Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Jingle D. Elf December 9, 2010

Filed under: the holidays,we so crazy — Elizabeth @ 10:03 PM

This is the second year we have been the lucky hosts of this visitor from the North Pole.  Jingle the Elf comes to our home during the Christmas season to keep an eye on the boys’ behavior.  Every night, after they go to sleep, he flies back to the North Pole to report to Santa whether they have been naughty or nice.  When they wake up, he is back at our house but his location within our home has changed.  Sometimes he just moves to a new place, sometimes he does something funny, sometimes he brings a treat….well, you’ll see.

So every morning, the first thing we do is FIND JINGLE.

There is just one rule {which makes him slightly less trouble than a gremlin}.  You cannot touch Jingle or he will lose his magic powers that enable him to fly.  Since we have young children with very low impulse control, he must be kept out of reach–although to be fair, the first person to touch him was my aunt.  Matthew almost had a coronary and repeatedly screamed “watching me!  watching me!”.  Seriously, Christmas was almost ruined right then and there.

Luckily, Jingle immediately made himself useful and decorated the Christmas tree.

Yes, I am a mean mommy that didn’t include my kids in the tree decorating.  I got my first clue that this wouldn’t be a good idea when Matthew came downstairs the first time he saw the tree and threw a deck of cards into it.  But when they came down in the morning and saw the tree decorated, they were totally captivated….especially when they believed it to be the work of their very own elf.

One night, Jingle was feeling artistic….

He’s a crafty little elf.

Then one morning, he returned from the North Pole bearing a gift!  That was cool!

One night, he borrowed some of these foam blocks.  He tried to think of something clever to spell out, but Isaac had used some of the blocks to make a necklace that spelled out his first and last name.  That left us without a good number of vowels.  So Jingle and Elf were as good as we could do.  Isaac asked me why it didn’t say Jingle the Elf.  I said that maybe he couldn’t find all the letters he needed and Isaac responded, well he only needed a “D”.  (Get it?  Jingle D Elf?)

Since it is still dark downstairs when the boys come down, we propped a flashlight up and turned it on him right before they came down.  Isaac immediately asked me to turn it off so that I wouldn’t run down the batteries!

This morning was the funnest so far.  We left a message from Jingle on the MagnaDoodle……

….and wondered aloud what it could mean.  Hmmmm, what are these things?

Looks like snowballs.  Better follow that trail.

You will not believe where it led—-

The freezer!  I guess Jingle was just missing the frosty weather of the North Pole!  Isaac kept sneaking him Christmas cookies and then Jason or I would have to remember to sneak back in and eat them…..although that wasn’t too hard.

We have had a lot of fun with Jingle–it almost makes getting up at 6:30 every morning worth it to see the excitement in their eyes as they begin the hunt for Jingle.  Jingle has plans for a lot more fun around the house this month–I can’t wait to see where he is tomorrow!

 

7 Responses to “Jingle D. Elf”

  1. So incredibly cute! I love all the ideas you’ve… er… Jingle has come up with! Although if that elf were watching me, I’d be a bit creeped out.
    And I love that Isaac was worried about the flashlight’s batteries. He’s a boy after my own father’s heart. 🙂

  2. deb jacobs Says:

    you’re right! he DOES look like Conan! lol

  3. Christy Says:

    So cute!

  4. jenj Says:

    That is genius!!! I love that idea and it is so funny that he is peeking out of the Christmas tree! What a fun holiday tradition!

  5. Kala Says:

    So creative Mama! Looks like fun!

  6. Kristen Says:

    I love this! How fun that your Jingle doesn’t just sit on the shelf being “judgy” all day, every day.

    Today’s “ice, ice baby” – awesome. I can’t wait to see what else Jingle has planned, you’ll have to tell us.

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Such a creative elf you have! Our elf, Charlie, isn’t so creative. Maybe I should share your blog with him, give him a little help, a little boost of creativity. Though, I have a feeling Charlie will probably step it up the week leading up to Christmas – show up in the tree, the kitchen, various other places in the house. Love Jingle’s idea of using the magna doodle to leave a message – hmmm…. will have to remember that one! Seriously, isn’t this so much fun?! I posted about it on my blog- but Michael will actually go and stand in front of Charlie, talk to him, showing him pictures of the toys he wants. Michael left a wish list (written by my mom) under the tree for Santa. He was looking for it the next morning and we told him Charlie took it to Santa over night. I’m not sure he knew what to think about that. Glad our family has started this fun little tradition.


Leave a Reply

