Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday April 20, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 12:04 AM
  • The boys and I are leaving for the beach today for a family reunion.  Simmer down, burglars–my husband and my attack dog (and attack cat, for that matter) will all still be home.  Do you want to know how nerdy I am?  I wrote 2 blog entries and scheduled them to post while I’m on vacation.  I know, I know, you thought you were going to get a break from me.  No such luck, my pretties.  You can’t escape my ramblings!!
  • We started the gluten-free diet with Isaac today–the day before vacation!!!  You might say I am a gluten for punishment!  At least that’s what my sister said.
  • Last week, my friend Jenny shared some pictures of her beautiful garden.  She is growing delicious fruits, vegetables and herbs for her family to enjoy.  She inspired me to post a picture of my garden!!!  It’s a work in progress.

  • Isaac got this new patch at karate class.  (Why aren’t these things iron on??  Like I have time to be stapling patches on every week!).  Please enjoy the irony…..

can you see it?  Made in China.

  • Speaking of karate, Isaac is loving it.  He told me that when he grows up, he wants to be a sensei and a daddy.  And he doesn’t call the senseis by their names.  He calls them “The Sensei Who Asks Me if I Left My Yes Sir at Home” and “The One with the Beard”.
  • In other karate news, as a spectator, I have learned a valuable lesson.  Kids raise their hand and want desperately to answer questions even when they have no clue as to what the answer is.  Evidenced in last weeks class, the sensei asked who could tell the class the secret to a good stretch.  Because I pay attention, I know the answer is “keep your legs straight and point your toes to outer space”.  Isaac raised his hand and then got called on and had to admit he did not know the answer (clearly because his legs were bent and his toes were pointed at the wall).  Later the sensei asked who could tell him what country this flag was from:  Again, Isaac raised his hand.  I was cursing that the question wasn’t to identify Korea’s flag, because Isaac knows that one.  Again he was called on.  This time, at least he had an answer:  The Red Circle Country. Other guesses from the class were Canada and Africa, but I think Isaac was the closest.
  • The ants are back.  This week, they bombarded the boys’ bathroom.  They scoffed at my bay leaves this time.  I think they even flipped me a tiny little bird as they defiled the Dora the Explorer toothpaste dispenser.
  • I bought some of that Jergens lotion that is supposed to make you “glow”.  It has the added bonus of supposedly firming your skin.  With summer coming up, these legs of mine need some help.  I put some on this morning after my shower and the bottle said that I had to wait 10 minutes before putting on any clothes.  So now I have to work 10 minutes worth of nudity into my morning schedule?  Like I have time for this!  I better have some firm, tan legs at the end of this bottle, and that is no small order.
  • Now that Isaac knows the days of the weeks, he has asked to learn the months.  I decided we would try to learn 3 on the first day:  January, February and March.  When he recites them, he calls them:  January, Monthuary, and March.  I love it almost as much as when he thought one of the days of the week was Foursday.
  • Isaac was looking at a dollar bill the other day.  Out of the blue, he looked up at Jason and, pointing to the picture of George Washington, asked, “Is this a picture of you when you were young?”.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.

 

14 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. deb jacobs Says:

    isaac comes out with the funniest things i’ve ever heard!!!! xxxx

  2. Tiffany Says:

    I also find 10 minutes of nudity incredibly inconvenient.

  3. tina Says:

    that’s my kind of gardening! i bought a basil plant a few weeks ago, and i faithfully used all of the leaves, and then my hubby threw it out. bye bye, garden!

    have fun on vacation!!!

  4. Cindi Says:

    Love you “garden!” Looks better than mine…at least its green! I’d take a pic of mine, but my son lost our camera :/

  5. Beth Says:

    Be careful with that “glow” lotion. I used it once and actually got some good color out of it. UNTIL I STOPPED USING IT. Then it all came off all wierd and in patches….I looked like I had some sort of disease. Some parts were white, others were tan. ha!! 🙂

  6. yikes, monthuary sounds like when you have your period for an entire month! I bought that lotion too but I never got the glow. Now I know it’s because you probably do have to go the entire 10 minutes. I thought just getting my underwear on and weighing myself took a full ten minutes.

  7. Ahh… monthuary. My least favorite of all the winter months.
    I definitely want an update on the effectiveness of this firming lotion. Not so much a nudity update, but otherwise an update.
    HA! Gluten for punishment. Awesome.

  8. Lori Says:

    I’m really impressed with your posting on vacation!! I don’t know if I’m going to get around to WW or not today but it has been a nice break from work to read everyone else’s!

  9. Yvonne Says:

    oh my goodness – LOVE that last one. That’s awesome!

    And you gotta start a change in diet sometime – hope it goes well on vacation…and if not, each day is a new day, right?

  10. Karen Says:

    Ants!! Me too – except they’re in my bedroom – laundry has been the order of the day – sheets, pillows, bedspreads, everything – now if I can just get rid of the bug spray smell…

  11. Jenny Says:

    Oh your garden is, well, lovely, I mean beauty is in the eye of the beholder, right?

    I have used the tanning lotion (I don’t think it made any firming claims back then) and if you use it regularly it really works! But do work in the nudity, otherwise it gets on your clothes.

    Your life is truly too cute 🙂

  12. Grace Says:

    10 minutes of nudity!!! jeepers, i barely have enough time to let the deodorant dry before putting on my shirt! i was going to by some of that natural glow stuff, but now? forget it!
    oh, and the patch? hilarious! reminds me of when the hubs came back from africa with some african sheet/skirt things, only to find out they were made in the good ol’ U.S. of A. 😉

  13. Kelly Says:

    Dude, I think Isaac gives you enough material to do Whatnot Wednesdays forever and ever. I just LOVE the things he says and I hope he never changes!

    PS – Your garden is so amazingly lush. I hope someone’s taking good care of it while you’re on vacay.

  14. You have a gift with words!! I so thankful I found your blog, because your words truly entertain me – and I truly need that sometimes! I just LOVE the things that come out of your precious boy’s mouth. Like seriously – the Red Circle Country?! Awesome! Hope you are having fun at your family reunion!


Leave a Reply

