Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Cause I’m Nothing if Not Versatile September 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 1:20 PM

Wow! I got awarded the Versatile Blogger award! My friend Christy over at 3 Little Monkeys Jumping gave me the award. She is a military wife and mother of 2, and her family is awaiting their referral from Korea! Thanks Christy, for the shout out. I have to assume that the versatility you are referring to is my innate ability to write a post about how cute/precious/amazing my boys are less than 24 hours after writing a post that droned on and on about how seriously annoying they are.

Here are the guidelines:

  • Thank and link back to the person who gave you the award.
  • Share 7 things about yourself.
  • Pass the award along to 7 other bloggers who you recently discovered and think are fabulous.
  • Contact the bloggers you chose and let them know about the award

You would think it might be hard for me to come up with 7 things to share about myself. I thought that too at the beginning of this post. After all, you have seen my Hugh Grant hairstyle. But, there is more to me than bad hair, dear readers. Much more. So without further ado…..

1. I am going to address this point just because so many people made comments about it a while back. Yes, I skipped out on an interview to vet school. I wanted to be a vet for as long as I could remember. In college, I majored in biology and minored in chemistry. I worked for a vet for all 4 years. My GPA was a 3.8. But I started thinking I didn’t want to do 4 more years of school, 4 more years of being so poor and knowing that my scholarships would be over and I would have to turn to loans. I was so ready to have a real life and be done with that student stuff (I think I have always been a little bit elderly). I knew that once I finally finished vet school, I would probably be more interested in a family than a career. So I decided that probably wasn’t going to be my course. And my mom didn’t even stop speaking to me. When I got the interview, I was still going to attend, but it interfered with a trip I had already planned. They did not allow for rescheduling and I took it as a sign that it really wasn’t meant to be. Honestly, I have never regretted it. I love where I am and I wouldn’t be in this exact place if I had gone. It is enough for me to know that I most likely would have gotten in and that I could have done that if that is what I had chosen for myself.

2. While I am totally okay with never being a vet, there are still some things that I would like to do with my life. Learn to play the fiddle. Be considered stylish. Have nice things that my kids don’t trash. Be a blogger that says important things. I have big goals, people.

3. In high school, I was voted Most Likely to Succeed and Most Talented (don’t be too impressed, it was a small school. Like about 35 kids in my graduating class. And no, it wasn’t a private school, I am just from the country). And my mom responded to this by saying, “Most Talented? Why did you get that? What is your talent?”. Kudos, mom. But seriously, I’m not sure myself. Even 15 years later, I am not aware of any talents that I have. On the other hand, I feel like I am one of the most successful people I know, if you count having an awesome husband, cool kids, and being able to find a great stylist at Supercuts successful.

4. I do not like to share food. So stop looking at my plate RIGHT NOW. Get your hands out of my popcorn. For this reason, I buy myself snacks that other family members do not like. I do most of my eating when the kids are in bed. If Isaac asks for something and I don’t want to share it, I tell him it is spicy until he backs off. Unfortunately that doesn’t work with Matthew. I called my husband just this morning and accusingly asked him where the last piece of bacon was. Do not mess with my food.

5. I have never seen Star Wars or any of those movies. And I don’t care to. And most people seem to find this bizarre. I once had a boyfriend who wanted me to watch it with him. Of course it was his favorite movie of all time, and I was trying to be nice. Five minutes in, he turned it off and said he didn’t want me to watch it because then if I didn’t like it, it would crush him and he would rather just leave it be. I thought that was funny at the time, but now I understand. If I gave a friend the Twilight books to read and she gave them back and said they were lame, I would basically defriend her right then and there. Or at least she would be demoted to “Acquaintance I will Smile at in Passing, but Never Hang out With on Purpose Because We Don’t See Eye to Eye on the Important Things in Life”….you know, like who is hotter, Edward or Jacob, when we all know it is Edward.

6. I love pickle juice. I could drink it all day long. Shut up.

7. I wrote about this a few years ago on this blog. But it was before I really had followers or won awards or was called “versatile”. When I was young, we went to a church that had something called “Hallelujah Night” on Halloween…..you know, to keep us impressionable youth away from all of the bad things going on around town. Anyway, you were supposed to dress up like a Bible character. I can’t remember the circumstances but my mom was a single mom and there were 3 of us and suddenly, here it was, Hallelujah Night and I didn’t have a thing to wear. My mom put me in her robe (a satiny, knee length–on her–kimono looking thing that I had always coveted) and called me “Whosoever”. True Story.

