Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday March 30, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 2:46 PM
  • Remember our weird neighbors?  And the sign they put out for us?  How could you forget?  Well, it got flipped back over and Jason took a picture.I told you they were freaks!  Of course, they probably have pictures of us up on their blog saying we are freaks too.  But we all know who’s right, don’t we?  Don’t we??
  • I started a new book last night called A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.  It is by Donald Miller.  Although I normally stick to fiction, I am loving this book–the writing is superb and funny and witty and I found myself chuckling aloud a few times.  The book begins when movie producers approach the author about making a movie of his life, and how this spurred a lot of reflection and a desire to make his life a story worth telling.  Here is a quote from the author’s note:
“If you watched a movie about a guy who wanted a Volvo and worked for years to get it, you wouldn’t cry at the end when he drove off the lot, testing the windshield wipers.  You wouldn’t tell your friends you saw a beautiful movie or go home and put a record on to think about the story you’d seen.  The truth is, you wouldn’t remember that movie a week later, except you’d feel robbed and want your money back.  Nobody cries at the end of a movie about a guy who wants a Volvo.  But we spend years actually living these stories and expect our lives to be meaningful….”

So here I am, only 32 pages in, but recommending this book to you.  So far, both as someone who loves to tell my story and who yearns to have a meaningful one, I am enjoying this book immensely.

  • Isaac has been skipping his nap more and more.  Some days it’s not a real problem, other than the fact that it makes for a really long day for me (and isn’t it all about me???).  But some days, he is at the end of his rope by dinnertime.  One night, he was eating a clementine with his dinner and he asked me to sing the Clementine song.  You know the one–oh my darlin’, oh my darlin’, oh my darlin’ Clementine.  I sang it once and then he asked me to sing it again.  Halfway through the second time, he was SOBBING, saying why was the clementine lost and gone forever????  Where did it go???
  • Is it just me, or does the pertussis vaccine commercial induce panic attacks in all mothers?  I mean, I think that’s kind of the point (to scare you enough to GET the vaccine), but my sensitive nervous system can’t really handle the sound of an infant struggling to breathe.  The worst is when I have the TV on while the boys are napping and that commercial comes on and suddenly I am running upstairs in terror to see which of my children is hyperventrilicating.
  • For 3 points, name the movie that spawned the word “hyperventrilicating”.
  • Quote from Isaac:  “Superman is a superhero and so is God”.  I asked him where he heard that.  His response?  “I didn’t heared it.  I just knowed it”.  Don’t you just love a man with convictions?
 

16 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Abby Says:

    You know I always know the answers to your questions, but I don’t want to ruin the fun for everyone else, so I will keep my mouth shut.

  2. Kristen Says:

    Clearly, its obvious to all of us who the freaks are..

    Andy gave up naps in October and Aidan only naps about 25% of the time now. Somehow the lack of a 1.5 hr nap makes the day about 4 hours longer – at least in our house. I wish I could say the worst that ever comes of it is sobbing over poor lost clementine.

  3. claudia Says:

    That book is AWESOME! Loved it SO MUCH! One of my favourite ever. Read it, then turned around and read it straight through again. So many great lines. So many wise insights.

    Have I mentioned that I LOVE THAT BOOK? Enjoy!!!

  4. Isaac, I’m sorry, but you gave me a belly laugh over the clementine dilemma. (And I totally misspelled “dilemma” the first time I typed it. Thank goodness for spell check.)
    I have to say that I don’t have a lot of pity on the no napping… Olive has been off naps since about 2 years old. Boooo…

  5. Jenny Says:

    that quote from Isaac made me pee my pants, but I’ll take it I needed the laugh…

    thanks for the book rec.

    I finally mailed your pictures, sorry it took me so long, I got busy 🙂

    I get so excited about whatnot wed., no pressure 🙂

  6. Beth Says:

    Wasn’t it Goonies?
    (yes, I remember crap like that, but can’t find m car keys…)

  7. deb jacobs Says:

    i just love the wording, “knowed it”. my favorite quote from my nephew when he was little when we were at a restaurant we hadn’t been to in a long time” i haven’t goed here since years ago!”

  8. Beth W. Says:

    Yep, it would be from Goonies….one of my favorite movies as a kid. 🙂
    I think we all look forward to Whatnot Wednesday. It helps us make it thru the end of the week.

  9. Shilpa Says:

    Elizabeth, As much as I agree with you philosophically about the meaning of life, I’ve always, ALWAYS wanted a red Volvo station wagon, so I might be moved to tears by that hypothetical person who gets it.:-)

  10. Shilpa Says:

    P.S. My public health message: Get your kids vaccinated. It’s NOT linked to autism but it is linked to acquiring an invasive disease that will hurt you or those you love. And…I’m off the soapbox, whew.

  11. Sue Says:

    oh, isaac…you crack me up!
    and…thank you for the book recommendation. sounds like just the kind of book i need to read right now.

  12. Lori Says:

    I’m hooked on the book and I’ve only read the part you posted. By the way, I stole your Whatnot Wednesday idea on my blog today – just for the one time. I referenced you in the post – hope that’s okay??

  13. Tonggu Momma Says:

    I love Donald Miller’s book “Blue Like Jazz.” I’ll have to check out this latest one.

    And Isaac, oh, Isaac. So precious. (I remember once the Tongginator’s preschool teachers had to call me to come early because the Tongginator couldn’t handle the song Little Bunny Foo Foo. To quote her, “He just didn’t stop hitting.”) Heh.

  14. Grace Says:

    i wish you had gotten isaac’s histrionics over the clementine on video. i would have paid money to see it. 😉
    i am cracking up over your crazy neighbors!
    and, i loved don miller’s book. good stuff.

  15. Kala Says:

    People are just wierd. But then I have to think maybe I’m wierd but in a nic way, right?

  16. Jen Says:

    Girl, I love you, I really, truly do. But I have to be honest, and tell you that I am frightened that you know the words to”My Darling Clementine”. I really am scared- just a little bit….


Leave a Reply

