Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday February 23, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 10:38 AM
  • Friday night, I thought I was gonna blow my kids’ minds.  Seriously, I was ready to be cool mom for once.  So I made the announcement–Mommy is making something special for dinner:  chocolate chip pancakes!!!!!!  Isaac responded by screaming excitedly, “CHOCOLATE CHIP PANCAKES?!?!?!” and then he said a bit more quietly and very concerned-like, “do they taste like zucchini pancakes?”.  (Yes, I have made zucchini pancakes–a Korean dish, and they are yummy, but not to Isaac).  I encouraged him excitedly, “no, they taste like chocolate!  They are like candy pancakes!!!”.  I totally felt like a meth dealer trying to convince my kid that he will love them…..just try them ONCE…..they are amazing.  He humored me with a very wan, “oh wow” and an encouraging smile and went on to play.  Since I actually wanted plain pancakes for myself, at dinnertime, I decided to take a poll–who wants chocolate chip pancakes and who wants plain?  Isaac immediately said plain and like a loyal little brother, Matthew said plain, too.  I think Jason really wanted chocolate chip, but then he felt too lame to be the only one eating them.  So, do you know that my big surprise along with my hopes and dreams of being a cool mom were ruined then and there?  Not to mention the fact that I would make a lousy meth dealer.
  • I’m just gonna put it out there:  I am dying to see the Justin Beiber movie.  I am not some crazy sicko with a crush on him.  Seriously, I’m not.  I save all my inappropriate, crazy mama lust for vampires and werewolves like a normal 33-year old.  As a mother, I am seriously intrigued at his genuine talent and drive, and I really want to see it.  Laugh all you want.  I’m going.  And I might even wear my “I like my boys cold, dead and sparkly pin” when I go.
  • Isaac doesn’t know what a gun is.  I don’t think he’s ever heard the word or seen one.  And while that may seem weird to some, I have to also think that wouldn’t it be a little weird if he had seen movies or TV shows with guns?  I mean, he’s 4, so we aren’t sitting around watching CSI with him.  This is how I know for sure he is clueless:  he has some of the plastic army men from Toy Story, and I have asked him on 2 occasions what the soldiers are holding in their hands.  The first time he told me a stick.  The second time he told me a vacuum cleaner.  You have to admit that cop shows would be a lot funnier if they were fighting it out with vacuum cleaners.  And a whole lot cleaner.  (Ba dum bum).
  • I just finished reading my first Korean novel.  I say “first” as if I have a slew of other Korean novels lined up to read, which is not the case.  This one was a fluke as it was on the new fiction wall at my library, and the cover caught my eye.It’s a North/South spy novel that takes place in Seoul.  Even though that’s not my favorite genre, I picked it up, and I loved it!!!  Not only was it cool to learn a little more about the politics of the North and South, but to read about the characters being in places I had been (COEX) was really cool.  My only issue was that I really had problems with remembering the characters names and who was who.  Since I am not so familiar with Korean names, I had no point of reference, and I couldn’t even remember what names were men and what were women.  I really should have made myself a chart, because I spent the first 30% of the book thinking, “Ki-yong?  Who is Ki-yong?”  Search…..look back a few pages.  “Oh duh, the main character”.  Stuff like that.  But it was really, really good, and I think I’m going to try to read another book by this dude (“I Have the Right to Destroy Myself”) if my library system has it.
  • Our neighbors on one side have never spoken to us.  They don’t even make eye contact when we are outside.  I don’t know what their issue is, but they have a dog.  A well-groomed, but dejected Corgi that roams around their yard.  When the boys see the dog, they both scream, “NINEY!!!  There’s Niney!”.  I have no idea what the dog’s actual name is (because the neighbors don’t speak to us), so I have no idea why they call the dog Niney.  Incidentally, when we first moved in, these neighbors propped up a sign in their yard facing our fence (chain link).  The sign stated that we should not feed their dog because the dog has a sensitive stomach and gets sick easily.  First of all, could you maybe come introduce yourselves and then throw that in during conversation?  Or mention this fact as you speak to us over the fence one day?  Or here’s a thought–why would we want to be feeding your strange dog through a fence?  Don’t we have better things to do??  They literally wrote a sign–ironically it was written on the back of an old street sign.  I was going to take a picture of it, but then it fell over (face down, unfortunately) and now it is almost completely covered in leaves.  What, you don’t believe me?  Okay, I just ran outside in my pajamas and bare feet and took this picture to prove it!!!Jason thought that we should put up a sign in our yard that simply said, “OKAY”.  But instead we have joined them in awkwardly avoiding eye contact when we’re both outside at the same time.  Cause, you know, that’s what neighbors do.
 

