Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Dream House August 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 4:47 PM

**No internet at the new house yet. Had to stop on my way to work to publish this….sitting in the McDonalds parking lot hijacking their wifi. however, I did get a caramel frappe at the drive through that I give five stars. Made my eyes roll back a little.**

We moved into our new house on Monday. I have been so excited and not really sad at all to be leaving our other house. My lack of sentimentality is strange to me because that is the house where the 2 of us became 3, then 3 became 4. It is the house where I became a mother, twice over. It is the yard where 2 of my beloved pets are buried.

When people would come see our house for the first time, they would always say what a great house it was……and it was. We would reply, yes, in about 30 years, this could be our dream house. There was just so much to do. When we moved in, we had plans, plans of ways to make the house ours. But then it needed a new HVAC unit…..and then it seemed more sensible to replace all of the windows…..and the doors……and then, and then, and then. You get the picture.

Granted, all of that goes along with home ownership of any kind. But the list of things we NEEDED to do was getting so massive that we didn’t see any way that we would ever get to accomplish the things we WANTED to do. Everything about the house was beginning to make me feel weighted down and I was starting to think it would take much longer than 30 years to make it into our dream house, or even a house that I took joy in.

On a lark, we decided to put it on the market and lo and behold, the first couple who looked at it found THEIR DREAM HOME. Praise God!

So here we are in our new house. We have had many people ask us if this is it. If this is our forever house, our dream house. We know enough to know that there is no telling what the answer to that question is. And don’t get me wrong, our new house is great, but it certainly isn’t perfect.

All I know is that in this new house, I feel light as a feather and excited about what could be.

And I know that this house, for us, for now, is just right. And it is a dream come true.

 

6 Responses to “Dream House”

  1. Christy Says:

    Hurray! Glad you're enjoying getting settled in your new house. I can't wait to see pictures! 🙂

  2. Yay! Living the "for now dream" is perfect. Congratulations!

  3. Cori Says:

    I've been thinking about you. So happy things are going well.

  4. Margie Says:

    Congratulations! Enjoy!!

  5. I'm just now catching up on the blogs. I've missed so much. I love the new luck and congrats on the house!


Leave a Reply

