Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Smile! It’s Christmas, Darnit! December 6, 2010

Filed under: the holidays,we so crazy — Elizabeth @ 11:55 PM

It’s that time of year.  Is your tree trimmed?  Check.  Kids’ hair cut?  Check.  Coordinating sweaters (or let’s face it, I’m not afraid to go matchy-matchy)?  Check.  It’s time, folks.  (cue scary music)  It is time to try to take pictures for holiday cards.  Is it me, or is this every parent’s worst nightmare?

We planned to have my aunt come snap some pictures yesterday evening. and Isaac decided to make it interesting by not napping.  Fun!  What is it about not napping that makes Isaac completely unable to hear and comprehend or obey anything coming out of my mouth?  He becomes completely tweaked out.  Matthew immediately and for no reason became sullen when the camera came out and demanded money to participate.  Yes!  Money!  The little pirate demanded to hold 5 coins in his sweaty little paw to even participate in the photo shoot.  So there they are in their matching sweaters–the hyper one and the lethargic, moody one who will only look down and murmur no.  I can see the card caption now:  The bipolar twins would like to wish you a merry Christmas and a sullen New Year!

We not only had to overcome my children’s mercurial temperaments, but my aunt was quick to point out that she is only so good of a photographer and it was hard for her to overcome my obvious chiropractic challenges.  It’s not good enough that my own chiropractor compares my neck to a Jenga puzzle, but my own aunt told me that in certain (UN-retouched) pictures my head looks as if it has been badly photoshopped on my own body at a forward angle.

{sigh}

And let’s not forget when she made us pose and said, “Now I know you’re going to feel silly, but I was watching Nate Berkus and he said this is how you’re supposed to stand……”

Yeah, whatever, Nate.  The thing is, Jason and I know by now that it is much quicker to just stand like this and take the picture than to argue.  And I was already drafting this blog post in my head, so I was laughing on the inside.

I know you might not believe it after seeing those two pictures, but we actually got a passable family photo, an adorable shot of the boys and a good one of the two of us grown ups.  The relief is palpable for about 30 seconds until you realize you have to sit down and fashion it into a gorgeous Christmas card.  After receiving cards from friends over the years that were made through Shutterfly, I was ready to give it a try myself.

They definitely have some gorgeous cards.  Here are two of my favorites for your viewing pleasure….

Vintage Joy

Starlight Ribbon

But let’s be honest, Frugal Fanny over here is always on a budget, so realistically, here are some of the more affordable cards that I would be much more likely to order.  As a matter of fact, let’s play a little game.  The truth is, our card is designed and ready to order.  I chose one of the designs below.  The first person who guesses the correct design will get a Christmas card in the mail from our family!

Christmas Blessings

Sparkling Lime Snowflakes

Light Line

Who will the lucky person be?  And will we be doing the Nate Berkus pose on our 2010 Christmas card?  It’s a nail biter!!!

**Shutterfly is giving away 50 free cards to bloggers this holiday season, and I am so excited to be taking advantage of their offer!!  If you are interested in participating in this promotion, go here to find out more!!**

 

8 Responses to “Smile! It’s Christmas, Darnit!”

  1. i’m guessing the snowflakes?
    i think the holiday photo just *has* to be a fiasco, or it isn’t the holidays. right?

  2. Abby Says:

    I love the green one, but I am guessing you chose the blue one. 🙂 I better get one regardless.

  3. Beth Whitehurst Says:

    Well, I am guessing the blue also….being Abby will get one regardless, if it IS the blue – send one my way!! 🙂

  4. Grace Says:

    my guess is the very last one…love the little ornaments! 🙂
    i can’t wait to see the pics of the boys! your comment on your neck cracked me up!

  5. Lori Says:

    I’m guessing Light Line but I don’t know if it’s already been guessed and I’m also guessing you guys are not doing the Berkus pose, but it looked pretty great if you are:)

  6. Christy Says:

    I was going to guess the blue one – I was too late. It’s my favorite, though the green one is pretty fun! 🙂
    I dread Christmas picture time. Having Gift with us this year I decided she should be in the picture and she and Ella wore matching dresses – cute but yikes – getting 3 kids to look at the camera and smile! I don’t think that there are any fantastic pictures of all 3 but we got a couple of decent ones (out of the 100 we took – maybe not quite that many, but a LOT). Thinking of you! Glad it’s done and you can enjoy the holiday season!

  7. christine m tomberlin Says:

    I just noticed the first one features the Goslin children!


Leave a Reply

