Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Sunday School Pays Off in Spades July 18, 2011

Filed under: and that's how I feel about that,faith,Isaac — Elizabeth @ 10:18 AM

We picked the boys up from their Sunday school class and were walking down the crowded hall with the all of the other families. Isaac was a few steps ahead of me and another child from his class (we’ll call him Stinky) walked next to him. Stinky looked at Isaac, pulled the Dum Dum lollipop from his mouth, looked up at his mom, and said, “I don’t like him” (pointing at Isaac).

I was stunned at this punk kid. Stunned at his punk mom, who didn’t seem nearly as horrified as she should be, seeing as she wasn’t horrified at all.

For a second, I thought that Isaac didn’t even hear what he had said.

But then, Isaac stopped walking and leaned down so he was eye to eye with Stinky. He put his hands on Stinky’s shoulders and said, “Well, I still love you!!!!”, then he trotted off happily down the hall.

Whereas my first response was anger, indignation and frankly some (probably unfair) judgment directed toward Stinky’s mom, my son was the perfect picture of Christian love.

This motherhood gig is relentlessly humbling.

 

13 Responses to “Sunday School Pays Off in Spades”

  1. Cari Says:

    Hazel would have said, “ditto, b**ch”, so perhaps she should get back into some classes………or you should give me some classes.

  2. Jaime scott Says:

    Awesome! Way to go isaac!

  3. Aunt JoAnn Says:

    Your boy’s response is without a doubt the most humbling beautiful Christian response I have ever heard. And the part about the hands on shoulders eye contact? Amazing, I can only imagine how proud you were in that moment, and ever since. Wow. Wow. Wow. Did you get to tell the Sunday School teachers? Must have made their day too! Just shared this with my co-worker counselors at the EAP where I work. Every one of us just about cried.
    Thanks for this post!

  4. deb jacobs Says:

    wow isaac, way to not have to go to therapy later in life=)

  5. anymommy Says:

    It surely is. This brought tears to my eyes. I wish I could react this generously.

  6. Jenny Says:

    Oh God has big plans for your little boy. I hope though you didn’t type it that you took a moment to reflect on the fact that you are doing something good here! I promise you that he has learned a thousand times more from you and your husband than he has from SS or school.

  7. Joyce N. Ingram Says:

    I am so humbled. Thankfully we can still learn every day…even from our children.

  8. Rachel Says:

    What a great job you did as a mom!

  9. Abby Says:

    I am going to beat up Stinky and his mom. Just saying….

  10. Kelly Says:

    Are you kidding me?! That Isaac. He’s such a better person than I will ever be. May he never, ever lose his beautiful personality and love of people.

  11. Melissa Says:

    Wow! That was incredibly sweet! (and horrible of that mother!)

  12. Yvonne Says:

    wow! way to go Isaac. Humbling it is – and something to remember.

  13. Grace Says:

    oh, i love this. thanks for the reminder, little dude. 🙂


Leave a Reply