Okay, now I am supposed to give this award to 7 other bloggers

1. Sue at All Accounted Four, who recently returned home from Korea with her youngest son, Leo. Yeah, like she’s gonna have time to do this….
2. Jenny at A Chosen Child, who is soon to be a mother of 3–she just got a referral for a daughter from Korea. But most importantly, she shares my Twilight obsession.
3. Jennifer at Anything for You. We “met” years (is it really YEARS??) ago when we were both in the works to adopt boys from China. We bonded over that and she is also a Southerner, which obviously makes her cool.
4. Rachel at Inconceivable Joy. She has her own Matthew from Korea and is starting the paperwork for #2. She has a heart for special needs kiddos, which mean she has my heart too.
5. Tracy at Journey. Her family is praying home their daughter, Emi Faith, another waiting kiddo from Korea.
6. Yvonne at Our Korean American Family, who is the mother to 3 adorable kids from Korea.

Yes, that’s only 6, but naptime is quickly coming to a close. Some of my other very favorite blogs are Rage Against the Minivan, where Kristen is doing a great series that you need to check out called “what I want you to know”. Our Little Tongginator is not only great for a laugh, but her Sunday Linkage is not to be missed. She has also given me many jewels to use as I work to empower Matthew with the words to tell his own story. Any Mommy Out There is amazing. The writing is superb and I leave her blog laughing or crying or both. Every time. Daily Dose of Mama is another fave. Great writing from a fellow omma that I can totally relate to.

Must end this now before I pass out from hyperlink exhaustion. Seriously.
Thanks again, Christy, this was fun!

 

11 Responses to “Cause I’m Nothing if Not Versatile”

  1. Ha! #7 is stinkin' hilarious.Thanks for the vet school explanation – totally makes sense and I'm impressed you had the forethought at that stage of life. Saved a lot of $$ and heartache, I'm sure.LOVE your mom's reaction to "most talented". Go, mom!TOTALLY with you on the no-sharing food thing. And it's one of the reasons my in-laws drive me CRAZY. Every time we go out to eat, they want to sample everyone's food. And it leaves me fuming b/c I order what *I* want to eat and frankly, I don't want to taste that piece-o-crap you ordered. So how do I benefit from the full-table sharing? Dammit.That said, I guess you need to de-friend me b/c I found Twilight less than savory. Sorry. At least we have The Hunger Games!

  2. Cori Says:

    I'm Team Edward, too, although Jasper is actually my favorite. Elizabeth, someday, and not on this public forum, I will tell you JUST how much I loved Twilight….Pickle juice? When we eventually get our families together you and Seth can raise your pickle juice glasses together. He drinks it off his plate to avoid missing a single drop.

  3. Christy Says:

    I think you are DEFINITELY successful! I've never felt as successful as I do now in my life – I've also never felt so clueless – how does that work, no idea?! :)Thanks for clarifying the Vet interview. I think it was a great decision!7 – so funny!And thank goodness you chose Edward, if you were on Team Jacob we'd have to have words… ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. anymommy Says:

    Aw, thank you, I've had a rough day and this made it better. It makes my heart soar when someone likes my writing.Also, I want to say, that I have been working on a post for weeks about "burying" and letting go of certain dreams of mine. I absolutely get it.

  5. kelly Says:

    LOVE this list – you are so funny Elizabeth. I also happen to love pickle juice and Edward Cullen so I think we'll be just fine, you and me :)PS – I also secretly hate when people eat my food and I think your "it's spicy" coping mechanism is brilliant.

  6. Aw, thank you so much! This brought a smile to my face after a really hard week.

  7. I love the list. #7 made me laugh. I've loved following your blog and your journey ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Jenny Says:

    thank you Elizabeth! I finally accepted the award on my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Sue Says:

    This is your Mom giving clarification: I had been trying to talk you into entering the Junior Miss Contest, and you kept telling me you didn't have any talent. I told you to do a comedy monologue, but you were sure you had no talent. Thus the comment!You can laugh better than most!

  10. Sorry for just now replying…been a busy few days. Thanks for the award! I'll try to come up with some interesting facts about myself that I want to share with my audience. It has been years since we "met" hasn't it?! Gosh, where did the time go? And if we are ever able to get our families together you and Matt can share some pickle juice together. He will turn the jar up and drink it after the last pickle is gone!

  11. Tracy Says:

    COOL. I won an award! But if you knew I do not go crazy for twilight you may take it back. Hmmm… maybe I should not tell you that. I do have a few things I think you like about me though.You are a great person! I love learning all that about you. Sharing food can gross me out too, depends who I am sharing with. I will keep it to myself next time I am passing through AL. I so hope we can hang out this next summer. I will probably have an extra little one with me by then!


Leave a Reply

