Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Little Brother July 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 12:33 PM

Matthew joined our family as a little brother to Isaac. But what some of you might not know is that, in his foster home he was a big brother. Matthew’s foster family always cares for two children at a time, and Matthew spent over a year being a big brother to S. Matthew and S are almost exactly a year apart in age (S just turned 2 in May).

S is also a waiting child. As a matter of fact, he was on all of the same lists that Matthew was on while we searched. I looked at his picture often, especially when I realized that he was in the foster home with Matthew. I read the descriptions about his condition and they seemed dire, but then again the descriptions about Matthew’s condition seemed dire as well.

But then we arrived in Korea and we met 2 healthy, happy boys. Two normally developing boys who were fighting over toys, vying for attention, and running through their apartment.

I watched these 2 boys playing and thought back to when I would look at them on the lists, the lists of the children who wait. I didn’t know their names then. To me they were “schizencephaly” and “DiGeorge Syndrome”. They were the disorders that you google, then you gasp, and then you move on. Sure, I know you do it. I did too. It is scary–especially when they are on the other side of the world and you are making decisions based on faith and some translated medical data…..but mostly on faith.

I’m sure you can imagine that I never look at Matthew anymore and think “schizencephaly”. Honestly, I forget. A lot. That he has any kind of diagnosis. And others are floored if they find out that he has any kind of special need.

When I met S, the little brother, I searched. I looked for signs of his syndrome. I wondered what could be so bad that he waited. And all I could find was a mischievous toddler. One who waddled all over the apartment with the bottle nipple clenched between his teeth. A child who breaks out in dancing whenever he hears music. Who could stand up to Matthew when it came down to a favorite toy. A loving boy, whose big brother left to join a family while he stayed.

I am writing this post at the request of his foster family who desperately hopes that a family steps forward to claim him as their son. I am writing this post with permission from the adoption agency who represents him because they hope “maybe, just maybe this little guy’s family will find him”. I am writing this post because, just like Matthew, he is so much more than a diagnosis or a small paragraph that describes him.

Maybe you are like we were. Maybe you are thinking a toddler aged boy is a perfect fit for your family. Maybe you are open to some medical issues. I can share a little more information with you about S if you email me (emwood77 at gmail dot com), and if you are still interested I can tell you who to call.

Maybe you aren’t looking to expand your family. That’s okay too. Could you say a prayer that S’s family finds him? Could you share this post with others who might be interested?

*I do have pictures of S, but it did not feel right to share them publicly. Take my word that he is a cutie, and that he is being well-loved right now!*

 

8 Responses to “Little Brother”

  1. Cori Says:

    I will never be able to articulate well what a surprise it was to me when it my random looking suddenly turned into finding our son on a waiting child list.I never thought we would be THAT family who would be able to handle adopting an "older" child…nor did I want to be. But when you look, sometimes your eyes are opened to where your family really is.I'm SO glad we looked and hope this adorable little boy (who I see often on the list)is found by the family who doesn't yet know what they are missing.

  2. Waiting children are the loveliest, in my opinion! I hope that S can find as wonderful of a home as you have given Matthew 🙂

  3. JoJo Says:

    If this post isn't enough to convince someone to look…I don't know what is. You are a living example of where faith and courage can take you. I certainly hope he finds a family.Bless you!

  4. I must agree that WC are the best and I'm not even through the whole process yet. Thanks for advocating and I hope S finds a good home soon!

  5. Christine Says:

    Oh man… I may know who you are talking about. I look at a certain profile every single week… sad to still see him there. (We're *so* not prepared to add to our family, yet I look.) There are many children on that list that I think of often. What a beautiful post! (I'm here via Cori's blog… but I'm pretty sure we visit several of the same bloggy sites)

  6. kelly Says:

    Elizabeth, I'm so glad you wrote this post. We are not looking to expand our family QUITE yet since we just brought Max home but I wanted to let you know that you and Cori and other blog friends have opened my mind to waiting children. I'm embarrassed to say that my mind was rather closed on that topic when we first began this process. So kamsahamnida for that. Who knows what our future holds. In the meantime, I sincerely hope that Matthew's other brother finds a nice family very, very soon.

  7. Kristen Says:

    Visiting from Cori's blog…This is such a wonderful post and I hope and pray it will be the words that inspire this little boy's family to find him. Its through the voices of people like you that other families are inspired to at least consider waiting children, rather than not even giving it a thought.

  8. Tracy Says:

    Hey girl, I know EXACTLY who you are speaking of because as we looked and thought maybe another brother we asked for HIS file… But Emi is our daughter. Not because his needs were to great, but because they were not. We could not veiw his file because he was to healthy and developmentally on target to be placed with Asher. THey are so close in age! We knew that EMi was our daughter!!! WE kept being drawn back to her…S. is ADORABLE to those of you reading this.. I know he would be a great adition to a family!!!


Leave a Reply

