Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

I’m a Blogger April 1, 2011

Filed under: everyday life,friends,Jason — Elizabeth @ 3:52 PM

having an important phone conversation without your children behaving like screaming barnacles……

Charlie Sheen acting like a respectable human……

laughing, sneezing, running or coughing without an “accident”…….

being treated with respect at the DMV or Social Security administration…….

Jason and Elizabeth hanging out with friends…….

I know this one!  I know this one!!  Things that don’t happen often enough!

(ding, ding, ding–cue confetti!)

Let’s face it–once you have kids, finding time to hang out with friends as a couple (minus kids) is hard!!!!  On the rare chances when you are lucky enough to have a sitter, you kind of want to do a date night.  The days of just having other adults over for a relaxing, fun evening are so over, and that is hard.  But last weekend, we defied all odds and got the chance to do just that.

Our friends, Rusty and John, were in town and stayed at our house for a night.  You have to love it when your childless friends will sit down and eat dinner with your family, and wait patiently for the actual fun to begin as you go about the kids’ bedtime routine.  Even better is when they help with the routine–and Isaac specifically chose John to read him his bedtime books.

Once we got the kids settled, we headed outside to the fire pit and made some s’mores.  (Spell check is really wanting to make that sycamores, which for some reason is amusing me right now.  Probably just your normal mom-delirium.).  Never mind that the tornado sirens were going off like crazy–and if we HADN’T known that bad weather was in the area, never fear, because John’s mom was texting him from New Jersey where she was keeping an eye on the weather for all of us.  We really were lucky because the storms stayed north of us and it didn’t even rain until we came inside for the night.

At one point, I jumped up to get the camera (or did I order Jason to do that?  Who can really remember?  It’s all a blur.) citing that I was a blogger, and must document these moments.  It became the running joke of the evening, which to me is a marker of how fun an event really is.  Remember the ham jokes of Thanksgiving 2010?  The jokes alone indicate it was a successful holiday.

So since I am a blogger, and I did document the moments, I shall now share my photographs.  Because I blog.  Therefore I am.

So there you have it.  An evening with friends (and a dog who was terrified of the tornado siren).  As for Rusty and John, you will now live in infamy because you have been featured on my amazingly popular blog.  Oh wait, I didn’t tell you?

I’m a blogger!!!!

 

 

7 Responses to “I’m a Blogger”

  1. Lori Says:

    Nights with friends to just relax and have fun and joke… I think I remember those??? How lucky are you that your childless friends didn’t mind hanging with your kids??? WOW!! I always try to get a babysitter for my childless friends nights b/c I always feel very uncomfortable if Jack asks too much of those adults, but your friends seemed to jump right in the fun! Looks like a great time!

  2. Christy Says:

    How fun! Tornado sirens and all! 🙂 It is really nice to get together with other adult friends and spend time together child-free!!! A couple of times we’ve had our neighbors over, unfortunately we haven’t done it enough….I think you may have inspired me to put forth a bit more effort again! 🙂 Thanks! BTW – you’re a great blogger! 🙂

  3. Aunt JoAnn Says:

    Uncle Rich and I had our kids in the 80s, and we behaved as if we were flush, I must admit. It was the 80s after all. Reagan reigned, although we were not fans, we caught the fever, felt encouraged to use credit cards, to support the economy, if nothing else. Believe me it was a different time. Not just big hair and big shoulderpads, but devil may care, spend it now. So being two children of working poor middle class parents, we were neauvo rich young professional parents, and had ourselves a good time. Every Friday, we took the day off, we went to lunch and a hot tub, a visit to the greenhouse at Smith College and a bit of shopping, then cappucinos…and home to the kids. Eventually we had to give it up, our credit cards got shredded, time marched on and into the 90s we reluctantly but with sober relief gave it up and found voluntary simplicity. And yet the 80s parenting concept is still good at its core and does not have to cost a lot:get away, be adults, play, talk, eat good food, laugh, have some wine, and remember who you are. And the kids love a good baby-sitter! Then you all come back happy to see each other again!

  4. Elizabeth Says:

    So, so fun. And s’mores? I’m totally drooling over here.

  5. Jen Says:

    LOL! Love Sebby and the siren pic 🙂 Thankfully, Disney did not care that the sirens were going off. If you had a chance to go spend money in one of their gift shops, did they really care if you made it back or not??

  6. Jen Says:

    Oh, and what is a screaming barnacle???? We don’t have those up here….

  7. Grace Says:

    i’m so jealous your weather is warm enough to already have nights outside sans jacket…
    and i think your dog and my dog could be good friends. and by that i mean, i think your dog and my dog could be in group therapy together.


Leave a Reply

