Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday July 27, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 3:59 PM

  • Today’s Whatnot Wednesday is a little late because I thought that I could take 1/2 of a phenergan with iced coffee this morning and it would not have the sedative effect.  I was wrong.  So I finally became lucid around 2 PM, but then realized that my batch of Pioneer Woman iced coffee was almost gone, which meant that if I didn’t make another batch right then that I wouldn’t have any for the next morning, and I had to get that going, because it has to brew for 8 hours and if I didn’t start it now, I would have to stay up really late to work on it.  I tell you what, it’s a full time job just keeping me awake.
  • As for the phenergan, I had a migraine that was making me nauseous.  I don’t take it recreationally–why would I?  All I want to do is sleep anyway.
  • It’s official.  Matthew has now acquired enough English to tattle on me.  I was making dinner the other night and Jason was telling the boys to pick up the massive amount of Duplos in the floor.  Matthew said, “but mommy dumped them out!”.  That’s the last time I try to help you ungrateful kids build the Eiffel Tower out of Duplos, I know that.  (Especially since nobody was excited about it, and they practically cheered when I moved back to my standard position:  butt on couch with laptop in lap).
  • Last week, as we were leaving karate, Isaac was getting upset about something like a gnat in the van.  I said, “Isaac don’t worry–ain’t no thang but a chicken wang.”  He thought that was pretty funny and kept repeating it, but he couldn’t remember the exact saying the next day.  He kept saying, “ain’t no thang……ain’t no thang…..what is it mommy?”.  I gave him a hint:  think of what a chicken uses to fly.  Then he announced, “Ain’t no thang but a chicken feather!”.
  • I have begun to realize that the hotter it gets outside, the more money I am willing to spend on train paraphernalia.  How else can I explain this?
  • I have a strange compulsion.  If someone ever compliments me on my clothes, I blurt out strange things.  Here is an example.  Random person:  I love your jeans.  Me:  Oh, thanks.  Can you believe I got them at an outlet and they were originally $100 but marked down to only $9.99?  Random person:  That’s a great dress.  Me:  Oh my goodness, would you believe I got it off the clearance rack at TJ Maxx?  Why do I always do that?  Am I embarrassed at the few really nice items of clothing I have or am I bragging about my bargain hunting skills?
  • Don’t you hate it when you get a song stuck in your head and you just cannot stop singing it?  Well Matthew has been singing the same song since last December.  Seriously.  He still sings “Deck the Halls” all the time.  And he still thinks the song is about someone named Charlie.  Today at the library, while I was checking our stuff out, he was spinning in a circle singing, “da da da da da da da da Charlie”.
  • Isaac found an old Wiggles CD and he has been listening to it sometimes in his room.  It reminded me of something funny.  At our last house, there were 2 older boys that lived next door, but their cousin (who was about Isaac’s age) was at their house all the time.  Sometimes they would come play in our playroom, and Isaac was in a phase where he just listened to music and danced all the time.  So Isaac would turn on the Wiggles and try to get everyone to join him in dancing, and this little kid (who was super tough at sports) would literally crumple in the floor and sob while Isaac danced around him.  Because the Wiggles music scared him.  And Isaac would get so lost in the music that he wouldn’t even notice.  This might make me a bad person, but I always found it hysterical.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.

 

11 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Lori Says:

    I find the Wiggles thing hilarious too! And now I’ve got to go try PW’s recipe for iced coffee:) Tell Matthew I’m still singing Follow the Star from our Christmas children’s program so I feel him!

  2. Melissa Says:

    Should I tell you that I take Phenergran religiously, but it does not make me sleepy even in the slightest?

    And I completely understand the willingness to spend money on something they can play with inside. We’re right there with you.

  3. Tiffany Says:

    First of all, when I woke up and there was no “what-not wednesday” I almost cried. Second of all, the image of Isaac dancing around to the Wiggles while mister tough-guy is curled into a ball and sobbing……..makes me laugh out loud.

  4. Yes, now I really need to try the Pioneer Woman’s iced coffee recipe. I’ve been drinking iced coffee faithfully now each morning, but the amount of coffee grinds I need to make this one recipe makes a real mess of my coffee maker. From what I can recall, PW doesn’t use a coffee maker, does she?

    And I also LOVE that this tough athletic kid was afraid of the Wiggles music!! Oh – and finally – I just love that you said the phrase, “You ungrateful kids”…for some reason, I’ll always find that phrase hilarious.

  5. Jenny Says:

    oh my golly, I’ve never heard Wiggles (am I lucky?) that just cracked me up!

  6. Yvonne Says:

    Oh Elizabeth, I love your posts. Every single one of them. So wish that I was able to do with you this weekend so I could meet you in real life, but I’ll just have to live through your posts 🙂

    And I love the coffee, the chicken feather, and the deck the charlie. So funny. And that train set? awesome. And something I can not share with my children or husband or they will want more pieces too…

    Happy Wednesday!

  7. Yvonne Says:

    And I’m totally trying the iced coffee recipe – it looks great! Thanks for the link.

  8. Elizabeth Says:

    And now my birthday is complete, thanks to your Whatnot Wed.
    I was laughing hysterically to the Wiggles music, imagining Isaac dancing so frenetically that he was just buzzing around like a tornado as the poor kid sobbed uncontrollably. Holy moly. (I was laughing so hard that I had to read it to Adam). I think it’s extra funny to us b/c we own a Wiggles guitar that the girls play ad nauseum. So we’re very familiar with the ridiculous music… only adds to your story 🙂

  9. Tracy Says:

    I always love reading your WNW post!! Your train stuff looks like ours. It is worth it to keep the little busy while inside. The clothes compulsion thing.. I do it to. i wonder why I do’t just say thank you and leave it at that. Maybe in my subconsious I do not want others to think i am a self induging kind of person because I am not. Who knows….

  10. deb jacobs Says:

    omg!! that poor little kid! a couple things scared me to death when i was a kid…the theme song to “people are funny” which you are too young to know….and i couldn’t watch the intro to “the honemooners” because jackie gleasons eyes scared the crap out of me! ….your kids are a riot, elizabeth=)

  11. Grace Says:

    omg, i am cracking up so hard i’m crying picturing that last point!!! hahahaha!!!
    and, i do the SAME thing when people compliment me on my clothes. it’s because i’m SO excited at my awesome finds and i feel the need to tell everyone i know. 🙂


Leave a Reply