15 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Brandon Says:

    After you see the movie, no doubt you will want to do the follow-up Bible study: http://www.myflr.org/userfiles/NSN%20Discussion%20Guide.pdf

    🙂

  2. I like Jason’s idea for the counter-sign. What a bunch of weirdos! (them, not you).
    I LOVE that our girls don’t know what any weapons are, especially guns. I’d love to keep it that way, but the influences of schoolchildren…
    And dude, you can’t TELL them you’re giving them meth. You have to slip it in. Then they get addicted, and THEN you can push it more. Duh.

  3. Did I say meth? I meant chocolate. Yeah… chocolate… 😉

  4. Tiffany Says:

    Thanks for the book recommendation! We also have neighbors that don’t talk to us – don’t even come outside. My husbands calls them the vampires, but the vampires I know are much better looking. Come to think of it…I wouldn’t even recognize them if I saw them on the street.

  5. Kristen Says:

    I’m not concerned that you want to see the Justin Bieber movie, however, your “I like my boys cold, dead and sparkly” pin is another story.

    Our boys knowledge of guns is limited to the water-gun variety. As far as they know, no other types exist. We know a few families w/kids around my boys’ ages that do know about weapons and honestly, I think its weird and disturbing…which of course I mean in a completely non-judgemental kind of way 🙂

    It would’ve been hiliarious if you’d responded to your neighbor’s sign w/a sign!

  6. Grace Says:

    pssst…i want to see the beibs’ movie, too. can we meet halfway and go together??
    and seriously, i’m with kristen on the pin. hilarious, though! 😉
    i agree with jason on the sign. that would have been so awesome. i think your neighbors win the award for passive agressiveness. crazy!
    i love whatnot wednesdays…

  7. Meredith Says:

    I love Jason’s idea! And no offense but I am glad to know we are not the only ones with neighbors that will not make eye contact. We have lived there for 2.5 years and ours do not wave or smile and have every single blind clsed 24/7!

  8. Jenny Says:

    Have you ever considered becoming a stand up comedian, I promise you I NEVER laugh out loud, not sure why but even when something’s really funny I kind of laugh in my head, but you always make be bust out laughing.

    Ok, I am a little surprised about wanting to see the beiber movie BUT before I read the twilight books I thought those people were weird too, actually they are a little weird it’s just that I’m one of them now :). Do you really have a pin that says that…too funny!

    thanks for the book rec. and Yes you definitely should have put up a sign that said “OK” that is hilarious!

  9. Becky Says:

    I did laugh (out loud) about the Justin Beiber movie 🙂

    I was hoping unfriendly neighbors were something we would leave behind once we leave the Washington, DC area, but sadly it sounds like they are everywhere. I think you should have definitely put up a sign that said “OKAY” – too funny!

  10. Jen Says:

    No Justin Bieber movie! Girl, I am about to board a flight to AL to stage an intervention. No no no. That’s it- ’cause you’re freaking me out. Don’t ask why. Probably the same reason the song “Judy in Disguise” always gets me all edgy and freaked out!

    BTW Nicholas refused to even try choc chip pancakes, but Abby loves them, just like her mom. Niko probably thinks that choc chips are nutritious, so he stands firm in his belief and refuses them. Maybe I should tell him only dark choc has antioxidants- maybe that will assuage his fear, if he knows these are nutrient-free 🙂

  11. Renee Says:

    I can’t believe you want to see the JB movie! Hysterical!

    And count yourself lucky with the weapons thing. I think Evan was about Isaac’s age when he discovered them. I’m not real sure where – maybe an older friend. I fought it for a loooong time (and still fight it every minute of every day), but to no avail. Everyone says it’s a boy thing and I should just get used to it. Not gonna happen. I hope you’re luckier than I have been!

  12. christine m tomberlin Says:

    vacuum cleaners!? Hysterical

  13. Joanna Says:

    That stinks about the neighbors. Unfortunately, neighbor descriptions are not in the MLS listing.
    I may need to check out that book!

  14. EDtWH,

    If you liked “Republic” you probably will like “I Have the Right to Destroy Myself” although that is a bit more self-conciously modern and continental. Kim also has a lot of short stories available in various spots online.

    I quoted and linked your Kim review on my own website about Korean Literature, KTLIT and also dropped a note on Kim’s Facebook page.

    If you’re interested in Korean lit at all, I suggest you check out the new collection of short stories, “Waxen Wings,” which is quite good.

  15. Melinda Says:

    Otis has a few figurines with guns (that someone gave him) and I told him it was a bubble machine. Not sure how long that will last but really children don’t need to know about guns.


Leave a Reply

