Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday May 4, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 3:00 AM

  • One day I had 2 packs of fruit gummy snacks in the car for the boys to eat.  They must have been in the sun, because when I went to open them, they had all melted into a big blob.  I acted like it was so cool, and I called it a gummy log and they went BANANAS for it!  They thought it was hysterical!  Now they keep asking me for gummy logs.  I think I’m onto something…..
  • There are a few no-no words around our house.  “Go away” is one and “stupid” is another.  The biggest offense would be saying “go away, stupid”.  I have resorted to making the kids perform chores when they say things like this–the number one chore being to go outside and pick up pine cones.  Anyway I was talking to Jason one afternoon and I said something off-hand about a stupid coupon or a stupid restaurant, and Isaac jumped on me immediately.  He told me I had to be punished and go pick up pine cones.  I did it, too!

But the funniest part was the way he stomped around the living room with his hands on his hips, angry at me.  Or the fact that he emptied out a glass fruit bowl and ordered me to fill it.  The whole thing was pretty funny, actually.

  • The boys are obsessed with the game Angry Birds.  We are really trying to limit them playing electronic games, so they made a live action version of the game where they are the birds and Jason is a pig.  They launch themselves from a chair onto Jason who is on the ground barricaded in pillows.  The sound effects are spot on.
  • You know what’s weird?  I can’t correctly say the word “surveillance”.  I probably can if I REALLY think about it and say it slowly, but it always comes out as “sur-veil-yance”.  What’s that about?
  • I finally figured out the secret to great bulgogi:  buy the beef at the Korean market pre-sliced, yo!  Who knew?
  • So, a week or so ago, I sent home birthday party invitations to Matthew’s church preschool class.  As the party draws closer, I began to realize that I didn’t put it on MY calendar and have no idea what time the party is.  I had to email some of the parents (who I’ve never met) to check the time on the party.  That should have made a great first impression, right?
  • I think this gluten-free diet of Isaac’s might end up making me skinny.  Because I open the cabinet or the fridge and look in at all the food and think, “I won’t eat that pudding–it was too expensive” or “nope, not those cookies–too pricey”.  Of course, I did buy a container of Oreos (on sale!) and hid them in the back of the pantry, so maybe I’m wrong about that theory after all.
  • Speaking of gluten-free, for Matthew’s birthday, we bought a small GF cake from Whole Foods along with some GF frosting.  But I’m wondering if the frosting was an expensive scam sitting next to the cake so I would just grab it.  Does regular frosting really have gluten?  Anyway, this cake was one misspelled word away from qualifying for Cake Wrecks….both in appearance and in taste.

It’s a good thing I figured out the secret to great bulgogi, because this cake was struggling.

  • I went to see “Water for Elephants” on Sunday.  I thought it was okay.  But it gave me an idea.  Hear me out….Robert Pattinson, working outside, in the sun, with a camera on him.  24 hours a day.  I’d watch that.  Who’s with me?
  • Tonight during dinner, Isaac was talking about how he wanted to get old so he could be tall and he said “I want to be as tall as y’all”.  Jason and I immediately looked at each other in delight–Isaac’s first “y’all”!!!  Where’s my baby book??
  • And finally, if you haven’t read my post on how you can help get two little boys who lost everything in the tornado, please do.  Between the ChipIn and some other donations, we have raised around $300, but I would love to bless them even more.  Consider helping with even a $5 or $10 donation.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.

 

16 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. deb jacobs Says:

    my best friend in california says “mameeogram”. i always tell her it’s mammagram but she always forgets=P
    i would love to donate but we have minus money right now and are borrowing from the parents. i gave three trash bags full of plus size clothing to judy’s daughter and judy, they told me that they had specifically asked for 2+ and over, which is what i had, so that was synchronous because time and time again i would look at that box full of clothes and say, what am i going to do with that? they go-oh, i’ll figure it out later. yay.

  2. Jaime scott Says:

    Oh my gosh! Your idea to assign chores as a means to discipline is awesome. why didn’t I think of that!! I’ve been stumped lately as to new ways to discipline. The whole “timeout” thing isn’t really working or getting their attention. But picking up pinecones, sticks, wiping baseboards, (the list is endless!) just might get through to them! Youre a genius! 🙂

  3. Jaime scott Says:

    Oh, my house is about to get a whole lot cleaner!! Haha!

