Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

A Most Pleasant Surprise June 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 9:42 PM

Poor Matthew has spent a lot of time with doctors since coming home to join our family. He has faced all of the appointments like a champion and has made us all so proud. But obviously, our biggest joy comes from the fact that despite a few small issues, he is incredibly healthy and resilient.

We have both had our own little side effects from spending so much time with doctors. Matthew was too afraid to use arm floaties at the beach because he thought they were blood pressure cuffs, which scare him in a big, bad way. Mommy and Daddy, on the other hand, have been suffering from copay fatigue.

We were rolling with the punches as well as any parents do, when we got billed for our third $150 copay in three weeks. I was close to breathing into a paper bag on that one. Now believe me, you cannot put a price tag on the health of your family or the peace of mind that comes with knowing your child is okay. My frustration was mostly with the fact that Jason’s employer forced us into a new insurance plan that came with higher premiums, huge deductibles, and major copays.

So anyway, I’ve been scowling on the inside about all of these bills, and then I came down with poison ivy. Every day it would spread to a new part of my body, and every day I would say I am NOT going to the doctor over some stupid poison ivy because if I have to pay one more copay this week my head will explode and anyway it can’t keep spreading every day, it has to stop sometime. Have I mentioned that I speak in run-on sentences a lot?

But apparently it doesn’t have to stop spreading. That’s its prerogative, I guess. So on Friday, it had been 7 days of poison ivy with no letting up and a hot weekend ahead of us. And I was still holding out going to the doctor because I was too stubborn to pay a $30 copay. Well, it was mostly about the copay…..I would be lying if I didn’t mention that I would sometimes weigh the options in my mind: suffer endlessly from poison ivy or suffer through going to the doctor with both boys in tow. Which could be worse? Which could be worse?

Then on Friday, I took the boys to the library with calamine lotion smeared all over my chest, neck, jawline, arms and hands…..and I kind of forgot about it. Meaning I ran into a woman I hadn’t seen since we were both pregnant with our kids and talked to her for a while. Then when I got in the car and looked in the mirror I saw that I looked like a leper and was mortified. I got over myself right about then and called the doctor. And went straight there with both of my tasmanian devils in tow.

So let me give you a little background here. I teach water aerobics for a local hospital here in town. And the doctor that I use is a primary care doctor whose practice is affiliated with the very same hospital that I work for. I have been seeing him (and love him!!!!) for almost 2 years now.

I walked in and there was a new receptionist there. She told me that I had a small credit on my account as I was signing in. I asked if she could just apply it to my copay for that day. And she says

You work for the hospital. You don’t have a copay.
Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?
No, you should never pay a copay.
But I’m not a full time employee. I don’t get benefits. I don’t use the hospital insurance plan (on the inside I am wondering why I am arguing the point with this woman, yet I continue).

She calls her manager while I am having my appointment, which entails the doctor looking at my poison ivy with a mildly disgusted, squinty expression while making a low ewwwww noise, and the boys sitting slack jawed, watching me get a steroid shot right in the bum (finally, I figured out something that gets them to sit still and hush).

When we came back out into the waiting room she tells me:
I am your new best friend. We owe you back every copay you have paid us since you’ve been coming here. Expect a check in 2 weeks.

HOLLA!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And not only that, but I am free and clear with them for as long as I teach my water aerobics classes.

This could be unfortunate for them, because I may just be there every week investigating any and every twinge or blemish I experience, and believe me, I twinge and blemish with the best of them. My sister even asked if I could please go and pretend to have her ailments and get her some diagnoses-by-proxy.

In all seriousness though, what a blessing!! I had been so frustrated and was praying for some relief in this department and God showed up in a big, awesome way. Why am I still so surprised when He shows off like this? Oh, me of little faith…….

 

10 Responses to “A Most Pleasant Surprise”

  1. kelly Says:

    1. That is AWESOME.2. You are such a great writer – I really enjoy reading your posts :)3. I hope your poison ivy goes away soon!!

  2. Tracy Says:

    WOW.. God is so good! Now.. I wish I could hear the same. Butch's emplyer did the same to us. I do not like our new plan, but I am thankful we have something.

  3. Christy Says:

    That is amazing! Hurray! God is good! And yay for the new receptionist who figured this all out!!! She would definitely be my new best friend! :)Hope your poison ivy clears up (and that you find a way to keep your kids quiet without getting a shot in the bum). 🙂

  4. Cori Says:

    This is so great! What a wonderful surprise.

  5. Rachel Says:

    That is so wonderful!!!!! What a great ending to your very sad poison ivy episode…which sounds like no fun at all. I hope you're feeling better soon!!!

  6. Sue Says:

    very awesome indeed!keep the faith…keep teaching water aerobics…and keep out of the poison ivy! (hope you are better soon!)

  7. Margie Says:

    Excellent news – about the copays, that is. The poison ivy, not so good.Showers spread it, I learned the hard way when I got a bad case many years ago. I thought the cooling water would help, but all it did was make it worse. Hope yours clears up quickly.

  8. Matti Says:

    I am so glad it worked out for you about the copays! That is amazing! I have been going to the doctor alot myself and it really adds up beyond belief.. one day at a time though! God is good 🙂

  9. Chaukie Says:

    Sorry about the poison ivy, but what an awesome way to end a doctor's appointment.


Leave a Reply

