Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot December 16, 2010

Filed under: and that's how I feel about that,mommy brain — Elizabeth @ 3:50 PM

I have a lot of little things floating around in my head–none of them worthy of their own blog post so this is the compilation of them all for now…..

  • I titled this post “Whatnot” because I used to date this guy who used that word, oh, about 20 times a day, maybe more.  Seriously, who knew there was such a need for this word?  This is probably my 550th blog post and this is the first time I am ever using it, and it is mostly in a joking homage to him.  {I initially titled it Paddywhacks but didn’t think anyone would really get it, you know like knick knacks and paddywhacks and give the frog a loan?  I know, not funny.}  He also lived with his mother and did not own a single pair of jeans–only dressy pants.  I’m sorry, but that is weird.  I’m about 92% sure that he doesn’t read my blog, so I think I’m pretty safe in saying that.
  • Matthew is not having seizures.  We found that out a long time ago, and yet I never could remember to post about it here.  My first reaction was inappropriately:  disappointment.  Not that I wanted him to be having seizures, but I wanted an explanation as to the puzzling behaviors we were seeing.  In the interim, we started him on melatonin, and honestly, him getting the sleep his body needed really has solved almost every serious issue we were having.  We still have normal 3-year old stuff and normal strong-willed kid stuff, but all that is to be expected and is totally fine with us.  So let me say this:  Praise God!  Matthew is NOT HAVING SEIZURES!
  • Onto less serious stuff, what is a think tank?  Seriously.  It sounds so weird that someone could actually be employed by something called a think tank.  I think.  A lot.  About deep stuff.  Hire me.
  • Neti pots.  I just started using one regularly.  It kind of makes me feel like a hippie, but I had been having pretty bad sinus headaches.  My aunt shoved one into my hands and said, Dr. Oz uses one every day!!!!  I don’t know about you, but he freaks me out a little.  So I held off until my headaches got real bad and then I tried it, you know, because I really like to wait until something is nearly excruciating before actually doing something about it.  That’s just how I roll.  So shockingly, the first time I used it, I didn’t drown myself or anything.  So I’ve been using it daily now.  The other morning I used it at about 6:30 AM.  I felt the water go a little wonky in the wrong direction, but it happens.  I finished up and went on about my business.  Around 11:15 AM, we had just gotten home from picking Matthew up from preschool.  Ironically, I was in the middle of Operation Boogie Removal on Matthew (much to his dismay), when I felt a funny little tickle up in one of my sinuses.  All of a sudden about a tablespoon of water just drizzled out of my nose–nearly 5 hours later!!  I was shocked!  My first thought was thank God no one saw that!  My second thought was I am SO bummed that no one was here to see that!
  • I have a question for you mothers with Asian kids.  Do your children have a natural part in their hair?  Matthew’s hair grows straight forward and try as I might, there is no part, anywhere.  I take that back.  There is a part on the crown of his head that just makes all of his hair grow straight forward.  What am I to do?  How do I train it?  He is all bangs all the time.  Is this a Matthew thing or a boy thing or a common thing with Asian hair?  I am almost sure I have heard other people talk about this before.  Should we present this conundrum to a think tank?
  • Introduced Isaac to clementines today.  He loved them, but said he preferred to call them “lemontimes”.  Matthew was none too impressed.
  • I haven’t really bought presents for anybody but my kids yet.  And there’s only 9 days until Christmas.  I’m not even stressed–I’m just in denial.
  • Oh yeah, and my kids are out of preschool for like 3 weeks as of today, so when am I supposed to shop?  Again, denial.
  • You need to stop what you are doing and go buy this book or get it from your library.  I’ll wait.

Got it?  Good.  Okay, now read it.  I’ll wait…..

Wasn’t it amazing?  I KNOW!!!

Okay, now email me and let’s have an online book club or something.

  • I really think Matthew is a good singer.  I don’t think this is just a mommy thing, where we think our kids are good at everything.  Because seriously, there are some things that I know he is not going to excel at–the balance beam is NOT his friend.  But I really think he has singing talent.  I can see him on a show like the Sing Off one day.  Okay, maybe that is just because I wish I could be on The Sing Off, but seriously, he is good.  Maybe he can start a band and call it All Bangs All the Time.  I like it.  He is always getting songs stuck in his head.  Lately it is “Deck the Halls”, so he walks around singing the fa-la-la-la-la part constantly.  It’s pretty festive, but I have to admit, it was funnier when he would get the “Talk of the Nation” theme music stuck in his head.
  • Speaking of NPR, sometimes in the car, Isaac asks if we can listen to the news.  He used to call it talking radio, but now he calls it “The News”.  He sounds so grown up when he requests it.

Okay, so I think my head is mostly cleaned out, between the neti pot and writing all that stuff down.

Your assignment for the day:  see how many times you can use the word “whatnot” in regular conversation.

 

 

12 Responses to “Whatnot”

  1. Christy Says:

    Praise God! No seizures AND the melatonin continues to help! Wow! So amazing!

    Thank you for making me laugh – several times. 😉

    Ben doesn’t have a natural part either unless you count across the back of his head – he has this horrible cowlick and his hair just grows out from there. Maybe a boy thing (or the fact that his hair isn’t as long as a girl’s – if it was you could more easily create a part even if it wasn’t natural).

