Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday January 19, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 8:34 AM
  • Isaac to me:  “Mom, I can’t talk”.  I don’t think he saw the irony in this as I screamed in laughter.
  • I love sprinkling everyday conversation with movie quotes.  Here are 2 that Jason and I love.  If you guess the movies, you get a prize….not really, but I will be impressed with your cinematic prowess.  If we see a plastic grocery bag blowing around outside, we whisper solemnly to each other, “It’s the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen…….” OR if we get a package in the mail, we scream in anguish, “WHAT’S IN THE BOX?  WHAT’S IN THE BOOOOOOOOX????”.  I have found it is best to wait until the FedEx guy is gone to scream this.
  • Speaking of movies, have you ever seen Ladder 49?  Jason and I went to see it in the theater back when it came out.  I remember it being pretty good–I think someone died in the end though.  Either way, it was about firefighters, heroism, yada, yada, yada.  At the end of the movie, someone in the theater started doing the 80’s slow clap.  It got awkward.  Quick.  Would we join in?  Lots of people did, but we showed ourselves out while trying not to laugh.  From then on, if we ever see anything about Ladder 49, for instance–if it is in a discount bin at Wal Mart–one of us will slow clap until the other spots it.
  • Last Thursday, Jason was home with the boys while I was teaching.  The doorbell rang, but it was just a pizza delivery guy at the wrong house.  As Jason walked back inside, Isaac asked if I had come home.  Jason said no, and Isaac said, “well who rang the dingbell, then?”.
  • Do you ever find yourself saying something really silly to your kids and it turns into an everyday phrase at home?  Then you think, whoa, if they say this at school, their teachers must think we are all lunatics.  One day, Isaac was running around on the hardwoods and he slipped and fell.  To get him to stop crying, I looked down and told him I found the problem–he was wearing his butter socks and they were slippery.  So now I say that every time he falls and it makes him laugh.  The other day, he slid into the dining room and said, “WHOA–look like I got my butter socks on!”.  And then there’s Manger Ears.  I was cleaning out Isaac’s very yellow and icky ears around Christmas and told him he looked like he had been sleeping in a manger because his ears were so dirty.  The day the fire alarm was going off in the grocery store, he asked me if I heard it and I jokingly said no.  He grabbed my head and looked me in the eye and said, “You must got manger ears!”.
  • Matthew and Isaac slept in the bed together a few nights ago.  Right after we tucked them in, Matthew asked Isaac if he would tell him a story.  Isaac said, “Sure honey!  What kind of story do you want to hear?”.  We eavesdropped and I heard him telling the story of how we decided to adopt Matthew (a story my aunt tells Isaac a lot).  Later, my mom heard him saying, “Once upon a time, I was a baby and I slept in a crib….and a manger…..and that’s why I got manger ears.”
  • We were discussing Disney World with the boys and I told them there would be roller coasters there.  Isaac asked what else and I asked him what he wanted to do there.  He said he hoped there would be a big slide and pogo sticks.  I somehow think his expectations will be exceeded.
  • Saturday night, Matthew sang the blessing at dinner.  Isaac announced that he wanted to pray as well.  Here’s how it went:  Dear God, thank you for our food.  Thank you for our love.  Amen. I think he summed it up perfectly.
 

10 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Lori Says:

    Ben and I do movie quotes all the time too. Sadly, I do not know yours but I’m on a mission now to figure them out!! After Ben and I got engaged (in our own “it’s amazing that the two of us can walk upright sometimes” way – it was a little odd:), I told someone “Yep, we just Forrest Gumped our way thru the whole thing.” This is a movie quote and has become the motto for our marriage. Then, we had Jack and fortunately, he just fit right in with that theme:)

    I enjoyed these!

  2. Kelly Says:

    The slow clap. Butter socks. Manger ears. Sigh …. I love your WW’s!!!

  3. Kristen Says:

    Whatnot Wednesday – yay!

    “WHATS IN THE BOOOXXXX???” – why, its gwenny paltrow’s head!

    manger ears & butter socks, love it…makes your family sounds like a delightful bunch of lunatics 🙂

    brother bedtime stories and prayers melt my heart.

  4. Yvonne Says:

    great prayer Isaac! And yes, the things we say…thanks for another smile and laugh…

  5. Oh my goodness… the slow clap? Cracking me up. I think our husbands and we would get along *very* well. We’ve been known to (over)use Simpsons quotes and other ridiculousness.
    And the plastic bag is totally American Beauty.

  6. Grace Says:

    the first quote is american beauty, but what’s the second? i’m guessing from kristen’s response that it’s seven? you and jason are quite sophisticated. peter and i quote movies like zoolander (“hello? God??”) and finding nemo (“little duuuude…”) heehee.
    i want to start a slow clap one day. and one that’s not lame.

  7. Future Mama Says:

    LOVED your comment over on my blog. Also love this post 🙂

    Much love,
    Future Mama
    http://expectingablessing.blogspot.com/

  8. Christy Says:

    Elizabeth, are you psychic? Did you know that I absolutely NEEDED a good belly laugh today! This post just has me in stitches! Thanks!!! By the way Ella prays “Thank you God for food, friends, family and thank you for Lord, Amen” – we’re not entirely sure what she’s trying to say so we don’t correct her – I think maybe she’s thankful for Jesus? I think the word “Lord” confuses her though. 🙂 Just thought I’d share.

  9. Sue Says:

    keep posts like this up…and you just might find the krekelbergs on your doorstop ringing the dingbell to hang out yet this winter!!!

  10. deb jacobs Says:

    awesome=) and you know that we say “what’s in the boooooooooooooox” too! hahahahaha, and it never fails to crack us up=)


Leave a Reply

