Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday July 20, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 10:49 AM

  • Back a long time ago, I worked at a place, and at this place there was a man.  The man was called Friday Guy.  Well, at least that’s what my friend and I called him…..but not to his face.  I am convinced that every workplace has a Friday Guy.  He’s the guy who isn’t sure what to talk to you about in the elevator, so when he sees you, he always says stuff like, “only 3 more days til Friday” or “TGIF!!” or “Happy Hump Day, 2 days til Friday”.  Literally, the only interaction we ever had with this guy was for him to tell us where in time we sat in relation to the next upcoming Friday.  Now I don’t really have a workplace but I have found that I still know a lot of “Friday Guys”.  They are all on Facebook now.  They say these things as their status updates.  “Monday again!  I owe, I owe, so off to work I go!” or “TGIF–we gon get crazy tonight, yo!!”.  Which is a little bit helpful, because now that I stay at home with the boys, it does take me a while to figure out what day it is.
  • A couple of weeks ago, Jason was out of town for work.  After the boys went to bed, I was taking the garbage outside and then remembered I needed to wheel the garbage can (which I call a hobo, but my husband says that I’m the only one who calls it that) out to the roadside.  As I walked out to the road, I realized that our outside lights didn’t extend very far and I was walking into the pitch black….in my bare feet.  I started freaking myself out, thinking that I might step on a snake.  Then I started walking faster, and you know how it is when you’re scared and the faster you run, the more scared you are?  Yeah, that’s what was happening to me, and I was getting myself in a tizzy.  As I scampered back to the house, I looked at my minivan in the driveway, and thought to myself, “You drive a minivan for pete’s sake, you need to pull yourself together”, and that calmed me down just fine.
  • At preschool this week, Isaac’s class is learning about the planets.  He made a craft that had all the planets on it, and Jason was asking him if he could name the planets.  He knows some of the names, but not all, and you could tell, he was trying to sound out the words.  Jason pointed to Neptune and Isaac guessed “Nercury??”.
  • I was having the boys clean their toys up in the playroom this week and when they were done, I said, “there, now the playroom is clean”.  Then Isaac looked around and said, “not quite, there’s still poo poo spots everywhere!”.  So if you’re local and you have a steam cleaner, can I borrow it please?
  • I am growing out my eyebrows.  On purpose.  Let me explain.  Sometime, over 4 years ago, when I was plucking my eyebrows, maybe it happened gradually over time, or maybe I just got tweeze happy one day, but I plucked my eyebrows too far in.  Your eyebrow is supposed to be even with the inside of your eye and neither of mine are.  I remember after Isaac was born, I went to get them waxed, and the girl scolded me and told me not to touch them again and to only let her take care of them.  So I did what anybody would do–I never went back and continued to tweeze them myself.  That was 4 years ago.  So now, I am letting them fill in, which is a really bad look.  It’s like growing out your bangs, but worse somehow.  Anytime someone makes eye contact with me, I feel like I want to explain that I’m not ungroomed, I am just growing them out.  But that would be weird, right?
  • Isaac asked me if I could count to infinity and I said, no it’s too high.  He thought about that and said, “yeah, I guess only giants can count to infinity”.
  • I read Matthew a book sometimes called “A Lot of Otters”.  At one point in the book, stars fall from the sky and the otters swim around with them and even taste them.  I asked Matthew what stars taste like and he answered, “sketti”.
  • This sketch was found in Isaac’s notebook:  I {heart} Dad
  • Have a good day–only 2 more days til Friday 🙂

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.

 

11 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Renee Says:

    At first glance, I thought Isaac wrote I heart DQ. And now I want ice cream. Of course that isn’t a giant leap because I pretty much always want ice cream, especially when it’s 100 degrees for days/weeks on end.

  2. deb jacobs Says:

    i cracked up over friday guy! goodluck on the eyebrows. i shaved mine off injunior high, and they never grew back in. i have teeny ones that those ladies you talk about say”you way over tweezed them!” and i say”no, this is how they are all the time”. maybe i could shave them off and just be like whoopi. xx

  3. Melissa Says:

    Well, I have to say I have never heard of growing out your eyebrows. LOL

    And what the heck were you doing out after dark in bare feet!

  4. Christine Says:

    I too have had to grow out eyebrows after an unfortunate tweezing incident. My sincerest sympathies. Maybe you could start wearing patchouli perfume and hang out at the airport with a bongo drum.

  5. KJ Says:

    At least your driveway isn’t downhill..mine is, and I thought for a minute the momentum of the garbage was going to haul you down way faster than you wanted to go!

  6. christine m tomberlin Says:

    Thank God for that minivan…kind of like your silky.

  7. I love this post! I have totally done the freak yourself out when walking outside in the dark at night! And yes, there is a Friday guy at every work!!

  8. “Nercury” is awesome! I am also laughing at and appreciating your walk outside in the dark description…I’ve totally done that many times…and you just can’t get your front door open fast enough.

  9. Elizabeth Says:

    I’m enjoying the creative spelling… DQD. Very avant-garde.
    So is the “You drive a minivan for pete’s sake, you need to pull yourself together” your go-to pep talk? Uh huh… 😉
    And I was giggling about “growing out” one’s eyebrows. Hee! Haven’t heard that phrase before.

  10. Yvonne Says:

    I’m just catching up on this post but I’m glad I now understand the eyebrow thing (you go!) and oh my goodness, the taking out the trash, worried about snakes so went faster, and then calmed down by looking at the minivan – loved that. Gotta love the minivan!

  11. Grace Says:

    i cannot get over the eyebrows. hahahahaha! you’re such a good sport. that’s why i like you so much. 🙂


Leave a Reply

