Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

A Hard Day’s Night January 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 6:40 PM

This mama is exhausted! Where to begin? I guess a good place to start is the point where neither of my children took a nap yesterday. For shame!! Isaac had his first gymnastics class yesterday right after preschool (more on that later), so my mom came over to stay with Matthew while he “napped”. I have to say that Matthew always naps…..except when Grandma is here. Hmmmm, seems like Grandma might just have wanted some company while she played with the space train. So by the time we got home, it was 2:30, no one had napped, and I thought I’d look on the bright side and power through the afternoon knowing I could put them both down early.

To their credit, there were no unusual meltdowns or anything, and everyone went to bed a little earlier than usual. Beautiful, right? Then for whatever reason, Matthew woke up, at 10:45, as if he had been napping and not down for the night, and was just up. That’s it–not really upset. Just awake and totally bummed out that the house was dark and no one wanted to play. I went in to check on him sporadically until 12:30 then I rocked him for a while. Didn’t help. At 1:30, I decided to break out a bottle of warm milk (he hasn’t had a bottle in a few weeks). He was pretty stoked about that, but it didn’t quite do the trick. By 2:30, I was desperate and worried sick because he had an appointment this morning at 8:30 to get caught up on all his vaccinations. And the only thing worse than taking your kid to get shots, would be to take a kid who had been up all night and then give him a ton of shots. So I did something I thought I’d never do…..I gave him some Ben*dryl….about half the dose our doctor had recommended for him on the flight home from Korea. I think he was asleep in about 15 minutes. I just felt so sorry for him–he was really being good, the poor kid just had insomnia.

So….I finally fell asleep and woke up to Isaac calling to me around 4:30. I stumbled in and can’t even remember what he wanted. All I know is I was back in there at 5:30, which is our normal routine, then he comes back in our bed and snuggles/sleeps til a more tolerable hour. Well since everyone was catching up on their missed sleep, I didn’t wake up until 7:45….and we had to leave in 30 minutes to get to the doctor for the dreaded shots. I didn’t get a shower or coffee, but somehow we made it.

The doctor’s appointment was predictable. The shots (6!!!!! Poor Matthew!) were horrible of course, and Matthew was upset, but he recovered very quickly. I proceeded to get a severe caffeine withdrawal headache. Then we went to the library for storytime to find it canceled and every stir-crazy toddler/preschooler from a 30 mile radius was there bouncing off the walls. To be fair, mine were certainly the worst behaved and I was too tired/headachy to do much about it.

We finally got home where Isaac didn’t nap again which meant I couldn’t nap either. Matthew took a great nap and really has been great all evening, not seeming nearly as affected by the shots as I expected.

So I started getting dinner ready to realize we needed ketchup–you CANNOT have meatloaf without ketchup, it is impossible! Had to load the boys up and make a trip to the store in the freezing cold. Also realized that tonight is Jason’s first night of classes this semester so I’m pretty much solo for the rest of the night.

Oh my goodness, I am ready for this day to be over! But first, meatloaf…..and American Idol, if I can stay awake through it. Don’t you just hate days like this?

 

One Response to “A Hard Day’s Night”

  1. YIKES! What a rough couple of days! The nice thing about horrible days is that they can only get better, right? đŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

