Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

This Year, I Will….. January 5, 2011

Filed under: goals — Elizabeth @ 11:25 AM

I don’t really like the idea of new year’s resolutions.  I don’t know why, but I always think of them as being for losing weight or quitting smoking–huge life decisions that require work every single day.  But I do like the fresh feel of a new year–it reminds me of starting a new year of school with fresh notebooks and supplies and new clothes, and the feeling that I could be whoever I wanted to be that year. That being said, I do have some things that I want to do this year.  Let’s call them goals, shall we?

  • Start back to my Saturday morning power yoga class.  Be extremely impressed and thankful for all that my body is capable of doing.
  • Finish Matthew’s lifebook.  I am totally ashamed that this is a goal and not something that is done.  I don’t really understand myself why I have procrastinated on this for so long–it’s not my style.  I just know that when I sit down to work on it, it feels very heavy and overwhelming.  Maybe I could dedicate 2 hours/week to it until it is completed.  That sounds manageable.
  • Read “Radical” by David Platt.
  • Become more spiritually radical in my daily life.  In the process, become more radical, in general.
  • Find different, healthy lunches for Matthew and me.  Isaac is the PB&J king, but Matthew likes a variety of foods.  My eating habits are suspect at best.  I have already found a great, easy soup recipe and a cold, sesame noodle recipe that will work well in Matthew’s lunchbox….and will inspire me to sit down and eat already.  Add to this finding some new dinner meals to add to our repertoire.
  • Use fancy words like “repertoire” in every day conversation and blog posts.
  • Find an awesome small group this January through our church and find a place within the church that I can serve.  Jason serves in the geek squad tech squad and I am ready to find my own place.
  • Less computer time during my kids’ waking hours.  Less Facebook time, period.  Whether that means I set a timer or whatnot…..:)
  • Continue to research a way to beat my migraines.  I get at least 3-5 every month, and so far preventative drugs aren’t helping, and the drugs to take FOR migraines only provide relief some of the time, and with side effects.  I just started an herbal regimen to see if that might provide relief.  All I know is that these headaches are a serious buzzkill….and they make ME a serious buzzkill, and I don’t have time for that, what with my goal to be radical this year (see above).
  • Take the kids to Disney World for the first time.  Follow that up with 3 days at the beach.  Okay, okay, I totally cheated here and included this just so I could check it off the list.  We leave in a few weeks for this awesome vacation!
  • Put at least as much effort into being Jason’s wife as I do into being the boys’ mommy.

That sounds about right.  Here’s to a new year!

 

7 Responses to “This Year, I Will…..”

  1. Kala Says:

    Wonderful list. Here’s to a new year!

  2. Yvonne Says:

    If it makes you feel any better, one of my 2011 goals is to finish Andrew’s lifebook…and he has been home for 4 years. So, I think the fact that you have this on your list is awesome. I also found this task very overwhelming but found the book “Before you were mine” by Susan TeBos and Carissa Woodwyk to be quite helpful, if you would like a resource.

    And in terms of migraines, have you considered acupuncture? A good friend of mine has had terrible migraines for years but has found significant relief from acupuncture.

    And yes – meals. And eating better lunches. And putting an equal amount of effort into being a wife as a mom. I’m with you there.

    Enjoy your fresh start!

  3. Kristen Says:

    I am with you on trying to give as much of myself to being a wife, sister, friend, etc. as I give being a mom.

    I send Yvonne’s suggestion of acupuncture – my friend had frequent migraines that were greatly dimished by acupuncture.

    Also, if it makes you feel better, I didn’t do my boys’ lifebooks until each had been home about a year. Honestly, I think waiting ended up making the books better b/c I could tailor each child’s book to fit his personality.

  4. Radical is on my reading list too! And, when are you going to be in Disney? We’ll be there in 23 days!

  5. deb jacobs Says:

    those sound radical! cheers to getting them all done! xx

  6. Grace Says:

    good list! i want to read radical, too! and if you find success with your recipes, will you share them? carson’s been home for 2 and a half weeks, and already we’re lacking some diversity in our meals!

  7. I love them all… but I *love* the last one, especially how you worded it. It’s so easy to forget our partners when we are mamas.
    As for the migraines, email me! I used to get them multiple times a month, and I’ve reduced that number to a couple times a year.


Leave a Reply

