Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Or Be Square November 8, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 9:56 AM

Sometimes I like to have pity parties for myself–for lots of reasons, really, but specifically– because we don’t have a lot of local connections with other families who have adopted from Korea. Granted, we knew going into the process that we wouldn’t. That is one of the reasons we initially started our process in China–many adoptive families in this area have grown their families by adopting from China. But once we saw Matthew’s face, it was decided. We would have gone to any country for him.

I read on my bloggy friends’ blogs about playdates with tons of cute, little Korean boys, I read about adoption agency reunions and parties, I read about bloggy mom meetups, and I am sooooo a tad jealous.

So when I heard about KAAN’s (Korean American Adoptee/Adoptive Family Network) annual conference last year, I really, really wanted to go. Ironically, it took place in Harrisburg, PA, 2 months after our family had been in Harrisburg for vacation. I didn’t really know about it until the last minute, so I couldn’t get it together to go, but I promised myself that I was going to make it next time…..no matter where it was held. And secretly I prayed and prayed that it wouldn’t be on the opposite side of the country.

Well, guess what y’all? KAAN’s 2011 conference is going to be in Atlanta!!! Definitely not on the opposite side of the country, and as a matter of fact, it is within driving distance from me. So I’m putting it out there now. I am going to be there, and I would love to see some of my bloggy friends there as well!

It’s not until July 29-31, so if it sounds like fun to you, start slipping your extra dollars in a coffee can and plan on being there too! Line up your babysitter now! Our plan is that Jason and I will be going together, so bring your husbands too, if you can. Then all the “men behind the loudmouth women bloggers” can get together and do men stuff…..like grunting and scratching and watching some form of sport. While we drink champagne, paint each others fingernails and have pillow fights….or you know, girl stuff.

But seriously, I think it will be such a valuable learning experience, and I would love to share it with friends–bloggy friends turned real life friends. Come on!!!!! See you there?

 

11 Responses to “Or Be Square”

  1. Chaukie Says:

    Oooh, I want to go. I'm sure I could learn a few things and I would love to meet up with you. Thanks for the heads up, because I will have my work cut out for me in order to convince my husband to go.We too have very few Korean adoptive families in our area – that we know of. Our playgroup (that rarely ever meets formally anymore since the kids are older) is mostly made up of Chinese adoptees.

  2. super awesome! i can't guarantee we'll be there, but i'll throw it out during travel discussions 🙂

  3. Christy Says:

    So fun! Probably can't plan for next summer right now. Hoping to have recently added another one by then, I guess we'll see as it gets closer.Enjoy! Hurray! :

  4. Lori Says:

    Well, I'm thankful that God gives us the little sweet blessings and I hope you have a fabulous time!

  5. Kala Says:

    Thats so great that it's in your town. I wish I would have known you were in Harrisburg last year, it's driving distance for me 🙂

  6. Kara Says:

    I've always wanted to go to a KAAN conference. You're so lucky it's near you this year!

  7. Grace Says:

    so cool! i'd love be there!

  8. Kristen Says:

    I'm so glad you'll be able to go to the KAAN event. We're lucky to have a pretty big network of Korean adoptees in our area, but really struggle to find people who have adopted from Guatemala (or any type of Guatemalan events), so I understand how you feel.I hope this gives you the chance to make some local connections that extend beyond the conference!

  9. JoJo Says:

    We went to the KAAN conference when it was in Chicago and we were waiting for a referral. It was pretty heavy for us at that point, but we did get some good info that I STILL think about. Be sure to go to the birth mother session. I hope you make some good connections!

  10. Sue Says:

    i would LOVE to drink some champagne with you in atlanta next july!i will definitely be considering this wonderful opportunity.:)

  11. Jenny Says:

    Hmm…that's sound like fun, have to think on that one. Also thanks for letting me know, I've never heard of KAAN.I'd be happy for friends (in our town) who had adopted from anywhere…someday!


Leave a Reply

