Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday May 11, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 1:00 AM

  • Isaac has been asking us to pray every night that he won’t be scared.  I don’t actually think he is scared, I just think he enjoys prolonging bedtime.  So we pray that he will have good dreams and that God will send angels to camp out around his bed.  Tonight he grabbed my arm as I was leaving and said, “wait, let me pray for you so you won’t be scared”.  He then prayed that God would send a princess around my neck to take care of me.
  • Do y’all watch The Amazing Race?  Well on the finale Sunday night, teams had to go underwater in this helmet thingy to look for clues–It was making me feel all kinds of anxious, but also reminded me of something funny.  When Jason was about 15, he spent most of one summer hanging out at a community pool.  Ever the nerd, he got the bright idea to go underwater with a bucket over his head and stay under while breathing the air in the air bubble.  He had a friend use a bicycle pump to keep air coming in for him.  He even went so far as to have a friend deliver a Snickers bar to him, brought down in a tennis ball can.  That’s devotion to an experiment right there, not to mention some good comrades.  I love nerds.
  • When getting the boys ready for bed one night, I told Mathew to go downstairs and tell daddy that he needed his eye drops and Singulair.  He told Jason that he needed his “singyalater”, but not before Isaac reminded me that he also needed his “mela-toe-mid”.  And yes, our kids are on a ridiculous amount of medications.
  • Isaac was pryaing one night and sat straight up and announced, “God is happy to help me!”.  What a wonderful revelation!
  • Have you ever wondered what those tubes they put in kids’ ears look like?  Me too.  I found out when a doctor pulled one out of Isaac’s ear last week.  It had fallen out and was laying in the canal.  Here it is in all it’s glory (and covered in wax)
  • Let me preface this by saying I love my kids, I really do.  BUT.  Can I just say (with love) that Matthew’s voice has some kind of odd frequency to it, so that when he yells in certain environments, it almost makes your fillings hurt.  It’s like when you hit your funny bone and that jolt of biological electricity runs down your arm and then kind of tingles for the rest of the day.  His voice really hits its peak in tiled public bathrooms or maybe a corridor leading to a vacation condominium.  When Isaac yells, it annoys me, yes, but Matthew’s yell–well, it reminds me of that episode of Seinfeld when Kramer would have seizures when he heard Mary Hart’s voice.  Bless his heart.
  • Just so you know, in the South, you can say just about anything about anybody as long as you add, “Bless their heart” or “God love her” onto it.
  • I saw a commercial for Hanes Women’s Underwear, and the tagline was something like “they’re cute, and they don’t ride up” and I thought–I gotta get me some of those.  Does that make me old?

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.


 

13 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. deb jacobs Says:

    haha! i have heard that so many times, someone saying”bless their heart” after saying something maybe less than complimentary=)
    what isaac said was sweet, about God will always help him. xx

  2. Aunt JoAnn Says:

    Bless Your Heart, Elizabeth for breaking that southern code for me that y’all got goin! It’s similar to what a co-worker said to me 25 years ago in explaining one of his habits…he said “I can get away with saying just about anything as long as I have a smile on my face!” And so it goes! God love the South!

  3. Jason Says:

    To clarify, the bucket was not my idea. I was the only one brave (or dumb) enough to try it out. I have to give all the credit for the idea to David R.

    • Glenda Jones Says:

      I remember the bucket, and I think more than one of you’ll sat on the bottom of that pool with that bucket on their head (and a lot of those nerds worked that bicycle pump) You’ll made the life guards and the parents awfully nervous while you were down there.

  4. Melissa Says:

    I love the prayer for a princess!

  5. Becky Says:

    I don’t know if it makes you old, but I had the same thought when I saw that commercial! Maybe we are both old :-).

    The ear tube looks more like an ear washer, not at all what I pictured.

  6. Cindi Says:

    Maybe we need to say a prayer FOR the princess! 🙂

  7. Lori Says:

    The voice that actually makes you tingle is something else Jack and Matthew have in common. It actually makes me hurt sometimes when he screams in one particular frequency and pitch. I think Jason’s experiment sounds pretty cool actually, but that’s from one geek to another:)

  8. Jenny Says:

    I want those underwear too…I mean that’s a big promise 🙂

    get you on the voice thing

    also caught up on all your pictures, loved seeing the beach trip, makes me really want to head out to one soon!

  9. Grace Says:

    wow. i am cracking up at jason and his friends. the snickers in the tennis ball can just kicks it up a nerdy notch. bless their hearts.

    😉

    did i do it right?? did i sound southern??

  10. Yvonne Says:

    first – cute and don’t ride up? sign me up! and since we are the same age, I’m not even going to say whether that makes us old or not…but I’ll take practical 🙂

    And what is it about that voice thing? Andrew could seriously crack glass if he wanted to – his voice can get very high and shrill! I think I’m losing hearing due to that and Natalie’s screams which are also very loud. Yes, three kids. All loud. Not much quiet around here.

    Happy Wednesday!

  11. Emily Says:

    Oh my, several things. First, I love the princess prayer. 🙂 Second, I’m addicted to Melatonin. Third, my 6 year old has that same voice sometimes. And finally, I need those underwear too!!!

  12. I’m sorry, but the South cannot lay claim to “bless their heart.” We Yanks do it too, lady.
    So wait… did the bucket thing actually work? Because I have some serious doubts on that one.


Leave a Reply

