Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Don’t Let me Forget March 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 2:26 PM

The boys are seriously K-I-L-L-I-N-G me with some of the hilarious things that come out of their mouths lately. Well, mostly Isaac, but that is just because Matthew still isn’t talking very much. Since this blog is kind of like our “baby book” I have to record some of their antics.

The other night, Isaac was in bed having a little party and doing anything and everything not to go to sleep. He called me in yelling, “OH MOMMY!!!!!”. I went in and he said, “I got a question to tell you”. When I asked him what that was he just yelled, “Banannys and strawboogers!!!” and dissolved into fits of laughter.

This morning he got in bed with us like he normally does. He got under the covers and snuggled up to me and said, “what we dreaming about?” like he was just a tardy guest at a dinner party trying to get up to speed.

When Matthew first came home, he was too afraid to get out of bed on his own. He has finally learned to get out of his own bed and is so proud of himself. In the mornings he makes a lot of noise but won’t get up until we tell him it’s okay. So I will call to him and tell him to come on out. Then you hear a thump and he says, “I did it!” and runs out. Or some days you hear an even bigger thump(as he falls OUT of bed) and he says, “I’m okay!” and runs out.

In carpool at Isaac’s preschool the other morning, his teacher came to the door to get him out of the car. I always remind him to tell his teacher good morning, but this morning, he had his own ideas. She opened the door and he yelled, “Happy Holidays, Miss Donna!”. Yeah, this was February.

Speaking of holidays, on Valentine’s day he woke up and gave me a big hug and told me Happy Valentine’s day. The very next words out of his mouth were, “Is it Christmas?”.

Isaac likes to have his own special names for things, or even his own special pronunciations for things. Here are some of his favorites….
M&Ms: Chocolate number Ms
sprinkles: Sneakles, as in, I want sneakles on my ice cream
Pancakes: French cakes

Sometimes at naptime or bedtime, the boys stay awake cutting up and yelling back and forth to each other from room to room. The other night, I specifically heard Isaac being quite loud, so I walked back and asked him what he needed. He dismissed me quickly by saying “Not you Mommy, I’m just talking to Matthew”. And as I walked away, he shouts, “HEY MAFFYOU, WHAT YOU DOING???????”

One night after the boys went to bed, I heard Matthew calling me saying, “help, help”. I went in and he wasn’t upset, he was actually kind of laughing. He seemed to be frustrated with his pajamas which were the footie, zip up kind. I got the idea he wanted them off and he said, “Off”, so I decided to change his pajamas. When I took them off, I found a matchbox car in the foot of them!!!! He just wanted help getting his car out!

Another night he kept saying “help” over and over again. I went in and found that he had gotten out of his bed to get something (probably another matchbox car) and couldn’t get back IN bed!!

Just the other morning, the boys were eating breakfast and I was putting away dishes and making my coffee. This conversation followed:
Isaac: Mommy, where is God?
Me: Well, God is all around us
But Mommy, what is that on your pants?
Uhhhhhh, paint.
Oh okay.

I told Isaac yesterday at the playground that we were leaving in 10 minutes and he ran over to me and said, “no mommy, in 100 minutes”.

Which reminds me that his favorite numbers are 1, 11, and 100. He will tell you that all the time.

Isaac’s big thing now is telling you, “no please”. He says it in the sweetest, most innocent voice you have ever heard. As in, “Isaac, it’s time to leave the playground.” NO PLEASE. Today we were coming home from a big grocery shopping trip. I asked him if he would help me carry some bags in and he said No please. I kept asking and kept asking and finally he said very loudly, “NO.THANK.YOU, Mommy.”

Yesterday, Matthew had an evaluation through our school system because he is about to age-out of Early Intervention services. One of the teachers came up to our family and said, “Hi, I’m Miss P….”. Isaac held out his hand to shake hers and said, “Hi, I’m Isaac, it’s sooooo nice to meet you.” Matthew turned away from her and said, “noooooo” in a sing song voice. That kind of describes their personalities right now.

I can’t wait until Matthew is more verbal. With 2 of them around, there will seriously never be a dull moment.

 

7 Responses to “Don’t Let me Forget”

  1. Cori Says:

    Cracking up over here!

  2. How cute are they! I just wanna give them hugs!!!

  3. This was great! So needed a good laugh this afternoon! Makes me realize Michael is definitely going to be needing a brother in a few years~

  4. Mom to 3 C's Says:

    Very cute stuff…

  5. Tracy Says:

    That was just what I needed today! Thank you!

  6. Oh my goodness, boys, you are so funny!

  7. chris Says:

    I love that they are so happy and silly and confident.


Leave a Reply

