to watch “Magic Magic Movers” (Imagination Movers). Even after a few minutes when I mentioned his medicine, the whole thing started happening again, so I laid off for a while. Finally I pretended to give it to all of his stuffed animals and he croaked out, “Isaac’s turn!”.

So why the freezer? Dr. Hamm told me this the very first time Isaac ever had croup. It has to do with the cold temperatures that help shrink the swollen and irritated bronchi or airway passages or something. And the humidity in there really helps. That is also why they suggest the use of a cool mist humidifier. He even told me if this happens in the cold winter to run them outside and the cold air will take care of it ASAP. He told me croup is relatively common and mild, but it can be dangerous and you have to be careful. Granted, Isaac supposedly has bronchitis, not croup, but it worked.

So remember: feed a cold, starve a fever, stick your head in the freezer for croup, and if you’re in need of a good laugh, watch Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

***Addendum to my previous posts: The lunatic had a friend come pick up the famed Craig’s List bed. And as far as all the laboring in our basement to finish off that ceiling….well, I didn’t lift a finger. My husband did every bit of it and he did a great job.***

 

One Response to “Wrap a Hot Towel Around Your Head”

  1. Jeff Says:

    You are at least one of two children of the 80’s cause I too love that line! I have a tendency to quote movie lines alot when the circumstances call for it 😉 It’s fun when you catch someones eye that knows what you’re talking about. Save Ferris!


Leave a Reply

