Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Keepers April 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 1:49 PM

When you have two little boys, you also have a lot of priceless art coming into your home. Preschool, story time, Busy Bees, you name it, they come home clutching their most recent masterpiece. If only there was some way to save it all…..but alas, I have no interest in being featured on the show “Hoarders”.

I have this hanging cord in our kitchen where I display all of their most recent and special art.Every so often, I purge the pictures and add new ones, and I must admit, it is very rare that I keep one unless it is quite special…..although Isaac did pull one out of the recycling bin the other day, saying, “I love this picture!!!”. So it went back up on display and has now become a “keeper”.

But sometimes they come home with something that is so special. Something that you know immediately you will keep forever, in a place that you will see it every day. Isaac made this last year in school…..
I adore it. I treasure it. It sits in my kitchen right next to my coffee maker which guarantees that I get to look at it every day. Sometimes he pulls it down and places his hand over it, marveling over the fact that his hand is now bigger than the tile itself.

Today I got my first real “keeper” from Matthew.

He made me this flower for Mother’s Day in his Busy Bees class. His teacher said he painstakingly painted it just so. He walked out of his class carrying it like a trophy. I kept it for him while he napped, but he is awake now and carrying it around again. If he ever really gives it to me, I will keep it forever, displayed somewhere that lets me admire it every day.

Another priceless piece of art, celebrating my first Mother’s Day as his mother. Definitely something to treasure.

 

5 Responses to “Keepers”

  1. That is too cute. I love how he carries it around. Here's to many more Keepers!

  2. Chaukie Says:

    What a cute idea for displaying their artwork.

  3. Christy Says:

    That's awesome! Definitely great to treasure those "keepers". It's hard to throw away the rest but I definitely have to purge pretty much daily now that my oldest is in Kindergarten! I love the hand and the flower and the clothesline.

  4. Yvonne Says:

    Awesome and so precious.


Leave a Reply

