Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

What You Can Do May 2, 2011

Filed under: faith — Elizabeth @ 3:23 PM

One question I have heard from out of state friends who are watching the aftermath of the tornadoes on the news is: What does Alabama need? What can we do?

In a previous blog post, I listed a number of organizations that can be donated to, but maybe you would like to do something a little more personal. It’s always a bit more satisfying to know EXACTLY what your money is being used for and who it is going to help.

Today, I got a phone call from a close friend.  A co-worker of hers has recently (as of a few days ago) gained custody of her two grandsons.  Noah (age 5) and Caleb (age 3) have had kind of a rough start in general.  But then the tornado struck.  And it struck their neighborhood.  And it destroyed their home.  And it blew away all of their belongings…right before their eyes.  Even Caleb’s monkey, which he is very upset about (and rightly so!).

Thankfully, they are safe with their grandmother right now, but they have nothing.  The custody arrangement was already unexpected, but on top of that, they are starting from scratch.  Not a sock, not a stuffed animal, not a pair of underwear to their name.

Having 2 boys of my own, I feel very strongly about helping them get established in their new home.  I have set up an account that will allow secure donations through PayPal.  All money donated will go to this family.  I think it will be nice for them to be able to choose their new toys, new clothes, new security items.  Of course, I will joyfully accept hand-me-downs or other donations to pass along to them as well.

Any amount is  a big deal.  $5 means socks.  $10 means underwear (or a new monkey for Caleb, which in my opinion is a TOP priority).

If we exceed our goal of $1000, I will use the money for another family or to fill backpacks with goodies for displaced children.

Surprise me–donate a lot of money.  Make me get creative in finding ways to spread it around.  Let’s just see what we can do.  Thank you.

Click to donate!

 

7 Responses to “What You Can Do”

  1. christine m tomberlin Says:

    Well, I ran to Wal Mart just to get some starter outfits for them. What a zoo! You could hear everyone talking about getting things for other people. One woman said, “I cant find any water bottles.” Myself, I could barely put any outfits together. There were NO underpants and no pajamas in size 5. NO kacki shorts in 18 mos. NO little boys socks, and so on. So hand-me-downs might be a great alternative. And of course money is good. I thought about getting a backpack and then rethought…that might be better purchased by them. I even thought–she may not have enough beds…no toys…who knows. So money is good.

  2. Lori Says:

    Thanks for letting us know about them so we can help out! A great cause!!

  3. Cari Says:

    Thank you so much for making this information available to so many.

  4. Tracy Says:

    If I lived closer I would have helped you go shoping and bring all the stuff in my garage to them! (donations from past adoption fundraising)
    I posted on my FB and sent a donation. I hope that helps some.

  5. Christy Says:

    I had to donate toward that monkey. Breaks my heart!

  6. claudia Says:

    please forgive me for being REALLY stupid. I’ve clicked on the link. But I can’t find where to actually click on that page to donate. I know I’m missing something. I could post the widget to my blog, or subscribe to updates via rss, but not actually. donate. Help me out!

  7. Kelly Says:

    Done! Thank you for setting this up. Those poor little boys. God bless them.


Leave a Reply

