Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

I Do not Think that Means What You Think it Means December 14, 2010

Filed under: the holidays,we so crazy — Elizabeth @ 4:05 PM

I still don’t have time to sit down and do justice to our trip to the North Pole (although I promise I will), but Isaac said something today, and I have to get it down before I forget.  I have been working on teacher gifts this week.  Between the two of them, we have 3 preschool teachers, one aide, a speech therapist, and then music, computer, wiggles, blah, blah, blah.  I am the room mom for Matthew’s developmental preschool, which means I had to collect money and go shopping for the gifts from the class.  At the other preschool, you just do your own thing.  We won’t even talk about how irate I was last week when the CHILDREN in the classes started sending home goodie bags for each other.  Between my two kids, they have 19 classmates.  So if you are one of those mothers, I have just one thing to say to you…..how dare you?

But I digress.  The gifts I settled on for the teachers at the church preschool are this pretty glass cross that could be used as an ornament or a suncatcher.  My sister sells them at her store.

Being so busy with the gifts and goodies, etc., I wrapped them up yesterday while the boys were supposed to be napping, thereby missing what I’m sure could have been a valuable opportunity to teach a lesson about the importance of giving during Christmas.

**Must stop for an aside here.  I often tell Isaac that I love his generous heart, and I praise him for being polite, etc.  Sometimes I tell him that he makes my heart sing.  Today I was praising him for something and he stopped and asked me what song my heart was singing.  I told him it was going fa la la la la la la la la.  The kid kills me.  In a good way.  Okay, going back on topic now.**

This morning before school, I showed the boys the gift bags and urged them to be very careful because the gifts were BREAKABLE. Just a little background here.  “Breakable” to Isaac is scary.  It means you could get hurt or into trouble or worse even.  Matthew could care less.  He is a human tornado.  But if you tell Isaac something is breakable, it may as well have a skull and crossbones on it.

Afternoon carpool is always chaos, and today was no different.  Amidst all the hubbub and buckling and Matthew wanting to show me all 17,000 incredibly cute Christmas crafts he had made, Isaac said loudly, Do you know what I gave Miss Gena? Thank goodness I remembered that he had taken his gift to her today.

What?, I asked.

A dangerous T!!!

I hope she was more impressed with it than he was.  He thought it was kind of lame, so he sang her “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” to try to make it a little better.

 

 

4 Responses to “I Do not Think that Means What You Think it Means”

  1. deb jacobs Says:

    only a hippopotamus will do!

  2. Christy Says:

    Oh my goodness! Isaac cracked me up! I was laughing out loud and my son wanted to know what was funny so I had to tell him. He giggled but didn’t find it as amusing as me. Ah well, 7 year olds are apparently hard to please.

    BTW – I love that song – I’m sure it was adorable to hear him sing it.

  3. Oh Isaac. You’re too lovable! And I love that he spontaneously broke into song to make up for his gift. Crack. Me. Up.

  4. Kristen Says:

    ha! good thing isaac was ready w/a song.


Leave a Reply

