Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Affirmations August 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 7:07 PM

For over a month now, Matthew has been saying over and over throughout the day…..

Mommy.

Not a huge surprise. He called me mommy almost right from the start.

He says it so much–as he walks through the house, while playing. He doesn’t say it in a questioning manner or like he is calling to me. It is a statement, a mantra.

What is it, Buddy?
Yes?
What do you need?
I have responded.

He never gives me a definite answer. But minutes later, I hear….

Mommy.

At a loss, the other day, I finally just answered…..

Matthew.

And he beamed at me. Mommy, he repeated. Matthew, I responded. I finally found the response he was looking for. He didn’t need food, water, help or toys. Just an affirmation. Yes, I am mommy. Yes, you are Matthew.

So we do this throughout the day.

Mommy.
Matthew
.

Yes, I say, and he rubs my face, Yes, I am mommy.

But what he is hearing is more than just the words. This is an affirmation for him. Before, Mommy was just a word. A new, foreign word that meant ME–this woman who was suddenly around all the time. But now he is realizing Mommy means love. Mommy means a safe place. Mommy is forever. And he likes to be reassured about this throughout the day.

Mommy. Matthew. Forever.
Repeat as needed.

 

8 Responses to “Affirmations”

  1. love this. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yvonne Says:

    Awesome. Just totally awesome. So great that you figured it out – what response he was looking for and what that means, to both of you.

  3. Sue Says:

    really.really.love this!!

  4. kelly Says:

    So beautiful. I love this.

  5. Lori Says:

    Don't you love it when you figure it out??? I love those Ah ha moments and this is one of the sweetest!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Rachel Says:

    Ok this made me cry! So happy that he is discovering that you are his forever mommy.

  7. deborah Says:

    that is so awesome=)


Leave a Reply

