Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Two-fers! March 3, 2011

Filed under: everyday life,goals — Elizabeth @ 10:57 AM

One of my goals for the year was to find some new healthy, yummy dinners AND some good lunches for Matthew and me (Isaac is perfectly content to continue on his PB&J loop indefinitely).  This week, we had 2 easy and yummy dinners that also translated into healthy lunches for the next day.  This is absolutely not a food blog and these recipes certainly aren’t gourmet revelations….but I know moms like quick, easy, and healthy, so here goes.

The first night’s dinner started that morning when I plopped 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the crock pot with just a bit of water.  Use about a pound of chicken breasts–that could be 3, could be 5, just depends on how well-endowed your chicken was.

Anyway, cook the chicken on low until it is super tender and easy to shred.  You should end up with about 3 cups of shredded chicken.  Here’s what you do.  Get a reusable storage container fill it with:

1.5 cups of chicken stock

1 cup of cooked, shredded chicken

1/2 cup of jarred salsa verde (I like Ortega brand)

Seal the container up and pop it in the refrigerator for lunch tomorrow.  Serve with tortilla chips and cheese on top.  Holla!

Okay back to dinner.  We’re having quesadillas by the way.  Using olive oil, lightly toast some tortillas in a skillet.  Mix 1 cup of shredded, cooked chicken with 1/4 cup of salsa verde.  Spread it on a tortilla, top with green onions and monterey jack cheese, and slap another tortilla on top.  Holla x 2!

I also made one quesadilla for Uncle Knit Knots Isaac with just chicken and cheese.  Bland Holla!

So there was one super easy and yummy dinner that led to a great, hot lunch the next day.  (We invested in a sweet Thermos for Matthew so that he can enjoy a delicious, hot lunch even when he’s at school.  It has been awesome because he has been able to chow down on spaghetti and meatballs, soup, and bibimbap, while all the other suckers in his class eat sandwiches and Lunch@bles.).

The next night’s dinner was equally painless.  I went for an Asian theme and served mandu (not homemade this time–I purchased them frozen, and technically they were gyoza, because I had both Matthew and Isaac with me in the Korean/Japanese grocery store and right when I had had enough with their obnoxiousness, I was closer to the frozen gyoza than the mandu, so that’s what I grabbed.  They are similar, if not exactly the same.  Equally delicious.), a bagged Asian salad, and these cold noodles by Rachel Ray–we call them peanut butter noodles and we all love them….even Isaac can choke down a few bites.  Oh, and since we had a case of clementines, I threw some on each plate.  I mean who doesn’t like clementines?

If you don’t like clementines, shut up.  It was a rhetorical question.  Oh, and you’re crazy.

I was going to upload a picture of this dinner, but wordpress is acting weird, and let’s face it, we know this isn’t a foodie/cooking blog, and neither is it a photography blog.  Use your imagination:  gyoza, noodles, clementines on a white plate.  Salad in a white bowl.  Stunning, right?

The best part is that there were plenty of noodles left that Matthew could take to school tomorrow in his trusty Thermos.

So there you go, nothing ground breaking there, but maybe a few dinner ideas that might make your life (and lunch the next day) a little bit easier.

 

4 Responses to “Two-fers!”

  1. Grace Says:

    those quesadillas sound awesome! SO trying this. yum-o!
    and cracking up at the bland holla…that boy does not know what he’s missing! but it just means more for momma, right? 😉

  2. “Uncle Knit Knots”? Giiiiiirl! Where DO you come up with this stuff?!
    I have to admit I skimmed over the chicken portion of today’s posts. Crazy carnivores…
    But I do have to admit I’m lovin’ your zest for simplicity. We’re in LOVE with our crock pot, the epitome of ease.

  3. Christy Says:

    Isn’t it nice to have one good eater? While Ben enjoyed his PBJ (again) for lunch, Ella and I had bruchetta!

    These ideas were great! Thanks so much for sharing!

  4. claudia Says:

    hey, that looks really yummy! Round here, when they eat PBJ it counts as a big success. I gave them nachos and they cried. And then I pretty much cried because seriously, children, nachos?

    But this sounds delicious – I’m tempted to try it on mine.


Leave a Reply

