Every day the wonderful happens…

and I'm here to blog about it.

Whatnot Wednesday August 10, 2011

Filed under: whatnot — Elizabeth @ 12:14 PM

  • In karate, the kids learn to count in Korean and Japanese.  The instructors always choose a kid to lead the class in counting.  Last week, after they had counted in both of those languages, the instructor asked if anybody could count in a third language.  Isaac raised his hand and they asked him what language he was going to count in.  He hesitated for a bit and said uncertainly, “Alabama???”.  Then he counted in English.
  • I took the boys to the water park last week and by the end of the day they were exhausted and dragging as we walked to the car.  In the middle of the parking lot, Isaac stopped, hung his head and told me “I’m all out of walk”.
  • In an effort to feel superior be more natural and crunchy, I bought the boys some Tom’s toothpaste.  It is an off-white color and I have to tell you that seeing those dried whitish-gray blobs in my sink is seriously disgusting.  If I have to see dried toothpaste in a sink on a daily basis, I would kind of rather it be fluorescent blue and sparkly.
  • And just so you know, I will clean my bathroom when I get around to it.  Get off my case.
  • Isaac informed me that only 3 people can fly:  Buzz Lightyear, God and Jesus.
  • Last weekend, I took Isaac shopping for school supplies because he needed to pick a backpack.  Our first stop was Wal Mart, and let me stop here to complain about the lack of good “boy” backpacks.  I kid you not when I tell you that the only option for boys was WWF wrestlers.  Granted, this is Alabama and I was at Wal Mart, but still.  This led to Isaac requesting a Hello Kitty backpack which I would have been happy to buy him, but I had the talk with him that some kids might tell him that was for girls and if that would hurt his feelings, we should get something else.  We went to Target where there were also about 4 different Hello Kitty backpacks and no appropriate designs for little boys.  So we just chose a green one.
  • And what is with the Hello Kitty comeback??  There were even Hello Kitty purses in the adult section of Target!!
  • Speaking of school supplies, this is the back of my van filled with the school supplies that the boys have to bring tomorrow to meet the teacher night.  What up public school?

    and yes, that would be over 400 styrofoam cups

  • On the way home from the water park, the boys were asking me to spell words for them, which is great, because when I am dead tired and suffering from sunstroke and desperately trying to listen to a story on NPR, I love to spell the names of every character of Winnie the Pooh.  Seriously, it’s like my favorite past time.  After we did all of those characters, and I must admit to you that my spelling of Eyeore (??) was a total shot in the dark, Isaac asked me how to spell “suddenly” because it is his favorite adverb.
  • He knows about adverbs and adjectives because Jason bought the boys Mad Libs books.  Who knew Mad Libs were so educational??
  • You know what makes me crazy?  I will tell you.  Okay, on Sunday, I saw that Piggly Wiggly had all natural, no hormones, no antibiotics type chicken on sale for $3.99/lb.  So I ran on down to the Pig and picked up a few packages.  Then I came home and as I was perusing the coupons in the Sunday paper, I found this: A coupon for the very chicken I had just purchased.  It makes me insane.  So then I vowed to return to the Pig before the sale ended and get another pack.  I was gonna go last night, but then a friend came over and brought some sweet tea vodka, which I may or may not have sampled (it was delicious).  And at 10:15, I realized that I had forgotten to get the chicken and the Pig was closed and the sale was over and darnitall, I wanted me some all-natural chicken with Paula Deen’s face on it, and I was out of luck.  These are the things that keep me up at night, and I’m pretty sure I need counseling.
  • Back in July, my sister got married at the beach and rented a house there.  There was a piece of “art” on the wall that really perplexed me.  As you can see, it seemed to be a picture of a drowning victim.  Upon first glance, I thought the title of the picture was “Swimmer in Peril” which would have been apt, but upon further inspection, I realized it was actually “Swimmer in Pink”.
  • I will spare you the pictures of all of us posing next to the picture attempting to capture the exact expression of danger and calm that the subject of this painting displays.
  • But as I kept thinking of Swimmer in Peril, it gave me a flashback to Goonies and Data’s Pinchers of Peril.  Data was always my favorite Goonie, and then as I was thinking about him, I remembered at the end of the movie when their parents met them all on the beach and his dad was trying to take his picture with that crazy camera and then he told Data that he was his greatest invention.  I swear that just about makes me need to lay down and have a good cry.

photo credit

  • On the day that we went to the water park, we went out to our van to eat a picnic lunch that I had packed in a cooler.  Just another quick shout about my van–we had the third row folded down and we all sat in the back and ate in air conditioned bliss.  Anyway, Isaac offered me a bite of his banana, and then right after that he announced that he pooted.  Then he yelled, “you better hurry up and taste this banana before all you can taste is my poot!!!”.

Need to clear your head?  Write your own Whatnot Wednesday post and link up below so that we can all see the randomness that fell out when you rinsed your brain.  Just don’t forget to link back here or grab my button–get your HTML on.


