Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Give A Little, Get A Little December 31, 2010

Filed under: adoption thoughts,giveaway — Elizabeth @ 5:39 PM

Today, I want to share with you a little bit about my friend, Tracy.  Tracy is the mother of 5, and her fifth child, Emi Faith, is waiting for her in Korea.  Emi is 3 years old and has significant special needs, but Tracy and her husband know that this is their daughter, and they are committed to bringing her home and getting her the help that she needs.  They are thrilled that after a very long journey, they will be able to bring her home in the next 4-6 weeks.

Those of you who have followed along with me for a while may remember how hard Jason and I worked and saved and toiled to bring Matthew home.  The fundraisers, the yard sales, oh my–I need a nap just remembering!  Tracy and her family have been walking that same road and they have almost reached the end.  With their travel dates looming, they have realized that Butch, Tracy’s husband, really needs to be at home to attend to their other children.  But considering Emi’s needs, Tracy really needs to have a companion with her on this trip.  And I can tell you from personal experience, Tracy needs someone there for moral support.  I don’t know how I would have lived through our trip without my husband or another close friend!  She has found a friend who can take the time to go, but they need to raise the money for the plane ticket.  Tickets to Korea cost about $1200, so this is a very real expense.

I know that things are tight just after the holidays.  I know that everybody has their own things going on.  But I have also been in Tracy’s shoes.  I have experienced the kindness of a stranger.  I know that people are inherently good, and want to help…..and I thought a giveaway might be a fun incentive.

So here’s the thing.  I am giving away 3 things….

A bracelet from 31 Bits

Jewelry from 31 Bits is made out of recycled paper by displaced women in Northern Uganda.  The jewelry is beautiful and helps women empower themselves…not to mention that it goes with everything.  What more could you ask for?

I am also giving away these two things that I picked up in Korea to give as gifts….but that I never got around to giving–a bookmark and a keyring:

I know I have a lot of avid readers out there, and I’m guessing that you all drive, so I am thinking these could come in handy for you…..I kept telling myself that I’m going to keep them for me, but here I am a year later still using old receipts as bookmarks and a CVS discount card as a keyring.

So, what do you need to do to be a part of this giveaway?

  • To get one entry, go to Tracy’s blog and find the Paypal button and donate.  I don’t care how much and neither does she.  Every little bit is a blessing.  Then come back here and tell me you did.
  • Advertise this giveaway on your blog or Facebook, or better yet, do your own giveaway.  This is all stuff I had around my house.  I was planning on wearing that bracelet for the first time today, but realized it could be put to better use.  Do you have something you could “re-gift”?  Tis the season after all!  Doing either of those earns you one entry.  Don’t forget to tell me.
  • Lastly, I know that there are other blogs doing giveaways.  If you already donated in order to enter a giveaway on another blog, that’s fine with me, just let me know here.  As long as you donated to Tracy, I will enter you here.

Got it?  Good.  The giveaway will run until Friday, January 7th!!

 

6 Responses to “Give A Little, Get A Little”

  1. Kala Says:

    I’m going to donate an I’ve posted on my blog about it. Wonderful post!

  2. parkfamily5 Says:

    Hi! Nice to meet you on the blogs! I donated and I’ve posted on my blog!

  3. christine m tomberlin Says:

    I made a small donation in thanksgiving that I dont have to work another garage sale!! Dont put me in the gift drawing–you have already given me special gifts from Korea…especially that cute little boy!

  4. Beth Says:

    I just donated….what a great way to start of the new year. 🙂

  5. Renee Phillips Says:

    Our family has donated to bring little Emi home. May God Bless you and your family as you travel to bring home your little angel !

    God Bless,
    The Phillips Family

  6. Christy Says:

    Donated, prayed, posted – hoping Emi is home soon!


Leave a Reply