    I went to Amazon in the middle of your post and looked up the book you were talking about. It gave me chills just reading the premise and the first review of it. I am going to read that book, soon!

    Have a great day! Stay warm!

  2. Kristen Says:

    The Room is on my nook waiting to be read; sounds like a book I’m going to stay up late trying to get through and then desparately need to discuss w/someone else. I will email you as soon as I finish it!

    Neti pots terrify me, I’m pretty sure I would drown.

    I had a friend in college who also wore only dressy pants – he even refused to wear shorts in the summer. I totally think it was a well-thoughtout plan to make a somewhat nerdy, gawky kid appear a bit mysterious.

  3. Kelly Says:

    I hope you don’t take this the wrong way, but sometimes I think that the more random your posts, the more entertaining they are. That’s when your writing seems to really crack me up. Which I needed today. And whatnot. (DING!) On a more serious note, praise the lord on the sleep solutions! I am not surprised that sleep solves everything (well, almost everything). Thanks for the book recommendation – going to look it up now. Also, Max does appear to have a part, you just never see it with his bedhead and whatnot. (DOUBLE DING!)

  4. Lori Says:

    Joel (my friend’s Asian son) has hair that grows straight down. I don’t know if all Asian boys’ hair does this but that’s two so far… Laura doesn’t even try with a part.

    Jack told someone the other day “I heard it on F-baum!” This is the football talk show hosted by Paul Finebaum that we listen to all the time, but of course, this person had no clue that’s what he was talking about. Between that and his fascination with beer commercials and screaming “There’s Bud Light – there’s Coors Light – there’s Boston Lager” at every resturant, gas station, and grocery store we enter; I’m pretty sure we’re getting “Parents of the Year” this year!! 😀

  5. christine m tomberlin Says:

    RE the neti pot–can you imagine the blockage that was in there?! It was like draino finally pushing through! Thank God for the neti pot.
    I love Matthew’s hair. He has the BEST hair–thick, black, straight and without cowlicks. Get on your kneew and be thankful!
    I cant imagine you stayed long with a guy who said “whatnot” 20 times a day, lived with his mother and wore dress pants. IN-te-desting….
    (Aunt Chris)

  6. deb jacobs Says:

    LOL! what is a neti pot? i don’t remember! i roared over “all bangs all the time”! hahahahahaha. just love your posts, you are hilarious.

  7. Oh my. So much to say. Bear with me while I scroll up to reread, and back down to comment. Except that you won’t have to wait while I type b/c you’ll get it all in one chunk. But you know…
    Ok, first, isn’t it “knick-knack paddywack, give the dog a bone”? I haven’t heard the frog bit before!
    I *totally* know what you mean about the initial disappointment in the seizures. Like, beyond totally get it. Sometimes, it would just be nice to have a neat and tidy solution for all the issues…
    Neti pot: I use one nightly. Probably should more frequently. But DARN IT if I cannot, for the life of me, get the water to flow all the way through. It goes up my nose, hits a brick wall, and comes back down. Until two nights ago. It went through! But only on the right side. Not the left. Solution? Help!
    The part: both of our girls needed serious part training. We style it the same every day, with the help of barrettes. Which I’m guessing is not an option for the boys. But I wouldn’t say our girls had natural parts. We forged one of our own and trained it into place.
    Xmas gifts. I’m in the same place. Just completely oblivious to the passage of time lately. Hmm…
    Isaac and “the news?” Crack me up!!!
    Ok, I’m done. Thanks for provoking so many thoughts 🙂

  8. Yvonne Says:

    Gosh, I needed that laugh and smile. Thank you!

    And yeah, the netti pot. I tried with initial success but had the same issue as EF. I am looking for the squeegie bottle type, hoping that will solve the blockage problem because when it works, what a difference!

    And so glad sleep is improving!!!!

    and hair. I cut my boys hair short and layered on top. They don’t have a natural part either – it all grows from the crown of their head forward. Natalie has a part on the side, but only because I force it there due to a major cowlick on the other side… But I think presenting it to a think tank would be awesome 🙂

  9. Tiffany Says:

    Okay, you convinced me. I’m reading/buying that book to propose it to my next book club. I’ll let you know after I read it. And as far as natural part….Miles has uncharacteristically fine hair, but if I part it he looks like a member of the mafia.
    When we listen to NPR on Saturdays Miles gets a kick out of cheering when the “audience” claps. And fake laughs when he hears his dad chuckle. Pretty funny stuff.

  10. Joanna Says:

    Glad sleep is going well and seizures are over. We have 3 neti pots in this house that no one has ever used. Maybe we should give em a try.
    Now that you mention it, G does not have a part. I always instruct the hair lady to give him uneven bangs so it falls cute. You know like when you get layers.

  11. I am going to take your word and download the book onto my Kindle!! I have been wanting to do a book club for a long time, so if you do one, I’m in!

  12. Beth Says:

    Got the book for Christmas. Oh.My.Goodness. I am almost finished (if I could have held my eyes open past 1130pm last night I would be done), and it is only day 2 of reading it.


Leave a Reply

