Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday April 26, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 11:42 PM

EveryDaytheWonderfulHappens

  • Jason didn’t come to the beach with us, and we returned home on Easter, so I asked him to hide some eggs for the boys and prepare their Easter baskets.  After the boys went through the baskets, Jason told them there were eggs out in the yard with goodies inside.  I was pretty impressed, but what I didn’t know is that he had decided to hide the resurrection eggs my mom had given us.  If you’re not familiar with resurrection eggs, they are a tool to use when explaining the Easter story to your children.  I hadn’t actually done it with the kids because it still seems a bit graphic to me (they know the story, but not the down and dirty details).  Anyway, Isaac found an egg and opened it and it was a donkey and I think cool, Jason got them a bunch of little animals to play with.  Then the next one is a spear….then a shroud……then a rock.  The kids were perplexed and I will forever question Jason’s use of the word “goodies”.
  • In keeping with the theme “When Daddy is in Charge of Easter”, this is the card that Jason got me.

Hands off, ladies.  That’s MY boo.

  • One of the relatives my boys got to know at our reunion was my Aunt Joann.  Isaac initially called her Aunt July (in total seriousness), but then excitedly told Jason on the phone:  we have ANOTHER Aunt Chris!  And her name is Aunt Joann!
  • When Matthew is being finicky about snacks, I will list for him the  snack options.  Sometimes he tells me (about foods that he likes), No, don’t want it.  Too tasty.  I wonder if he knows what he is saying makes no sense.  He may as well say that’s simply too delicious, and I can’t stand the idea of it.
  • On our first morning of vacation, the kids were up at 5:20.  AM.  The one bright side to that was that when a Percy train “drove off” off the 7th! Floor! balcony at 6:50 AM, there weren’t many people awake or walking around below.  Of course, they all woke up when Isaac screamed “PERCY!!!!!!  PERCY, ARE YOU OKAY??”.  Later on, in the elevator, I realized that Isaac was lucky not to be carted off to juvie, having committed a felony AND ignored a noise ordinance, all within 12 hours of arriving at the condo….
  • The upside to Jason not coming on this trip with us is that after  mornings at the beach when I was sandy, sticky, (and let’s face it) a little stinky, I would crawl in our king size bed and take a nap on the opposite side than where I was sleeping at night.  It was very efficient to have a  dirty side and a clean side to match my cleanliness (or lack thereof) level.
  • When I bought the groceries for our vacation, I was so caught up in the gluten-free frenzy and trying to make sure that Isaac would have plenty of choices and fun things to eat, I literally only bought myself 4 things :  coffee, almond bear claws, Mike’s Hard Mango Punch (I know I’m a dork!!!) and prunes (I know I’m old!!!).  And the nearest grocery store was 20 miles away.  Vacation food fail.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.

a target=”_blank” href=”http://www.blenza.com/linkies/links.php?owner=thewonderfulhappens&postid=27Apr2011″>

 

11 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Beth Says:

    Mike’s Hard Mango Punch? I have a feeling that if my grocery store carried that it would somehow find it’s way into my cart.

  2. Aunt JoAnn Says:

    You never told me you were hiding Mike’s Hard Mango in with the gluten free groceries! But what a good idea! Glad to see the entry about the train derailment into the pool made it, and the threat of imprisonment you dodged. I loved seeing you all on that trip, and I hope you took indoor photos as I am certain the boys when older will want to recall their first Saprano’s Penthouse junket with dear old mom.
    Wall to wall mirrors, chrome and glass furniture, leather sofas, granite counters…..the disco ball and piped in 70s music..ok just joking..and escaping imprisonment. A Reality Show in the making.
    Aunt July

  3. tina Says:

    Whew! Thank goodness the authorities didn’t find Isaac! You have a little fugitive on your hands! 🙂

    I tried linking to your Mr. Linky, but it’s not working. Here’s my post of the day!: http://therosbowl.blogspot.com/2011/04/whatnot-wednesday.html

  4. Christy Says:

    I can just imagine hearing “Percy, percy, are you OK?!?” The posted rules made me laugh. Pretty sure quiet time is only so enforceable with kids. Crying babies aren’t exactly going to stop crying in the middle of the night b/c of quiet hours either. Oh well! 😉
    Poor Jason – I can imagine how perplexed the kids would be to open the resurrection eggs expecting “goodies”.
    I couldn’t get the Mr. Linky to work either, so here’s the link to my post:
    http://threelittlemonkeysjumping.blogspot.com/2011/04/whatnont-wednesday.html

  5. Yvonne Says:

    I love the calling to Percy to make sure he is okay. very sweet and caring of Isaac!

    And I posted too – http://koreanamericanfamily.blogspot.com/2011/04/whatnot-wednesday_27.html

    Happy Wednesday!

  6. Grace Says:

    i am cracking up at jason’s card choice! i have a feeling he and my hubs would get along well 🙂
    and, your use of the bed TOTALLY makes sense. genius!
    here’s my post: http://chois-r-us.blogspot.com/2011/04/whatnot-wednesday_27.html

  7. Lori Says:

    I am totally jealous of your Easter card, but I am NOT jealous of the fact that he hid the resurrection eggs!! Those are like the Christmas decorations husbands and sons are not allowed to touch! Ben KNOWS not to touch the resurrection eggs… I’m very serious about those:) Frankly, I would have starved on your vacation. It would have been me and Mike’s Hard Lemonade. I would’ve been hungry but probably happy!

  8. Emily Says:

    I am glad I am not alone in feeling like Resurrection Eggs are a little graphic. This is the first year I used them and I didn’t bother to read the story before I was in front of a group of very young kids and I felt a little awkward. But maybe next year I will be more prepared. 🙂

  9. stephanie Says:

    Love the card, definitely a keeper:)

    Here’s the WNW post-http://countingseeds-cline.blogspot.com/

  10. Elizabeth Says:

    Wow, prunes and mango punch… you’re a party animal. 😉
    I like this whole dirty side, clean side of the bed thing…
    And that card? Words cannot express my appreciation. Thank you, Jason, from all of us.


Leave a Reply

