Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Earplugs May 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 1:26 PM

My children seem to have only one volume lately: LOUD. Screaming, screeching, squealing, squawking, LOUD. Jason and I were watching an episode of the Amazing Race last night and one of the couples was freaking out in the cab and berating and yelling at the driver. I told Jason that is how it feels to drive the boys around.

Twice this week I have told Isaac to stop talking completely while we were in the car. The first time he waited a while and asked quietly,
Can I talk now?
Yes, you can talk now.
Can I laugh.
Yes, you can laugh.
Can I spit?
No, you should never spit.
Can I scream very loud?
NO.

Then yesterday I silenced him again. After a while he asked,
Are you happy?
Yes.
Is Daddy happy?
Yes.
Is Matthew happy?
Yes.
Am I happy?
Yes.
Is Simon (our cat) happy?
Yes.
Is Sebby (our dog) happy?
Yes.
No he’s not.
He’s not happy?
No.
Why not?
Because I bother him very much.

Very true.

Somebody remind me to buy earplugs.

Had to come back and add this video in. It really illustrates my point. I feel like the guy stuck in the middle.

 

5 Responses to “Earplugs”

  1. whew. i'm exhausted just reading these conversations!and what did you think of the AR results? 🙂

  2. I just love them! Of course, I'm not nearby to hear them 😀

  3. Rachel Says:

    I bet 10 minutes of silence is like being on vacation for you! Our Matthew is just starting to get loud…I can't imagine when he can talk AND has a brother or sister to help him make noise!!!

  4. Chaukie Says:

    Isn't it amazing what 5 minutes of pure silence can do?!

  5. Christy Says:

    I love reading your blog. Why? Because it sounds like my life and makes me feel less alone. My kids, especially my 3 year old, are LOUD! Especially in the car! It drives me a bit crazy and I have to make them stop talking all together.I love his questions! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

