Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Adventures in Korean Cooking February 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 2:28 PM

I love to try new recipes, and especially enjoy learning to cook new Korean food. About a month ago, I tried my hand at jencha, which are basically fried meat fritters. It was kind of like the filling for mandu, but instead of wrapped in a dumpling skin, it was dipped in flour and egg and pan fried. They were served with seasoned soy sauce. Matthew loved them, not that it was a surprise to anyone…..he is a meat fanatic!

I had a lot of meat left over and didn’t want jencha again the next night, so I decided to make up my own dish: Korean Meatloaf! Basically I just stuffed what was left in a loaf pan (it was made with ground beef, pork, and tofu) and baked it like a regular meatloaf. Then I sliced it and poured some seasoned soy sauce on top. I doubt it will end up being the most popular dish I prepare, but we all enjoyed it!


For Lunar New Year, I really wanted to try something different, so I tried my hand at rice cakes. We had tried some in Korea, so I was familiar with what the consistency should be. The cakes themselves turned out perfectly, and I toyed with a few of the suggested toppings: toasted sesame seeds, toasted black sesame seeds, and cinnamon.


I may have toasted my black sesame seeds a little too long, because those cakes tasted as if they had been rolled around in an ashtray. Seriously, it was bad. The (pure) cinnamon was just a little too much, if you know what I mean, so then I tried mixing cinnamon and sugar. Unfortunately that didn’t work as somehow the sugar turned to a watery syrup and made a huge mess. None of them tasted great to me, so I gave one to Matthew. He took one bite and spit it out while shaking his head, “no”. Although he did the same thing when eating one on the plane home from Korea (actually he threw that one across the plane), so I can’t be sure if mine were all that bad. I declared that if the Korean doesn’t like them, we shouldn’t worry too much about it and try to force them down. So I threw them all away and we just ate sugar cookies.

I also made seafood pancakes not long ago, which DID turn out great, but I forgot to take a picture. It has been a lot of fun incorporating these new recipes and tastes into our everyday life!

 

4 Responses to “Adventures in Korean Cooking”

  1. bummer that the rice cakes didn't turn out! at least you had sugar cookies around :)can't speak to the meat, being a vegetarian…

  2. Cori Says:

    Your like my hero. I would love to try my hand at some of these dishes, but I am too scared.

  3. Rachel Says:

    Now I want Korean food in a big bad way! We are going to a (late) Lunar New Year party tomorrow and I am hoping to get to try some new dishes there.

  4. I need to start working on this. If only I liked to cook..sigh. Kuddos to you for trying!!


Leave a Reply

