Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Snuggle Schedule March 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 2:31 PM

Now that I am the mother of 2 little boys, I have to make an effort to have special time with both of them. Not only do they need it, but I find that I really crave it. As a mom, I really love to snuggle them, but they are SO active, that can be a challenge too. Luckily, we have figured out a really great “snuggle schedule” that works for all parties.

Isaac wakes up at about 5:30, and starts calling, “OH MOMMY….WHERE AH YOU???” and I go bring him into bed with us. This is about the only time he is still enough to snuggle with. Some mornings we fall back to sleep with our foreheads touching and me breathing in his sweet maple syrup smell (Jason says that is pee I am smelling in his night time diaper….to each his own, right?). Some mornings he whispers things to me like, “I no like ladybugs, bumblebees, and camels. Ya right, mommy, ya right?”. I draw this time out as long as possible until finally he is sitting up and speaking right into my face saying, “Can I have some brest-is please???”. (that would be breakfast, for those of you who don’t speak Isaac-ese). After awhile we hear Matthew in his room and we both call him in to join us. But Matthew is not a morning snuggler. He needs an immediate yogurt or Mickey Mouse Clubhouse fix to get his day started.

Bedtime, however, is the time when Matthew’s snuggling skills REALLY shine. He loves to be read to so much. Right when reading time is over, he attacks me. It is a full-body snuggle with both arms and both legs wrapped around me. He presses his cheek against mine with amazing force. He never lets go first. It isn’t a frantic “don’t leave me” hold, it is pure love, pure trust. It always reminds me of “It’s A Wonderful Life” and the way that George and Mary make out….by repeated, forceful cheek rubbing. He holds my face in both of his hands and seems to literally delight in me. We roll around and I tell him I love him. He says, “noooooooooo” in a playful voice and I say it over and over until he tells me he loves me too. In the end, we are both mussed up and there is a fair amount of drool all over the pillows and ourselves.

You know, kind of like heaven.

 

6 Responses to “Snuggle Schedule”

  1. Sigh… how sweet is this? Gotta love mama snuggles!

  2. Chaukie Says:

    Love the sweetness.

  3. How sweet is that. It just makes me smile thinking about it!

  4. Mom to 3 C's Says:

    I love the snuggles too… and treasure them as long as I can get them! I dread the day when they will no longer want to snuggle, or hold my hand, or admit they have a mother. Enjoy each moment!

  5. The Tates Says:

    My very favorite scene of "It's a Wonderful Life" is that cheek telephone scene. I love it! How sweet to have diverse snugglers so you can get some all day šŸ™‚

  6. Jaime Says:

    That is just so sweet and perfect. There is nothing like snuggling with your children. btw… peyton will be two in about a week, so i think you're right – alot of their behaviors probably relates to their age. got to love 'em though!! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

