Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

A More Colorful World April 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 8:40 PM

Our house goes on the market tomorrow!!! We got this idea in January, and are now ready to put up the sign and see what happens.

When we bought our house in 2006, we had no children and Jason had a job about 30 minutes outside of town. Our main objectives were proximity to a certain interstate highway to help in his commute, central location to our nearby family members, and good schools. I remember when we were looking at the house and dreaming of children, I said to Jason, “well, we could never outgrow this house”. It’s true–it is a really big house!!

And we haven’t outgrown it–not even close, but it doesn’t seem to fit anymore….for a lot of reasons.

For one thing, Jason has a different job now, one that is closer than the last one, but there are other nice and lovely neighborhoods we could live in that would shave valuable time off his commute to and from work.

My mom lived with us for about a year and a half. This big house definitely served us all well during that time, as she was able to have her own room and bathroom downstairs. But after she moved out, I just realized it was a huge chunk of house that never got used anymore.

The schools here are great–you would actually be hard pressed to find better schools around here. But there isn’t a lot of diversity. Okay, I phrased that a little too nicely. It is basically an all-white area. And if Isaac was our only son, it would probably be something we would roll our eyes at and say we wish it was different, but I doubt we would do much about it. Because let’s face it, it wouldn’t be that big of a deal. However, we now have an Asian son. And it IS a big deal.

I’m not saying that we live around a bunch of racists. I’m not saying that at all. Someone asked me today if I really thought Matthew would be made fun of at school if we stayed here. That’s not necessarily what I’m worried about. Let’s face it, kids are insensitive and cruel sometimes. Both of my boys are going to get taunted and teased for different reasons at some point. Unfortunately for Matthew, there will be times when it will have to do with the fact that he is Asian or maybe even because he is adopted. I can’t change that, as much as it pains me. But what I can do is give him the opportunity to be in a more diverse setting. To have peers that look like him, and peers that look like Isaac….not to mention peers who are black, Hispanic, Indian, etc. That is the least I can do.

When we started discussing WHERE we want to move, we both agreed on a certain part of town. It is closer to Jason’s job and school, it has great schools, lower home prices, and (we hoped) more diversity. It is also an area that we LIKE, that feels like it fits us. It is an area we wanted to look at in 2006, but didn’t make sense with Jason’s job at the time.

The more we thought about it, the more we thought we better do our research on the diversity aspect. As it turns out, our state department of education has a website that allows you to look at the demographics (by race and sex) of every school in the state, grade by grade. We compared a number of nearby schools and were so excited to find that the area we desire to move to has the highest ratio of Asian students than any other one!! Now when I say “high”, I am talking about 4-6 Asian students per grade. But that is something!!! Not to mention the fact that other races are represented as well.

Not to sound silly, but it felt like such a sign to me. That this is what we are supposed to be doing and this is where we are supposed to be going.

With all that being said, it is possible that our house will sit on the market and attract no interest at all. We may end up living here for the rest of our lives, but I don’t think so. I feel excited and energized and ready for a change. I believe good things are in store for our family.

 

10 Responses to “A More Colorful World”

  1. I wonder if it is where I live? 🙂

  2. You're right, Rachel! There goes the neighborhood!

  3. JoJo Says:

    Good for you! There ARE certain things in your control..and this is one of them. It's hard to move…but it is the right thing to do.

  4. How exciting! I hope all works out for you!

  5. Good luck!! We are finding ourselves in somewhat of a similar situation as well. Hope you are able to sell quick – the right person will come along at the right time.

  6. Dena Says:

    Sounds like the PERFECT place for your family!! Hope it all works out quickly and as stress-free as possible.

  7. Christy Says:

    Good luck! Hope it all falls into place. You seem to have a great attitude about it! 🙂

  8. Sue Says:

    exciting times…good luck!

  9. I can't wait to see how things work out!

  10. So excited for you, for these big changes. Best of luck!


Leave a Reply