  4. Lori Says:

    Jack is obsessed with Angry Birds too, but he can never remember the name of it. He says, “I wanna play Mean Birds, no, Ugly Flies, no… Just give me Daddy’s phone.”

    I’m so amazed at how you guys are sticking to the gluten free diet. I wish you lived right up the road b/c I have some unused pancake mix, chocolate cookies, a box of crackers and some flour I think that I would give you if you did. Oh, I think I have a box of mac and cheese too. There are actually other reasons I wish you lived up the road. I think I could seriously enjoy hanging out with you:)

    I read Water for Elephants after your plug for Robert Pattison being fantastic crush material. I very much enjoyed the book so now I’m going to see the movie (soon I hope). I also watched Remember Me and I’m liking him so far. I’m eventually going to read the Twilight books, well, and Harry Potter b/c I’m tired of people acting like I’m not a real reader since I haven’t read them:) I don’t expect to get a crush on Harry though!

    Wow, this comment may be longer than my WW post! I’m going to try to get it done soon.

  5. Mom Says:

    When my girls were small, we would play a game called “Mother’s Helper.” I would write down chores on slips of paper with an amount of money they would get for completing the chore. They would each pick a paper out of a container and perform the chore to get the money. They loved the” game!”

  6. Cindi Says:

    So did you put the pinecone collection on your table as a centerpiece??? 🙂

  7. Jenny Says:

    *oh good I’m glad I’m not the only person who has done that with a party invitation, I’m thinking since they’re all moms any that you’d like to be friends with anyway have totally been there.

    *you are skinny, are you crazy?!!

    *yes, I would watch that, and it made me laugh out loud how true that is. As a matter of fact I only want to see water for elephants to see him, I’ve read the book and rarely do they make movies as good as books.

    *yeah, the first y’all! My parents are Texans but I grew up all over (mainly MD) b/c my dad was in the air force, anyways one day I was telling someone I was fixin to do something (I think it’s a texan thing, maybe a southern thing, don’t know) and she looked at me like I was crazy, and told me that is not a word, it was really funny growing up in the east but talking like a texan 🙂

  8. Live action Angry Birds? Awesome.
    I like the punishment for inappropriate language, but our girls would actually delight in such a punishment. Collecting things in nature? recipe for awesomeness.

  9. Yvonne Says:

    first, you are skinny! GF food or no.

    second, had to smile about the bulgogi meat. That’s so funny because I have only bought beef at the korean market for bulgogi and realized that I could just get it at our grocery store. It isn’t different beef, Yvonne – just cut much thinner!

    And sorry about the cake. big bummer. Especially when it was from whole foods.

    Happy Wednesday!

  10. Grace Says:

    i would like a gummy log.
    GF cake?
    notsomuch.
    🙂

  11. emily Says:

    The birthday thing totally sounds like something I would do! I am infamous for telling everybody to be somewhere a day or 30 minutes early. Exact times seem to be difficult for me. 🙂

    I really want to see Water for Elephants!

  12. Melissa Says:

    Oh, yes, buy the meat at the Korean store. We discovered it’s SO much easier and delicious too.

  13. Jen Says:

    Oh my gosh- did that Bulgogi actually say it was good through July 4, 2011?!?! I gotta start shopping there. Mine never have exp dates like that!!!

  14. Kelly Says:

    I’m sure the first y’all would be quite momentous 🙂 I’m glad he used it correctly. Love that you got to experience your own punishment. It’s only fair! Ah, yes the sliced bulgogi straight from the Korean market is the only way to go. Hope you show up on time to your own party!!

  15. Becky Says:

    Gummy log – he, he, he!

    I was thinking your pine cones would make a lovely centerpiece 🙂

    Oh, you made me laugh at having to get in touch with the other parents to find out what time the party was – I think it will make the other moms like you even more!

    Not sure if you are a Cosco shopper, but I heard they also have bulgogi now.

    I love Whatnot Wednesday – one of these days I am going to manage to link up.


Leave a Reply

