Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday January 6, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 10:22 AM

….a day late.  Shhhh.

  • I am confused about people who “like” their own statuses on Facebook.  We get it.  If you didn’t like it, you wouldn’t have taken the time to type it out.
  • Isaac has this new thing where he says “do you know what would be the worst?” and then he replies with things like:  if the Christmas tree fell over, if I broke a plate, if I burped at church, if Santa didn’t come.  He tries to one-up himself every time and he will eventually get to asking, “but do you know what would be the VERY super-presto-worsterest???”.  This is where it usually turns to potty humor and he will say something like:  if there was poo poo on the car.  Today on the way to preschool, I decided to switch it up, so I asked him what would be the best.  These are some of the answers I heard:  when we play nicely, when we all listen to each other, and when the sun tickles me when I play outside.  Love that kid.
  • McRib is back, I hear.  I’ll be honest and tell you that this sandwich disturbs me greatly.
  • “My Strange Addiction” has not been nearly as satisfying as I had hoped.  I alternate between wanting to laugh (but feeling guilty), or cry, or dry heave (which I did a lot of last night while the woman ate Comet cleanser).  However, I had a perfect solution for the hair dryer lady–try a sound machine and an electric blanket!  In the end it is mostly just sad that these people have a void that they feel the need to fill with these things.  But Jason and I thought up some of our own strange addictions after watching.  Jason is strangely addicted to leaving dishes in the sink “to soak” and telling me at very inopportune times about items we need from the grocery store, but refusing to WRITE IT DOWN.  I am strangely addicted to leaving all cabinets in the laundry room open or ajar and wearing cuddly pajamas.
  • I am starting to think that Disney World may be a huge disappointment to the kids.  We have begun broaching the subject about going to visit Mickey Mouse, but both kids insist that he lives in the Clubhouse.  We showed them pictures of the castle, but they said they would rather go to the Clubhouse.  That, and the fact that Isaac swears you spell Mickey Mouse, M-I-C-K-E-Y M-O-U-N-Z.  I told you the kid cannot hear well.  I showed it to him written down and he told me it was wrong.  At least he has convictions.
  • Don’t forget about my giveaway.  I am picking the winner tomorrow.  Remember if you have posted about it OR donated to Tracy, you can enter.  It makes no difference if it was my blog post that encouraged you to do it or not.  But you have to comment to enter.  Thanks and good luck!
 

8 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Cori Says:

    Re: Mickey Mouse. He does live in a clubhouse….they can see it in Toon Town and walk through it! Minnie lives next door. (Because, as I was unaware, they are not married and apparently not cohabitating).

    We got Seth excited for Disney by watching A LOT of Youtube videos of various rides. It truly did seem to help as he seemed excited to see certain things. The downside is that he now insists on watching our trip videos every.single.day.

  2. deb jacobs Says:

    i was disappointed in strange addictions too. that girl with the orange tan-i just wanted to slap her. and i have to burst your bubble….my kids are 33 and 30, and they STILL do a LOT of potty humor=)

  3. Grace Says:

    oooohhh…i forgot about strange addictions! need to get on that. did they show the one where the woman eats toilet paper yet? crazy. i’m so excited for your disney trip! i am sure your boys will love it…last time i was there, i cried because it was so magical. um, i was 25.

  4. Oh my gosh! “When the sun tickles me when I play outside?” Seriously?!! Love.
    The FB thing totally cracked me up.
    And Disney will be sooooo awesome. Worry not, mama. They’ll love it. The clubhouse will be forgotten once they see the beauty of Disney. 🙂

  5. Dena Says:

    Agree on the McRib…

    And I *love* Issac’s insisted spelling of the big mouse. Very cute.

  6. Kristen Says:

    I completely agree w/Isaac poo in the car is the super-presto-worsterest.

    Okay, the McRib, D-I-G-U-S-T-I-N-G. even the commercials makes me feel ill.

    the boys will love disney. we actually did what Cori recommended to you and had the boys watch many youtube clips of different rides & parades and i really think it helped them know what to expect. you’re going to have an awesome time – it was hands down the best thing we’ve done with our kids so far and we can’t wait to go back.

  7. Lori Says:

    The thought of the McRib has always made me a little queasy…

  8. Jen Says:

    Girl, we don’t “like” our own statuses. This happens because the touchscreen on the iPhones are so small, and our fingers are too big 🙂 Sheesh!!


Leave a Reply