 

19 Responses to “Whatnot Wednesday”

  1. Aunt JoAnn Says:

    Our boy Isaac may well get some ribbing for a Hello Kitty backpack even in green. Now I know (after that AWESOME Christian comeback he had for Stinky who said in the church hall that he didn’t like Isaac) that Awesome Isaac can certainly handle bullys, but I would love to get to send down a more boyish or unisex backpack he might like to ask for that I could go shopping for, and you can send hello kitty to an organization that collects backpacks for kids as they do all over the USA. Give it to a girl who will wear it proudly, and let Aunt July send some beefy but tasteful backpack down to y’all. What did Matthew pick, by the way? I can send him a beefy but tasteful backpack as well. Give me some characters or themes they love…I am aware of Thomas the Train and Buzz Lightyear….but any others? Or just tell me politely to butt out.

    • Abby Says:

      If I can laugh–several times and out loud–while reading this after the week I have had, I believe we can officially say that you have gotten your “funny” back. Thank God!

  2. Becky Says:

    But I bet his English had some Alabama in it 🙂

    “Before all you can taste is my poot” LOL! Gotta love boys!

    That is seriously a lot of school supplies. But I am sure their teachers will really appreciate them. I have a sister and a brother that teach elementary school and I know they spend quite a bit of money out of their own pockets each year buying school supplies, often for kids whose parents can’t afford them.

  3. tina Says:

    Okay…I was ticking off (in my head) all of what I could say about this lovely post, but after I stopped laughing about “before all you can taste is my poot” I couldn’t remember a darned thing! ❤

  4. Yvonne Says:

    that is a truly strange and freaky picture. but I think it is even funnier that you took a picture of it 🙂

    and I love the Alabama talk. Awesome!

    And I don’t know what’s up with only WWF or Hello Kitty – is Disney not advertising as well down near you because my boys are in Cars2 heaven right now with everything plastered with Lightening McQueen.

    Glad you are back.

    • Good point, Yvonne. I think that the selection had definitely been picked over and that could account for the lack of Cars stuff. And I’m not really sure why, but my boys just are not into Cars. Also the boys are required to get a full-sized backpack because the teacher sends home a large folder every day. Maybe the smaller backpacks are more preschool friendly. Although, even when my kids are in elementary, there’s no way they’re taking a WWF backpack. Just sayin’.

  5. Jenny Says:

    Oh my it’s so hard when they’re really long b/c I forget what all I want to say 🙂

    *Let’s just admit it Alabama does kind of have it’s own language 😉
    *my darn house cleaning lady won’t call me back, my house needs to be cleaned so bad but after just a couple months of someone else doing it, I can’t make myself do it, no judgement here.
    *what is with the hello kitty thing, it’s not even a show (is it???) you know in Korea it’s huge, we saw several hello kitty stores, but I seriously don’t get it
    *Oh girl, we have the same sickness, it makes me so mad when I forget a coupon or find one later, I have on several occasions taken my coupon up after the fact and they’ve always accepted it and given me my 50cents back! 🙂 what a dork I am!

  6. Elizabeth Says:

    Oh Isaac… I would NOT want to taste/smell your poots, no matter how adorably funny you are 🙂
    And I think we MUST see the photo attempts of Swimmer in Peril. Pleeeeeeeease?!

  7. Melissa Says:

    Okay, completely laughed out loud at the language story. I hope he at least said it with a southern accent.

  8. Kyetra Belton Says:

    I love the Goonies! Everytime that I flip thru the channels on Saturday and see it there I have to stop everything that I am doing and watch. You just get sucked in.
    I also only clean my bathroom when I get around to it. Maybe we can start a support group. ;0

  9. Your funny is definitely back!! I love that Isaac counted to 10 in Alabama. How freakin’ cute is that? What is with the Hello Kitty comeback? We are definitely Moms of boys to have no clue of that. I agree with you that painting should read, “Swimmer in Peril”. Freaky!!

  10. Rachel Says:

    So I am laughing so hard I’m crying! Barrett can give Isaac a run for his money with the poots!

  11. Beth Says:

    Oh my….your funny is back for sure!! I needed that today. Thanks!!

  12. christine m tomberlin Says:

    I demand to see the pictures you took of you imitating swimmer in pink.

  13. christine m tomberlin Says:

    BTW I would never stop laughing if I saw Isaac and Matthew holding hands and walking into school with wrestling backpacks. A photo of that would be worth the price.

  14. Grace Says:

    the funny is back, my friend! this one was awesome.
    i love isaac and his love of parts of speech. a fellow nerd at heart. 🙂
    and i heart data so much. my favorite were his slick shoes! the goonies was such an awesome movie. sigh.
    and i would like to know what isaac’s teacher is planning to do with ALL those cups! that totally beats the ziploc bag hoarding that goes on in my classroom. 😉

  15. You had me laughing right off the bat…seriously..”Alabama”??!! I could not contain my laughter. You have one funny boy.

    So why do you need to bring the cups to meet the teacher night? I’m confused. Oh – and I hate hate missing out on good deals or forgetting coupons – it drives me nuts. I have to talk myself into letting go once it’s happened or I just keep thinking about it and being annoyed!

  16. Lori Says:

    That coupon stuff drives me NUTS – like to the point that I DO need counseling!! There were so many good ones this week!! You found your funny again! 🙂

  17. Kelly Says:

    So much I wanted to say (bc your funny is DEFINITELY back!) … but now all I can think is DATA WAS MY FAVORITE GOONIE TOO!!!!


Leave a Reply

