Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Hit or Miss November 24, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 11:36 PM

We have had a couple of rough nights with Matthew. I think part of it is that he has a cold–we all do. I decided to take Matthew to the doctor today just to make sure he was really okay and he got a clean bill of health. 2 nights ago, he thrashed around crying in his sleep on and off from 12:30-3:30 AM. Then he just woke up completely ready to face the day. No crying, he just thought it was morning.

Then last night he had what can only be called a night terror at about 9:30 PM. (I spoke to our International Adoption Clinic about this. It is very normal for children who have just gone through such a change). It took quite a while to calm him down. The rest of the night was fairly uneventful–just a bit of whining in his sleep and one crying fit.

I think I did discover that he seems to be afraid of the brown pillows that we put around his crib mattress to keep him from falling off. I also think he is not that fond of the crib mattress. Since he was used to sleeping on the floor in Korea, we have laid a blanket on the floor for him and nixed the brown pillows. So tonight, I took him in and gave him his bottle. He also had his favorite ball in his hand and he was so happy, rolling around in the floor. I walked around the room for a few minutes putting things away, and he barely noticed me. So I kissed him and told him goodnight and left the room. No crying!

I kept peeking in at him, and he was having a grand old time rolling all around in the floor. At one point he even slowly crept out of the room, and when he saw me, he squealed and ran back in. I decided to lay down with him for a while and he stroked my face so sweetly. As he got sleepy, I left the room, and he put himself to sleep so peacefully. Since then he has had one minor crying episode. I really hope tonight is a good night for everyone!

I can’t believe Thanksgiving is coming up in just 2 days. We are hosting it at our house, but most everyone else is doing the cooking. Being out of town for a week and then holing up in our house has made me feel like I am missing out on all of the holiday feelings. But I am ready to get going for Christmas. I bought enough little ornaments to do a special Korean Christmas tree, and I can’t wait to get that up. I wonder if Matthew will pull off all the ornaments and make a big mess? I can’t wait to see!!!

 

Leave a Reply

