Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Look What You Did May 16, 2011

Filed under: faith,friends — Elizabeth @ 9:25 AM

Alabama is still reeling from the tornadoes. I know it is probably old news in the rest of the country by now, but here it is still at the top of every news report, on the front page of the paper, and there are literally news crawlers at the bottom of every local network station requesting supplies, telling people where they can donate their time.

I drove to my old neighborhood on Sunday and it is still covered in debris. The piles of trees by the road are so high, you can’t even see most of the houses. I almost missed a turn because I was looking for a certain landmark and it wasn’t even there anymore.

Suffice it to say, it’s very sad. And I didn’t even lose anything.

But you know what makes me happy? That I asked you, my invisible friends, to help me bless an individual family. Two boys with nothing left, who had seen way too many mature things in their short lives. And you totally stepped up.

I was able to present this to their grandmother–each bag contained a lovey/stuffed animal for each boy, and the card contained a $400 Visa gift card. I signed it with the first names and city and state of everybody who donated. If I remember correctly off the top of my head, we had donations come in from Alabama, Georgia, Ohio, Virginia, New York, New Jersey, Washington, Massachusetts, Missouri, and Illinois. That is pretty darn awesome.

What I did not get a picture of, because I was in a huge hurry, was the 10 pairs of shoes and 2 new bags of new clothes we were able to give them.

Then I was able to use a bit more of the money to go buy some toys for the boys. I really wanted them to have something tangible, shiny and new that was all theirs. And my boys helped me pick the stuff out, which was a good lesson in giving for them. (Never mind the shrill shrieking of Isaac that we needed to buy them EVERY THOMAS TRAIN there is).

The art supplies will come in handy, as they are about to being play/art therapy to process the things they saw during the tornadoes.

Thank you for doing this with me. Thank you for doing this for them.

 

10 Responses to “Look What You Did”

  1. christine m tomberlin Says:

    I was wondering how they were doing. Thanks for the update.

  2. Tracy Says:

    wonderful!!! I am glad you did this and gave us another way to help!

  3. Cari Says:

    The boys started day care this week. The grandmother fortunately had a 3 bedroom condo she shares with her mother. Unfortunately the 3rd bedroom was a storage room. However last weekend, she brought a bunch of things to my house for storage, and we were able to finally be shed of my son’s twin bed we’ve been storing. Other friends at work are getting bedding for the boys. She’s been setting up their bedroom and just trying to get things normal. The boys are excited about day care, and one of them starts Kindergarten in the fall and is VERY excited about that. Oddly, of all the things received, Caleb (the youngest) has grown fondest of a pair of shoes he got, which he calls his “baseball shoes”. Margie has to pry them off him at the end of the day. There is a little regression going on, but that’s to be expected. Thank you so very much for everything you’ve done for this family. My friend has stated that she is surrounded by unknown angels and feels so very blessed. Your generosity has gone very far.

  4. Aunt JoAnn Says:

    Blessings on all. I just sent a big box of shoes to Tuscaloosa, and UPS gave me $15 off packaging to also help out. They were happy to help too. The guy at the Running Store in Brunswick Maine sent a big bunch of sneakers down when he heard of an address provided by Abby. I hate the way everyone’s disaster leaves the national news soon after the crisis. Thanks for the reminder. Texting money to my cell phone is always a good idea instead of another useless but fattening latte.
    xoxo

  5. Grace Says:

    such sweet blessings…you go, girl, using your blogging super powers for good 🙂

  6. This is so great! I’m so impressed, and glad that people helped. I hope the family will be OK.

  7. Jenny Says:

    so nice to read, thank you for keeping us updated.

  8. Lori Says:

    I’m so thankful that you did this! I hope those boys get more out of those toys and things than any child ever has!! Thanks for making us all so aware of this!

  9. So, so awesome. Thank you for the update, and thank you especially for helping this family!

  10. Kelly Says:

    Thank you for organizing this, my blog friend. Thanks for the update, too! Wonderful you could give them this.


Leave a Reply

