Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

I’m Just Saying…… April 8, 2011

Filed under: friends,mommy brain,Uncategorized — Elizabeth @ 11:25 PM

I set out with a goal today to call a few friends.  I was turning over a new phone leaf.  My first call was to my friend, MK.  She answered the phone with a loud guffaw because she had just finished reading my last post.  The irony was too much for her, I guess.  I told her not to be too impressed, that I was making the dreaded car call anyway.  Being a good friend, she was okay with that.  And I even made it a point to end the call naturally and not abruptly blurt out, well here I am at carpool, GOTTA GO!

I felt very fancy and good-friend-like.

Then when I got the boys home, I told them they could watch Word World while I made their lunch.  I decided to call my friend, Rusty, because his dad has been sick and I wanted to check on him.  It went swimmingly.

How personal and caring that was.  Much better than an email.

At this point, I was beginning to get a big head (my sister, Abby, has stopped reading right here and is scrolling down to leave a big head joke in the comments, just so you know).  I started to think that I might have broken the curse of the phone.

I was so naive.

As I was making dinner tonight, my cell phone rang, and it was my oldest sister.  Incidentally, she was car-calling me, but I let it slide :).  The boys were watching Word World again (shut up, it’s educational).  They were fairly occupied, and I was making pancakes and bacon–not exactly rocket science.  I figured that I could take some time to catch up with her.

We had a good 7 or 8 minutes of conversation before the boys started arguing.  Matthew was “touching” Isaac.  Meaning that Matthew was intentionally trying to bug Isaac by rubbing his feet all over him.  Since this was a theme that had been ongoing throughout the day, I told him that he needed to watch the TV show on the floor because he was being bothersome.  So Isaac was screaming because he hadn’t had a nap, likes the sounds of his own screams had been terribly wronged and Matthew was screaming because he had been relegated to the floor.

I decided to push through it and keep talking.  After all, my sister and I just don’t get to talk that often.

While both boys were still screaming, the home phone began to ring.

I summoned my nerves of steel and valiantly kept the conversation going.

Then, I kid you not, while the kids are still screaming, the home phone has gone to the answering machine and now my husband is leaving a never ending message and his voice is echoing through the house.  Then, like the perfect icing on top, the smoke alarm started going off.

Do you see?  Do you see what I am saying here?

I give up.

 

5 Responses to “I’m Just Saying……”

  1. Christy Says:

    Oh wow! Nice try. So sorry! And with the Sear’s guy on top of it – too much! Glad you had a couple of good calls, hopefully you can remember those next time and try again. But no judgement here – email is just plain easier!

  2. christine m tomberlin Says:

    HA–very funny. You just overdid it. No more than 2 calls per day. Pace yourself…breathe deeply. And never take a call during “the childrens’ hour” (somewhere in the early evening when the crazies peak).

  3. Phones. Are. Stupid.
    Period.
    Haven’t you learned by now? 😉

  4. Grace Says:

    goodness gracious! i’d give up to.
    just text. texting is your friend. 🙂

  5. Jen Says:

    LOL!! Thanks for cracking me up- I have the whole visual of the answering machine with Jason rambling on while you are becoming more and more frazzled! Hope Rusty’s dad is better soon. XOXOXO


Leave a Reply

