Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday–Disney Edition January 26, 2011

Filed under: vacation,whatnot — Elizabeth @ 1:00 AM
  • At 11 PM, on our first night at Disney, we were walking back to our room.  I told the boys that we needed to get a lot of rest because the next day was going to be even busier.  Isaac said, “tomorrow will be even DISNEY-ER???”.  Well, technically, yes……
  • The last morning we were there, we had a wake up call because we had heard that sometimes it was a Disney character that would deliver the wake up call on the phone.  We had Isaac answer the phone and he had a long conversation with Mickey.  We heard him tell Mickey, “we are coming to see you!  We will be there!!!”.  After he got off the phone, I asked him what Mickey said to him.  He just sat down with a dreamy look on his face and said, he just said a lot of somethins’.
  • We stayed a the Port Orleans French Quarter, and there were lots of Mardi Gras decorations everywhere.  There was a huge jester over one of the entrances, and the boys asked over and over what he was.  We kept telling them he was a jester, but they couldn’t remember.  One morning, Isaac said, Look, it’s Justin!  And then Matthew said, No, it’s Ginger!
  • I enjoyed the magic of Disney just as much as the next guy, but I had one resounding thought the entire time we were there–SERIOUSLY, where is the Starbucks in this bad boy?? Of all the places a parent needs coffee, strong coffee, and not a drop of decent stuff to be found.  Not to mention that it was unseasonably cold while we were there–high of 58 and WINDY.  It was cruel, really.  I had to drink hot chocolate, which was good, but add that to the fact that we didn’t have internet the entire time we were at Disney and we have been without a DVR for 5 nights….well, we may as well have been vacationing in Amish country.
  • We paid $31 for a double stroller for one day.  Coming from the cheapest woman in America, I am telling you–best money ever spent.  Wait, I take that back–the character meals were the best money ever spent.  Double stroller was a close second.  If you look up “completely unaware of self and surroundings” in the dictionary….well, you won’t find it.  But if it WAS in the dictionary, you would see a picture of Matthew walking into a metal pole.  Just underneath that, you would see a picture of Isaac walking head first into a stranger’s crotch.  I am telling you that the most enjoyable times I spent at the park were when the kids were strapped into a ride or strapped into the stroller.  $31 is a bargain, my friends.
  • On the day we went to the Magic Kingdom, we had to go back to the hotel in the middle of the day to take a nap. When Isaac woke up, he cried and told me he wanted to go home. (We had been away a mere 24 hours) I asked him why he wanted to go home and he said, “because home is funner than here.” He also told me he had one sad heart and one happy heart.  When asked why one of his hearts was sad he said it was because of the hotel.  I am thinking if your kids prefer their home life to Disney World, we must be doing something right.  As fun as Disney was, I think home is funner too, and I am stoked to be headed back today.
 

12 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday–Disney Edition”

  1. deb jacobs Says:

    that is just too funny=)

  2. Kelly R Says:

    Totally cracks me up — even though our kids are 8, 7 (on Saturday), 4, and nearly 2 — we’re bringing 2 single strollers and 2 buggy boards. I’ve learned that they just can’t handle all the walking. I’ll be on the lookout for some good coffee!

  3. Joanna Says:

    Issac is hilarious! I want to add Disney-er to my vocab. Is there another Disney post coming? Hope so!

  4. Christy Says:

    I should make some of our days more Disney-er. But I don’t think my kids would say home is more funner than Disney World – what do you do at home?!? 😉

  5. Kelly Says:

    Oh boy, funny stuff! Love it. I, too, hope there’s more Disney random-ness to come!

  6. Kristen Says:

    seriously, how does disney not have starbucks!?! we are daily starbucks drinkers and suffered complete withdrawal while there last year. not a place i want to be w/o my coffee.

    I would’ve paid $1o0 a day for our double stroller, so worth it.

    I love the funny takes on words I & M have 🙂

    You need to share your secrets, b/c my house is definitely not as fun as disney!

  7. Lori Says:

    I am soooo thrilled that I read this!! No Starbucks?? I’m going to have to pack my espresso machine!!! We were going to stay at Port Orleans but got a deal on a different resort that I cannot remember the name of right now:) Your posts get me excited to go (and a little scared:).

  8. Yvonne Says:

    love it – a metal pole and crotch. yes – those would be my children too. and double strollers – awesome. and i haven’t even been to disney with the kids yet.

    enjoy your last moments there together and thanks for making me laugh – again!

  9. Grace Says:

    “tomorrow will be even DISNEY-ER???” — awesome. 😉
    i cannot wait to see pictures from all these adventures!

  10. Elizabeth Says:

    Oh, so many jems… Justin/Ginger, home is funner, my goodness. Can I just spend ONE day with your family? 🙂

  11. Sue Says:

    good times!!
    please do tell how to make a home funner than disney-er…my boys would love you forever.
    (58 degrees….that’s sweet tea weather for a girl like me!!)

  12. Dena Says:

    Ah, yeah – the coffee. I love Disney, but I’m with you on the coffee. I don’t know *what* the mouse is thinking on this one…

    Sounds like you guys have had a great trip though!


Leave a Reply

