Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

That Sounds Super Fun! October 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 2:45 PM

Matthew’s EEG is scheduled for tomorrow. During the doctor’s appointment, we had discussed him being hospitalized for a 24-hour EEG. But when I got the email saying everything had been scheduled, it said, good news!! the neurologist said an ambulatory EEG would be fine. Then it went on to tell me where to be and when but with no further details.

A couple of days later, out of curiosity, I googled “ambulatory EEG in children”.

Then I gasped.

Frantically, I called the EEG department and had them explain exactly what was going to happen. So basically, they are going to start by supergluing electrodes all over his head. Then they will wrap his head in a helmet of gauze to secure it. There will be a ponytail of wires coming out the top of his head. They will attach a valuable computer to him via a belt or a backpack–he isn’t supposed to mess with it. THEN THEY SEND ME HOME WITH HIM LIKE THIS FOR 24 HOURS! Oh yeah, and we maybe should have him sleep with us so he doesn’t strangle himself in the wires. Good times.

I did ask in a half kidding, but mostly serious way if they didn’t think it would be a better idea just to do this all in a hospital. I mean, really. This is a child who can scream for hours just because there is a new pair of shoes in his room. They said, oh don’t worry, we do this all the time. Meaning they suit the kids up and send them on their way all the time. That’s the easy part, friend.

So to say I’ve been dreading this is a major understatement, but like most everything in life it is what it is. It’s like when I was pregnant. People would say stupid things like Aren’t you so scared about labor??? First of all–not helpful. Second of all–of course, but in the end, it’s a fact of life. The baby has to come out sometime. People are born every day, and I will suck it up (and beg for drugs). I can do anything for 24 hours.

I’ve kind of become resigned in the same way about this. Yes, I am dreading it. Yes, it will stink. Yes, it is a bit inconvenient that Matthew will be wired up on Thursday and Friday while I am trying to prepare for Isaac’s birthday party on Saturday. But worrying about it isn’t going to change it. And frankly, it will be completely worth it to find out if he is having seizure activity. It’s time to stop worrying about it.

Let’s just do this.

 

11 Responses to “That Sounds Super Fun!”

  1. kelly Says:

    That sounds, like, TOTALLY AWESOME! (read with sarcastic Valley Girl voice). E-gads, Elizabeth. It will be something, that's for sure. But, as you say, eye on the prize. It will be worth it to know what's going on. Good luck, we'll be thinking about you. Maybe you could get him a scrunchy for his "pony tail"? :-0

  2. chris Says:

    Maybe Isaac can be enlisted to help take care of Matthew–I can't imagine what he will think or how he will feel–??!! Honestly, I can't believe they sent him home for this procedure–is it Children's Hospital?

  3. Jenny Says:

    Ok, so I'm praying for you right now and will tomorrow also, for it to all (miraculously) be fine…that sounds a wee bit stressful, I must say 🙂

  4. Mom to 3 C's Says:

    Hopfully lots of Sprite and Matthew's favorite DVDs will make the 24 hrs. pass effortlessly! (Now you know why they have the "continuous play" feature on DVDs!)

  5. Grace Says:

    whoa, nelly. not fun! but you are right, you can do it! eek! sending you major prayers, momma! and i hope that they'll find out some good information from this, too.and totally cracking up at kelly's scrunchy comment 😉

  6. Oh no. Really? I'm exhausted for you already. Esp with a birthday party on the horizon! I love (ha!) when doctors think they have the greatest idea in the world and you just want to shake them and say "ARE YOU SERIOUS DO YOU HAVE KIDS YOU MUST BE INSANE!!!" I will be thinking of you and sending you lots of patience and good vibes.

  7. Kala Says:

    Oh that does sound super (hmm hmm). I hope everything goes well and keep us updated!

  8. JoJo Says:

    It doesn't sound fun…that's for sure. Good luck though…I hope it does the trick and you can know. Just think about the end result to get you through.

  9. I'm sorry I'm so late to respond, just catching up on my blogs. I hope it's going as well as could be expectd. Poor Matthew. At least it will be over by the weekend. I'll be thinking about you and will be praying for good results.

  10. Christy Says:

    Wow – you're right though, it's something that is a part of life and it will get the job done. Thinking of it like labor is a very good analogy! Good luck! I'll say a prayer. Maybe you can convince him it makes him cool?!? Like Buzz Lightyear?

  11. Lori Says:

    That sounds like me: "Let's just get on with it! If we have to get through it, let's go!" I hope it goes better than you expect b/c that does sound horrific especially with a child who doesn't react well to change and different circumstances. The hospital told me when we got Jack's tubes put in and I was trying to explain to them his deal with having stuff taped to his arm that "they do this all the time." After me, Jack, and three nurses were covered in blood and he had riped his arm open AFTER being put to sleep and we had gotten him calmed down, I said "You've never done this before with MY kid." :)Praying you find out some results that will show you exactly what Matthew needs right now!


Leave a Reply

