Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

32 Flavors and Then Some September 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 3:06 PM

A few months ago I stopped carrying a diaper bag. I can’t tell you how freeing it has been. I literally felt like a different person as I walked out the door and around in public. A person that I vaguely remembered: Elizabeth.

We have Craig’s Listed and yard saled the last of our baby stuff. The glider is gone, the crib mattress is gone. And I don’t miss them. I am decorating my house slowly and deliberately in a way that pleases me. Don’t get me wrong–there are still no breakables within reach, and toys are the main motif, but it is a far cry from the bouncy seat/exersaucer/Bumbo/playmat days.

The past few weeks have found me carefully and timidly dressing in nice jeans and flats (sometimes)…..just because. I give myself a pep talk in front of the closet….who cares if you’re just running errands and carpooling kids–you can look nice for that, even if you’re the only person who sees you.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that after spending 4 years in a bit of a mommy fog, I am starting to break free. So much of a mom’s identity (especially a stay at home mom) is tied up in mommy-ing….and I was there, and I still am to some extent. But with the boys at this age where they don’t need me every second, where I don’t look as much like a pack mule when I am out with them…I am starting to reconnect with my old self, and remember things about her that I haven’t thought of in years.

Because while I am wife and mommy, I am also the woman…..

who blew off a vet school interview to drive up the east coast with the boy who would become the man that I would marry 4 years later.

who, along with her sister, dressed up like the Dixie Chicks (which included buying a wig, dyeing it, cutting it, and after all of that, burning the cheap thing with a hair dryer!!) and karaoked “Goodbye Earl” and won tickets to their concert….a concert we already had tickets too, but it was still fun.

who used to own (and wear!) a shirt that said “Hold my purse while I kiss your boyfriend”.

who was college roommates with my best friend from first grade.

who detests any entertainment that hinges on fantasy or sci fi or even takes place in another era, but is completely obsessed with the Twilight Saga.

who used to be a couch potato, but learned to love water aerobics and is now trying my hand at yoga.

who drove cross country with my sister and planned our route like this….we’ll go to St. Louis to see the Arch and gamble (riverboats), then we’ll go to Amarillo because that sounds cool, then we’ll go to Oklahoma and learn how to two-step, then to Colorado to see the mountains. Cool–let’s go.

who is obsessed with the movie Grease, the Rent soundtrack, and flashmobs….not to mention how wildly excited I get about any cinematic group dance scene (Footloose, Slumdog Millionaire).

who figured out that if I sang O Holy Night to my cat, he would drool with pleasure.

who had my best friend walk me down the aisle at my wedding….to a Pete Yorn song.

who begged her high school Agriculture teacher to give her a B (that I didn’t deserve–but he gave it to me), but aced Organic Chemistry in college.

who runs like my mom, and finally realized why my mom runs like that–she’s trying not to pee her pants. I am usually successful.

I am also room mom, wife, teacher, daughter, friend, soccer mom (starting tomorrow), sister, electric blanket loving, HGTV fanatic, neice, coupon clipper, blogger, wannabe Korean cooking phenomenon, kisser of boo boos, wiper of tears (and butts), and rescuer of Silkie. And yes, my most treasured title will always be Isaac and Matthew’s mommy.

But you can call me Elizabeth. Nice to meet you.

 

15 Responses to “32 Flavors and Then Some”

  1. I LOVE this! Particularly your love for large full-cast dances in film. Sigh…But I have to admit I couldn't get over the vet school interview blow-off! For real???

  2. kelly Says:

    I love this post! So many things! But what stands out (because I am obsessed with it, too) is your love of the Rent soundtrack. LOVE IT.

  3. Chaukie Says:

    Congrats on losing your pack mule status!!!I want to dress like a grown up too! But that would require spending money on myself and ironing. I only have enough energy for that about once a week. I can't believe you blew off an interview for vet school!

  4. Yvonne Says:

    So this day will come?! As much as I have loved babyhood, but as we have been emptying our house of baby-things, I have also found it freeing to move to the next stage. And love the reminder that we are all of who are – mother, and yet so much more.Enjoy decorating!

  5. Jaime Says:

    I love your blog b/c I can relate so much to you! I'm not quite to the stage you're at though, but I'm looking forward to it one day in the nearish future. We are DROWNING in exersaucers, swings, bouncy seats, diaperbags and all that baby stuff right now. I keep reminding myself that it's just a stage, so I just have to put up with it for a while longer and then we will also be getting rid of all this baby stuff. I look forward to that day (but am also trying to remember to cherish these last few months with a baby since he's my last!).

  6. Abby Says:

    It was when you bought the earrings for me for Christmas last year–the ones that I had mentioned that I loved. You remembered and went and found them even though I had not known of you to go shopping for anything other than groceries in quite some time. It was a gift that was so much more than a pair of earrings. I said to Sasser, "My sister is back." She said, "Where has she been?" I said, "I don't know, but I have missed her so much."

  7. Christy Says:

    Beautiful! I love it! My bag has downgraded and probably could again except I'll just have to upgrade to a diaper bag again in a bit, so I'm staying put in the in between stage right now.Love the dance scenes, the karaoke to win tickets you have, and especially that you are the wiper of tears (and butts). Though I'm with Elizabeth – a vet school interview?!? Wow!

  8. Kristen Says:

    LOVE this post and I'm right there w/you. As my kids enter the world of preschool and learn to entertain themselves from time to time, I'm finding it a little bit easier to connect w/the non-mom side of myself that has been napping for the last 3+ years. Its nice not to wear sweatpants all day, isnt it?

  9. JoJo Says:

    Congrats on 'looking cute' again! Love Pete Yorn πŸ™‚

  10. Cori Says:

    Right. On.I actually have the Dixie Chicks live album on in your car player…the disc that starts with "Goodbye Earl."

  11. Jenny Says:

    Nice to meet you Elizabeth (again) :)"who detests any entertainment that hinges on fantasy or sci fi or even takes place in another era, but is completely obsessed with the Twilight Saga." -this cracked me up, I am the exact same way. Go to my blog and search vampire if you want to read about just HOW BAD it was…I had to get the books out of my house so I didn't just read them again and never come out of the fog πŸ™‚

  12. I am afraid that – having just purchased a new non-mommy wardrobe – I am going to be reverting back to the mommy shlumpadinka wardrobe this spring. Ah, well… I will try to be better than I was during the last go-around.(And my best friend from first grade lived with us for a couple of months last year. *grin*)

  13. Sue Says:

    just love this…it is a pleasure to meet you elizabeth – the wife, the mom, the funny, beautiful & wonderful friend you've come to be to me through blogland

  14. deborah Says:

    you're the best. you were meant to be a mother, you are such a good one. you are blessed=)xx


Leave a Reply

