Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

It’s Not You, It’s Me July 21, 2011

Filed under: and that's how I feel about that,mommy brain — Elizabeth @ 10:31 PM

This morning got started on the wrong foot from the very beginning.

And I’m not proud of it, but it was pretty much all my fault.

The boys and I came downstairs and they were playing and I sat down to read a few blogs.  When the boys were ready for breakfast, I walked into the kitchen to find that we were somehow already running late (they had summer preschool this morning).

I started making breakfast and Matthew immediately spilled an entire yogurt drink in his lap, which soaked into the fabric of the dining room chair and dripped onto the floor.  I sent him to his room to change out of his wet pajamas and asked him to get dressed.

As I scrubbed the chair cushion, I realized that not only was I angry, but that it was snowballing in my head.  I was ticked that the yogurt got spilled when we were already running late.  I was ticked that the fabric on the cushion is trashed from cumulative spills.  I was ticked at myself because we got rid of his booster seat when he was 3 because we assumed he would grow, and he hasn’t, and he needs a booster seat.  I was ticked that I have a 4 year old small enough to need a booster seat.

I got his breakfast on the table and he still wasn’t down, so I went upstairs to find him still in his yogurt-soaked pajamas, thumbing through a book.

And I was mad about that.

When the boys finally both sat down to eat, I was mad because they wouldn’t stop playing and just eat already.

When we finally got dressed and ready to go, 10 minutes late, it was raining.  The boys quickly got INTO the van, but were being silly and not getting into their seats, which meant I was standing in the rain, barking at them to sit down.  Isaac was wiggling in his seat, dancing, and telling me what song he wanted to hear in the van.  “Okay buddy, but I can’t start the music until you SIT DOWN IN YOUR SEAT, and did I mention that I am getting wet here???”.

I finally got into the driver’s seat and took a deep breath.  All right, I was going to have to be the grown up here…..especially since I’m the grown up, dangit.

“Okay boys, mommy has been very grumpy this morning, and it wasn’t okay.  It wasn’t your fault, and I know I was mean to you, and I’m sorry.  I love you both very much.  Can you forgive me?”

“We forgive you, mama, and we love you”.

As if that wasn’t enough, Isaac threw in, “and now I have forgotten all about it”.

Okay boys, now what song was it that you wanted to hear?

 

 

9 Responses to “It’s Not You, It’s Me”

  1. Sue Says:

    hi.,.it’s me!!! 🙂
    this was a great post elizabeth…once again i feel we live parallel lives. that morning sounds like so many of mine…until the part where you realized your grumpiness and made amends. i need to be better that that. kudos to you!! you really are so wise,,,and so calm.

    (relax about the booster seat…drew is one month shy from five, and he’s still in a booster. heck, i could use a booster!!!)
    🙂

  2. Melissa Says:

    Okay, the “and now I’ve forgotten about it” is the best part.

    Don’t beat yourself up. It happens to the best of us, and I believe that the apology goes a long way towards helping them forget the bad stuff and helping them remember the lesson you taught them by apologizing.

  3. Anne Says:

    Ahhhhhh, yes. The joys of motherhood. I echo the thoughts of others when I say these mornings belong to me as well, but do not end with such humbleness and wisdom (from me. Although my two boys would probably return the love without a second thought). Thank you for the transparency of your day and the graciousness given by your boys. Great lesson taught (and learned).

  4. Renee Says:

    That sounds like many a morning/day at my house. Although I am terrible when it comes to the apology. Thanks for reminding me to work on that.

  5. Isaac’s last comment is the best part of all. 🙂 I know the snowballing feeling, believe me. But, I usually don’t realize it as quickly and apologize right away. Clearly, you have taught your kids (even the small ones!) mercy!

  6. Christine Says:

    You’re raising those boys to be like Jesus…what a legacy!

  7. Jenny Says:

    I believe that if I am good at apologizing to my kids while they’re young, I’ll be able to do it for the rest of their lives and hopefully they’ll be able to forgive and apologize the rest of theirs. My husband taught me how to apologize, growing up I don’t think I was ever apologized to nor did I ever apologize, it made be hard hearted and prideful, and to this day my family has that weird vibe of just never talking about anything, it’s not healthy, and I wish so much it wasn’t that way.

  8. This post is really a page from the story of my life. Been there, done that, trying to be better. Thanks for sharing the real stuff!

  9. Elizabeth Says:

    Such sweet boys. And we’ve totally all been there. In fact, you pulled it together much more quickly than I normally do. But then again, I’m kinda psycho sometimes.


Leave a Reply

